10-17-12 Bronx Hep C Task Force Meeting Highlights
Wednesday October 17th (3 – 5 PM) Lincoln Medical Center: 234 East 149th St. – 1st Floor Conference Center – Room 4
Task Force Website: www.HepFree.nyc

In Attendance: See Below


Hep C Task Force Evaluation 2012! If you did not complete during the meeting, please do so online! 2 chances to win $100 for completing the survey! Please click here to begin


Meeting Highlights

Lincoln Medical Center: Hepatitis Services – Michael Skelly, MD (Michael.Skelly@nychhc.org). .

  • Reported that the liver clinic at Lincoln Medical Center is running in full force and new providers have recently joined the team. Many patients are uninsured/undocumented. Lincoln Medical Center is in the process of increasing Hep C Screenings within the hospital.
    • New! HHC Stand-alone Interventional Radiology Clinics: IR clinics require a doctor’s referral, but they will only be sent for the procedures you require (e.g. biopsy) without sending them through their liver or ID clinics.  They charge on a sliding scale and will provide services to uninsured patients.  Currently not a long wait for an appointment.
      • Lincoln Medical Center Outpatient Subspecialty Clinic (Interventional Radiology): (718) 579-5613. Clinic hours: Tuesday (8:30 – 12:30).

✔ Check Hep C Bronx

Free Hep C Rapid Testing, Confirmatory Testing, Patient Navigation & Support for getting into Medical Care

  • Check Hep C @ Montefiore Medical Center/Albert Einstein College of Medicine: Comprehensive Health Care Center (CHCC) 305 East 161st St. Bronx, NY 10451. Contact: Meredith Steinam, Patient Navigator – mesteinm@montefiore.org – (718) 514-3860
    • Offers: Hep C treatment for those who are eligible; Dedicated Tuesday morning Hep C Clinic; Patient Navigator on-site (helping to engage people in care, arrange for appointments, necessary tests & services; Variety of services on site (nutrition, psychiatric services, pharmacist, Medicaid Enrollment); Access to specialty services at Einstein & Montefiore (ultrasound, biopsy, endoscopies & transplant); Treatment of opiod dependence through suboxone; Access to Intensive substance abuse treatment at Einstein Division of Substance Abuse; Hep C Testing offered routinely at CHCC and the Division of Substance Abuse (Melrose & Port Morris) and at special community events.
  • Citiwide Harm Reduction: 226 East 144th St. Bronx, NY 10451 (718) 292-7718. Eleise Menjivar, Patient Navigator Supervisor Citiwide Harm Reduction -EMenjivar@citiwidehr.org.
    • Program going very well due to collocated: Drop-in Center, Syringe Exchange Program with comprehensive Harm Reduction & Supportive Services, Robust Outreachcopabilities; and on-site HELP/PSI Medical Clinic through & Evers Specialty Local Pharmacy.
  • NY Harm Reduction Educators: 953 Southern Boulevard, Suite 302 Bronx, NY 10459 (718) 842-6050 – Donald Davis – dbdcamera55@msn.com.
    • Currently seeking organizations to collaborate with to provide free Hep C Rapid & Confirmatory Testing.

Question from the group: What is Patient Navigation?

  • Provides a direct linkage for those who test HCV+ to comprehensive medical care and supportive services. Some duties include: ensure appropriate appointments are made and kept, providing appointment escort as needed, providing comprehensive case management to address barriers to care, determine benefits eligibility and assist with enrollment, monitor medical care, assess need for supportive services and provide motivational interviewing.

Hep C findings from Health Gaps Survey of Bronx Re-Entry Populations

Chris Norwood, Executive Director of Health People ChrisNorwod@Healthpeople.org

  • There will be a press conference to announce findings on November 15th, 2012. Contact Ms. Norwood for further info.

 Announcements related to Re-entry 

  • Reinaldo Diaz, Outreach Specialist from Einstein Division of Substance Abuse Services (DOSA) reported:
    • DOSA has a Reentry focused ‘RAP Curriculum’ to improve the health of Jail and Prison Re-entrants.
    • There is a Reentry Focused group meeting at the DA’s office
    • Contact for more info: rdiaz@dosa.aecom.yu.edu
  • VIP Community Services Organizes a Re-entry Focused Task Force. Next Meeting: Wednesday November 14th (10 AM – 1 PM) VIP: 1910 Arthur Ave – 5th floor conference room. RSVP: jlaboy@vipservices.org (718) 466-8068

Hep C Advocacy Update

Health Care Access & Insurance Issues are currently a major problem for Hep C Patients on Treatment

Action Alert!

  • Ask your Hep C patients to do the online: Medicaid Survey for Patients about experience with medication coverage. Chance to win $100! By New York Health Works.www.newyorkhealthworks.com/issues/medicaid-survey/
  • Preserve the right for patients to utilize Local Specialty Pharmacy – Contact Steve Linick – SteveL67@optonline.net

Bronx Hep C Test Site Round-up: Who is doing Hep C rapid testing in the Bronx?

Current Bronx Rapid Testing Programs

Please feel free to reach out to these programs to collaborate on testing people at risk!

