Coalition against Hepatitis in People of African Origin (CHIPO)

NYC Chapter – Quarterly Meeting

Wednesday, February 8th (3 – 4:30 PM)

hepfree.nyc/CHIPO-NYC / chipo.org

Meeting Highlights

Partners’ announcement and Updates

  • CHIPO-NYC Updates:
    • Hepatitis Awareness Month Planning has begun. Every May we commemorate Hepatitis Awareness Month and Hepatitis Testing Day. We have planned in person and virtual events that went viral in the past. We need partners to support planning efforts. To join the meetings on Mondays 2-2:30 PM email Jonathan Rodriguez – jrodriguez@hispanicfederation.org
    • New York City Council funds organizations to provide hepatitis B education, screening, and care coordination services. If your site would like to be part of this funded NYC Check Hep B Patient Navigation Program, please contact the Health Department Hep B Program Manager Umaima Khatun at ukhatun@health.nyc.gov and advocacy Lead, Meg Chappell at megchappell@empireliverfoundation.org. Apply to Viral Hepatitis Initiative Funding | Deadline February 21
    • Additional resources (nonspecific to NYC) are available through CHIPO national, join the monthly National CHIPO calls – email Chari Cohen at chari.cohen@hepb.org and Beatrice Zovich at beatrice.zovich@hepb.org
  • Partner’s Update:
    • Immigrant Health Alliance Monthly meeting. February 21 @ 1pm email aekoon@health.nyc.gov for meeting details.
    • DSI & Queens Borough President Office: African Heritage Day on May 25th from 4:30 pm to 8:30pm at the Queens Borough President Hall Atrium. The event will be showcasing the beauty of African culture. Contact Toyin Omolola at dsiinternational14@gmail.com
    • National Black Leadership Commission on Health, Inc.: Day of Action on Feb. 15th from 11 am to 3pm at Saint Philip’s Health Hub (204 W. 134 street). Staff will be providing Hep B, Hep C and HIV testing, acupuncture services and much more. Contact Evelyn Botwe at EBotwe@nblch.org
    • DSI and NY Edge: This collaboration will be providing Mammogram and/or other services on Feb. 25. Contact Toyin Omolola at DSI dsiinternational14@gmail.com for details.

Presentation

    • View presentation
    • Goal: To educate and equip immigrant communities in NYC metro area and non-NYC areas with the necessary tools to establish reasonable and achievable goals – stability, economic resilience and financial independence.
    • Services delivered to immigrant communities focuses on 3 main pillars: Immigrant Integration, Advocacy, and Mentorship. Services include
      • Driving School
      • Small Business Camp for support establishing a business
      • DSI mobile food pantry with culturally relevant foods
      • Provide Screenings with Memorial Sloan Kettering (MSK) regardless of immigration status
      • Know Your Right sessions about your rights interacting with ICE officers
      • MyPlate has been redesigned to include African foods
    • Discussion
      • What is the schedule for the mobile food pantry?
        • DSI goes to all boroughs except Staten Island. Flyers are distributed with upcoming mobile pantry information.
      • Is DSI open to collaborate with community-based organizations?
      • How was DSI and MSK able to conduct cancer screening in a cultural aspect? Were members confortable?
        • DSI started off with educating and creating a safe community to express thoughts and concerns.
  • CHIPO-NYC 2022 Accomplishments – Farma Pene, CHIPO-NYC Lead, NYC Department of Health, fpene@health.nyc.gov
    • Suen Ogunwobi, MD, PHD, Director Hunter College, Center for Cancer Health Disparities Research, ogunwobi@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu became the first CHIPO-NYC co-chair
    • WhatsApp Project – Hep B awareness message to share with family and friends
    •  Fatima Omarufilo, Montefiore Check Hep B Navigator represented the CHIPO-NYC in the CHIPO national advisory committee.
    • CHIPO-NYC took part in the National African Immigrant in HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis Awareness (NAIRRHA) Day
    • NAIRRHA Day Twitter Chat 2022 organized by CHIPO national reached 5000 impressions
    • HepFreeNYC CHIPO-NYC page was translated into French. Visit the page for materials and resources. Email Farma Pene at fpene@health.nyc.gov for hard copies of the materials including the French and English of the Hep B Pocket Card

Discussion

What topic would you like to be addressed at the next upcoming meetings? What resources or actions would you like to see or hear more from CHIPO-NYC? What plans and recommendations do you have for 2023 CHIPO-NYC?

  • Group 1: More Awareness, specifically education on hepatitis, mobilize community members to get involved (engaged in community events)
  • Group 2: Provide support for grant applications, build a NYC African provider network list and provide Hep B and C training. Send CHIPO-NYC  your list of NYC African providers. Email Farma Pene, list of providers at fpene@health.nyc.gov

In attendance:

Alma Chaves, NYC Department of Health, achaves@health.nyc.gov
Amegnona (Thierry) Ekon, NYC Department of Health, aekon@health.nyc.gov
Beatrice Zovich, Hep B Foundation, beatrice.zovich@hepb.org
Bwambale Arafat, Public Health Scientist, Viral Hepatitis Community Partner, bwambalearafat@yahoo.com
Charles Adjei – Hep Alliance of Ghana – hepagh1@gmail.com
Chimwemwe Phiri – Hep Initiative of Zambia – phirichimwemwe82@gmail.com
Christina Boynes, BronxCare Health System, cboynes@bronxleb.org
Dianne Uway – African Family Health Organization AFAHO – dianne@afaho.org
Farma Pene, Community Projects Coordinator, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, fpene@health.nyc.gov
Fatima Omarufilo, Patient Navigator, Montefiore Medical Center, alabaran@montefiore.org
Evelyn Botwe, National Black Leadership Commission on Health, ebotwe@nblca.org
Ganiat Sarumi Disu, RN, Viral Hepatitis Community Partner, gsarumi@gmail.com
Gilbert Miki – Community Vision Group – g.miki@communityvisiongroup.org
HARRIET- nakanyikaharriet@gmail.com
Hazel Chibunda – hazelchibunda4@gmail.com
Ibrahima Sankare, Testing Assistant and Outreach, African Services Committee, ibrahimas@africanservices.org
Nadine Kela-Murphy, Clinical Practice Facilitation Program Manager, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
Natalie Taylor, Associate Director Public Health, Dynavax Technologies, ntaylor@dynavax.com
Olorunseun O. Ogunwobi, Director, Hunter College Center for Cancer Health Disparities Research (CCHDR) | Associate Professor of Biological Sciences, CUNY – Hunter College, ogunwobi@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu
Olabisi Ayo-Ademokun, DSI International Inc. dsiiorg.info@gmail.com
Rokhaya Gueye, Testing Coordinator, African Services Committee, rokhayagueye31@gmail.com
Patricia Jones, University of Miami, pdjones@med.miami.edu
Sarah Ahmed, Communications and Community Engagement Coordinator, NYC Department of Health, sahmed10@health.nyc.gov
Shanaz Hosein, Greater New York Hospital Association, hite@gnyha.org
Shaibu Issa, Patients advocate, Organization for medical outreach to communities, shaibuissa60@gmail.com
Timeka Toussaint, Bronx Works, ttoussaint@bronxworks.org
Toyin Omolola, CEO, DSI International Inc., dsiinternational14@gmail.com

Join our network!
Subscribe to Meeting Invites or Newsletter

Last Updated on September 19, 2023 by HepFree NYC

©2024 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?