Public Education Committee Meeting Highlights

NYC Health Dept

March 1, 2017 (3-5pm)

Goal of Committee

The goal of the Public Education Committee is to effectively disseminate Hep B and C materials and awareness to providers and the public in NYC.

Roles of Public Education Committee Members

  1. Serve as Hep Free NYC media ambassadors

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter 

Join our LinkedIn group

 

2. Identify organizations and areas in NYC that would benefit from education and resources, such as:

  • Barber shops/hair and nail salons
  • Tattoo parlors
  • Faith based organizations
  • Homeless services organizations
  • Laundromats
  • Food pantries
  • Local pharmacies
  • Department of corrections kiosks
  • College campuses
  • Reentry programs and reentry task force meetings
  • Patient Education Courses or support groups
  • Others!

Hep C Basics Presentation and Resources

  • This presentation can be used by members of the Public Education Committee.
  • Hepatitis resources can be downloaded on our website. View resources here. Or order print items for free here. To order, email Daniel at dcalder@health.nyc.gov

Next Steps

  • Pick one or two locations, and commit to distributing resources or presenting.
  • Report Public Education activities monthly using this online form click: here.

In Attendance

  1. Angela Bruce, Social Worker, Brooklyn Family Psychological Services, clarabruc@yahoo.com
  2. Anita Parker, President & CEO, St Luke A.M.E Churchparkanita@aol.com
  3. Barney Robinson, Program Coordinator, NBLCA, brobinson@nblca.org
  4. Celine Bobb-Inniss, Director, Living Positive, cbobbinniss@lpositive.org
  5. Christina Boynes, Community Health Worker, Bronx Lebanoncboynes@bronxleb.org
  6. Daniel Calder, Outreach Coordinator, DOHMHdcalder@health.nyc.gov
  7. Ester Nortey, Nurse Practioner, NYU Hepatology,  Nortey@nyumc.org
  8. Frida Abramov, Associate Director, Medical Affairs, Gilead abramov@gilead.com
  9. Harmit Kalia D.O., MontefioreHKALIA@montefiore.org
  10. Nirah Johnson, Director of Program Implementation & Capacity Building, DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  11. Paul Bolter, Health Education, American Liver Foundationpbolter@liverfoundation.org
  12. Ronald Forehand, Peer Educator, Montefioreronaldforehand6@gmail.com
  13. Sandra Tooks, Program Coordinator, NBLCA, stooks@nblca.org
  14. Sharon Davis, Downstate Policy Advisor – Criminal Justice Services, NYS Office of Alcoholism & Substance Abuse Servicesdavis@oasas.ny.gov

 

Tags:

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending

©2018 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit Design QuikSite®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?