,

CHIPO Meeting Highlights | 12-8-2017

African Services Committee

December 8, 2017

CHIPO NYC 2017 Goal

To reinvigorate the Coalition against Hepatitis in People of African Origin work in NYC

 

Initiatives

  • • Expansion of the Check Hep B Patient Navigation Program in organizations serving the African community, including in Staten Island
    • Seeking funding for Hep B Community Screening and care for the uninsured – funding opportunities are list here: https://hepfree.nyc/funding
    • Collaborate to raise awareness about hepatitis in the African community to promote increased vaccination, testing and linkage to care.

 

Suggestions from participants

  • Tips for raising awareness and promoting services:
    • Frequent outreach at the same locations to increase engagement in services such as vaccination and testing
    • Involve community or religious leaders in events
    • Collaborate with existing African events or parades for screening
    • Radio announcement and education has been successful
    • Promote liver cancer screening instead of hepatitis B to overcome stigma (possibly)
    • Be aware of immigration concerns
    • Provide a “voucher” for free hepatitis vaccination or testing services
    • Use educational materials such as the Hep B pocket card
      • Hep B Image based pocket card – Available at next meeting (Thank you all for your feedbacks)
  • Support funding for:
    • Check Hep B at CHASI on Staten Island
    • Support funding for Check Hep B and/or C at Bronx Works.
      • Currently offering free testing

 

Upcoming Events

Breakfast Briefing To Obtain Funding – Please email fpene@health.nyc.gov if you would like to take action and take the lead to plan this event.

Next CHIPO NYC Bi-monthly Meeting – Look out for the next meeting in March at (3 – 5pm) at African Services Committee (429 W. 127th Street)

Opportunity

National CHIPO Calls – Email Chari Cohen at chari.cohen@hepb.org to present during the call.

African Immigrant Advisory Group – Email Chari Cohen at chari.cohen@hepb.org to join.

News

New 2 Dose Hep B Vaccine!
In November 2017, the FDA approved Dynavax’s new 2 dose Hep B vaccine – HEPSILAV-B – for adults age 18 years and older. Read more here.

Event Caterer

CVS Caremark/Careplus – Many thanks to Jerry, if you have any questions regarding HIV or Hep C medication approval please email him at Gerald.loschiavo@cvshealth.com

 

In Attendance

  1. Amanda Lugg, Director of Advocacy, ASC, amandal@africanservices.org
  2. Christina Boynes, Patient Navigator, Bronx Lebanon Hospital, Cboynes@bronxleb.org
  3. Diana Diaz Munoz, Program Implementation Coordinator, DOHMH, ddiazmunoz@health.nyc.gov
  4. Farma Pene, Health Care Access Specialist, DOHMH, fpene@health.nyc.gov
  5. Halimatou Konte, Testing Center Coordinator, ASC, halimatouk@africanservices.org
  6. Henrich Boahene,  HIV Program Manager, Pride Center of Staten Island, Hboahene@pridecentersi.org
  7. Jerry loschiavo, Representative, CVS Carmeark Careplus, Gerald.loschiavo@cvshealth.com
  8. Juan Diaz, MPH student, DOHMH, jdiaz10@health.nyc.gov
  9. Kemi Bolutayo, Research Project Coordinator, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, kbolutayo@gmail.com
  10. Jessie Schwartz, Clinical Coordinator, DOHMH, jschwartz2@health.nyc.gov
  11. Kim Nichols, Co-Executive Director, ASC, kimn@africanservices.org
  12. Millicent Freeman, Director of Outreach and Training, STD Administration, DOHMH mfreeman@health.nyc.gov
  13. Nadine Kela-Murphy, Practice Transformation Specialist, DOHMH, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
  14. Nirah Johnson, Director of Capacity Building, DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  15. Talibah Hicks, Program Specialist, BronxWorks, thicks@bronxworks.org
  16. Thierry Amegnona Ekon, HIV Prevention Specialist, DOHMH, aekon@health.nyc.gov
  17. Timeka Toussiant, Program Specialist, BronxWorks, ttoussaint@bronxworks.org
  18. Umaima Khatun, Program Coordinator, DOHMH, ukhatun@health.nyc.gov

Tags:

©2019 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit Design QuikSite®

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending
or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?