3-1-2017 Public Education Committee Meeting Highlights

Public Education Committee
Meeting Highlights
March 1, 2017 (3-5pm)
NYC Health Dept

In attendance: See Below

The goal of the Public Education Committee is to effectively disseminate Hep B and C materials and awareness to providers and the public in NYC.

Roles of Public Education Committee Members

  • Serve as Hep Free NYC media ambassadors

Like us on Facebook – www.facebook.com/NYCLiverHealth

Follow us on Twitter – www.twitter.com/hepfreenyc

Join our LinkedIn group – www.linkedin.com/groups/4211003

  • Identify organizations and areas in NYC that would benefit from education and resources, such as:
    • Barber shops/hair and nail salons
    • Tattoo parlors
    • Faith based organizations
    • Homeless services organizations
    • Laundromats
    • Food pantries
    • Local pharmacies
    • Department of corrections kiosks
    • College campuses
    • Reentry programs and reentry task force meetings
    • Patient Education Courses or support groups
    • Others!

Hep C Basics Presentation and Resources

  • This presentation can be used by members of the Public Education Committee.
  • Hepatitis resources can be downloaded on our website. View resources here. Or order print items for free here. To order, email Daniel at dcalder@health.nyc.gov

Next Steps

  • Pick one or two locations, and commit to distributing resources or presenting.
  • Report Public Education activities monthly using this online form click: here.

In Attendance

  1. Angela Bruce, Social Worker, Brooklyn Family Psychological Services, clarabruc@yahoo.com
  2. Anita Parker, President & CEO, St Luke A.M.E Church, parkanita@aol.com
  3. Barney Robinson, Program Coordinator, NBLCA, brobinson@nblca.org
  4. Celine Bobb-Inniss, Director, Living Positive, cbobbinniss@lpositive.org
  5. Christina Boynes, Community Health Worker, Bronx Lebanon, cboynes@bronxleb.org
  6. Daniel Calder, Outreach Coordinator, DOHMH, dcalder@health.nyc.gov
  7. Ester Nortey, Nurse Practioner, NYU Hepatology,  Nortey@nyumc.org
  8. Frida Abramov, Associate Director, Medical Affairs, Gilead abramov@gilead.com
  9. Harmit Kalia D.O., Montefiore, HKALIA@montefiore.org
  10. Nirah Johnson, Director of Program Implementation & Capacity Building, DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  11. Paul Bolter, Health Education, American Liver Foundation, pbolter@liverfoundation.org
  12. Ronald Forehand, Peer Educator, Montefiore, ronaldforehand6@gmail.com
  13. Sandra Tooks, Program Coordinator, NBLCA, stooks@nblca.org
  14. Sharon Davis, Downstate Policy Advisor – Criminal Justice Services, NYS Office of Alcoholism & Substance Abuse Services, davis@oasas.ny.gov

 

 

 

 

Pin It on Pinterest

Shares
Share This