  • Montefiore/AECOM – Meredith Steinam, Patient Navigator – mesteinm@montefiore.org
  • Citiwide Harm Reduction – Eleise Menjivar – EMenjivar@citiwidehr.org
  • Hispanic AIDS Forum – Nelson Torres ntorres@hafnyc.org
  • NYHRE – Donald Davis – dbdcamera55@msn.com
  • Planned Parenthood – Jamal Peterkin, Program Director jamal.peterkin@ppnyc.org
  • Saint Anne’s Corner of Harm Reduction – Sandra Turner sturner@sachr.org
  • Pending programs: Jacobi Medical Center, YET, Inc., VIP Community Services, BronxWorks

Testing Issues

  • Avoid duplicative testing through Coordination of Hep C Testing Opportunities & Events through the Task Force Community Calendar – to list your event, emailinfo@hepfree.nyc
  • Finding partner sites through the online Hep B & C Services Site Locator
    • Ensure you have a plan in place for Confirmatory PCR Testing & Linkage to Care
      • Test Site to Medical Site Linkage Agreement:  See attached guide and Sample Linkage Agreement & MOU Templates.

NY State Department of Health will provide eligible sites with Free Hep C Rapid Test Kits: Contact: Colleen A. Flanigan caf03@health.state.ny.us


 Round Table Discussions – Take 2! With more time

Medical Care     |     Patient Navigation/Care Management     |    Testing     |      Outreach

Next time group discussion questions will be decided before the meeting and their will be a leader designated for each group.

Next Meeting Plan & Closing: Next Meeting will be in early 2013! Stay tuned!


 

 Upcoming Events of interest!

  • Psychosocial Readiness Evaluation & Preparation for Hepatitis C Treatment (PREP-C) Training Call. Thursday November 1, 2012 (1-2 PM EST). FREE. Register & More Info: Jeff Weiss, PhD.
  • VIP Community Services Re-entry Focused Task Force. Next Meeting: Wednesday November 14th (10 AM – 1 PM) VIP: 1910 Arthur Ave – 5th floor conference room. RSVP: jlaboy@vipservices.org (718) 466-8068
  • Register for CMS Conference: Bringing Affordable Care Act Home: Linking Communities with Prevention & Chronic Disease Management… will inform and engage stakeholders on the impact and improvements made possible by the Affordable Care Act for prevention, treatment and care services in NYC. Thursday November 15th, 2012 (8-5). 6th floor Conference Center of 26 Federal Plaza.
  • Hepatitis C/HIV Rapid Test Training. NYC Department of Health. November 27 (9-1 PM). To Register Contact: Linda Battle info@hepfree.nyc
  • 2012 Medicaid & Medicare: Hep B & C Special Issues Training. November 29th. A collaboration with Centers for Medicaid & Medicare Services (CMS), the NYC Hep C Task Force & NYC Hep B Coalition: ‘Health Care Access, Insurance & Medications Workgroup’ & the Hep B & C Patient Navigator Network. Register in advance:info@hepfree.nyc

In Attendance: See Below.
Nicole Bannister (nbannister@health.nyc.gov); Denise Egan (DEgan@orasure.com); Ronald Francois (rfrancois@orasure.com); David Fiumaro <David.X.Fiumaro@gsk.com>; Donald Davis, Prog man (ddavis@nyhre.org);  Fred Goode (FGoode@echospecialty.com); Eleise Menjivar, Patient Navigator Supervisor (EMenjivar@citiwidehr.org); Irma Williams, Patient Navigator (Iwilliams@citiwidehr.org); Chris Norwood (ChrisNorwood@healthpeople.org); Miguel Mendez III (mmendez@citiwide.org); Marvin Siegel, Dir Clinical Services (marvin.s@TownTotal.com); Miryah Morris (miryah_morris@vrtx.com); Helen Adams (Helen_Adams@vrtx.com); Andrea Thomas, Programs Manager (AThomas@liverfoundation.org); Bobby Rallakis (bobby@eversrx.com); Angela Jeffers, Program Manager (ajeffers@montefiore.org); Eric Rude (erude@health.nyc.gov); Michael Skelly, MD (Michael.Skelly@nychhc.org); Meredith Steinam, Patient Navigator (mesteinm@montefiore.org); Belgica Gurley (BGurley@citiwidehr.org); Lauren Cockerham-Colas, MPH, HCV Program Coordinator (LCockerham-Colas@DOSA.AECOM.YU.EDU); Catherine  Martyn, NP (Catherine.Martyn@va.gov); Jonathan Zellan, MD (JZellan@projectsamaritan.org); Jose Laboy, Outreach Specialist (jlaboy@vipservices.org); Steven Mangual, Pharmacy Community Manager (shumblemangual@gmail.com); Steve Goodstein (Steve_Goodstein@vrtx.com); Elaine Poulos, Outreach Coordinator (Ekaniaris@KBHHomecare.com); Sandra Turner (sturner@sachr.org); Jaquaia Reid (jreid@nyctasc.org) <JReid@nyctasc.org>; Nirah Johnson <njohnso2@health.nyc.gov>; Brian_Tevlin@vrtx.com, Jose Puiles, Hep C Peer Educator; Richard Reid, Hep C Peer Educator, Roberto Oliveras, Peer Advocate (romorris2010@gmail.com); Reinaldo Diaz, Outreach Specialist (rdiaz@dosa.aecom.yu.edu); Naim Rasul, Case Manager Planned Parenthood (naim.rasul@ppnyc.org); Jose Quinones, YET, Inc. (Yetinc@MSN.com); Mirta Roman, SACHR (MRoman@SACHR.org).

Tags:

©2021 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?