Hep C Task Force Meeting Highlights | 6-27-18

June 27 (3 PM – 5 PM) American Cancer Society, Manhattan
www.hepfree.nyc #HepFreeNYC #EndHepatitis
In Attendance: See Below

Presentations
Leveraging 340B to Support Hepatitis Navigation Services at Health Centers and Hospitals
Jasmine Muniz-Cadorette, Business Operations Coordinator, Brightpoint Health – jcadorette@brightpointhealth.org
Sheila Reynoso, MPH, Director HCV Treatment Network, Montefiore Medical Center- sreynoso@montefiore.org
  • View full presentations here and here.
Staying Safe: Intervention to Prevent HCV among Young PWID (ages 18-29)
Pedro Mateu-Gelabert, Ph. D., Principal Investigator, National Development Research Institutes, Inc. – mateu-gelabert@ndri.org

  • Young people (18-29 years old) using heroin or Rx opioids can enroll in this behavioral intervention study, they do not have to be a NYC resident. Free HCV and HIV testing and compensation offered.
  • View full presentation here.
  • Staying Safe Program Flyer here.

Policy and City Council Viral Hepatitis Initiative Funding Update
Reed Vreeland, Director of NYC Community Mobilization, Housing Works – r.vreeland@housingworks.org

Community Comments and Feedback
  • What are your current barriers to Hep C care and treatment: 
    • Misinformation, Stigma, Lack of knowledge about new meds, Having no symptoms = no urgency to get treated
    • Unstable housing, Lost to follow up, Phone numbers not in service, Uninsured immigrants getting access to drugs, Alcohol and drug use, Adherence to medication, People getting treated but partners are not – causing reinfection
    • Medicaid requiring a specialist for treatment, Specific training for doctors to treat HCV, Labs not using automatic reflex testing, Patients not returning for SVR testing.
  • Hepatitis C can be cured, see the explanation here and here. A person can always get infected again with Hep C. If you clear the virus on your own, or get treated and cured, you can get Hep C again. You are never immune! Learn more here.
Committee Updates 
Upcoming Events

African American Hep C Action Day | Hep C University July 25th (9 – 4). Salvation Army, 540 Lenox Ave ( btw 137th and 138th), New York

World Hepatitis Day | Thunderclap: Quest to #FindtheMissingMillions. July 28

National African Immigrant & Refugee HIV/AIDS & Hepatitis Awareness Day. September 9

Liver Cancer Awareness Month. October.
See more upcoming events on our Community Calendar

Funding
In Attendance:
  1. Alecia Charles, Hepatitis C Program Coordinator, SUNY Downstate Medical Center, alecia.charles@downstate.edu
  2. Alex Ortiz, HCV Linkage to Care Specialist, Brightpoint Health, alortiz@brightpointhealth.org
  3. Alexis Brenes, Health Care Access Specialist, DOHMH, abrenes@health.nyc.gov
  4. Andres Perez – Correa, Clinical Research Coordinator, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, Andres.perez-correa@mssm.edu
  5. Anna Mageras, Project INSPIRE Data Manager, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, anna.mageras@mssm.edu
  6. Anthony So, Pharmacy Student, St. Johns University, anthony.so13@stjohns.edu
  7. Brian Hennessey, PREP Coordinator, Housingworks, b.hennessey@housingworks.org
  8. Bruce Glazer, Account Executive , AbbVie, bruce.glazer@abbvie.com
  9. Bruce Rector, Co-chair Drug Pricing, Value, and Affordability campaign, Doctors for America, Bruce.Rector@drsforamerica.org
  10. Carl Tyler, HCV Peer Educator, Brightpoint Health, ctyler@brightpointhealth.org
  11. Charu Malhotra Verma, VHP Intern, DOHMH, cverma@health.nyc.gov
  12. Chelsea Grant, Clinical Research Coordinator, Hepatitis Outreach Network- Mount Sinai, Chelsea.grant@mssm.edu
  13. Cherry Jones, HCV Program coordinator, Mount Sinai Health System, cherry.jones@mountsinai.org
  14. Danielle Cornwall, Pharmacy Specialist/Hep C Coordinator, Amida Care NY, dcornwall@amidacareny.org
  15. Dennis Robinson, Specialty Pharmacy Account Executive, Acaria health, William.robinson@acariahealth.com
  16. Diana Diaz-Munoz, Program Coordinator (Hep C Peer/Check Hep C), DOHMH, ddiazmunoz@health.nyc.gov
  17. Donna Gilmore, Physician Specialist, Kings County Hospital Center, donna.gilmore@nychhc.org
  18. Elisa McBratney, Program Manager, REACH – Mount Sinai ellisa.mcbratney@mountsinai.org
  19. Evan Wong, Pharmacy Intern, St. Johns University, evan.wong13@stjohns.edu
  20. Farma Pene, Health Care Access Specialist, DOHMH, fpene@health.nyc.gov
  21. Fernando Valerio, Check Hep C Patient Navigatorm Community Health Care Networks, fvalerio@chnnyc.org
  22. Gillian Saunders, Director of Healthcare Compliance and Special Projects, Housing Works, G.Saunders@housingworks.org
  23. Halimatou Konte, Hepatitis Coordinator, African Services Committee, halimatouk@africanservices.org
  24. Hasani Escobar, Bedford Stuyvesant Family Health Center, hescobar@bsfhc.org
  25. Henry Chang, Global Health Consultant, Liver Health Investment Fund, henry.amsterdam@gmail.com
  26. Jasmine Muniz-Cadorette, 340B Program Coordinator, Brightpoint Health, jcadorette@brightpointhealth.org
  27. Jean Ayan, Nurse Educator, Sandra Atlas Bass Center for Liver Diseases, Northwell Health jayan@northwell.edu
  28. Joel Zive, Director of Patient Education, Lindenwood Rx Center, jzive@lindenwoodltc.com
  29. Joy Cambe, Program Coordinator, Empire Liver Foundation, joycambe@empireliverfoundation.org
  30. Karina Escamilla, Health Affairs Coordinator, Consulate General of Mexico in NY, kescamilla@consulmexny.mx
  31. Liz Tang, Health Care Access Specialist, DOHMH, ltang@health.nyc.gov
  32. Mantsetse Kgama, Project Manager, DOHMH-Viral Hepatitis, mkgama1@health.nyc.gov
  33. Marie Bresnahan, Project Director, DOHMH-Viral Hepatitis, mbresnahan@health.nyc.gov
  34. Medesa Garrett, HCV Coordinator, Brightpoint Health, mgarrett@brightpointhealth.org
  35. Melanie Lawrence, Community Planner, DOHMH, mlawrence1@health.nyc.gov
  36. Nadine Kela-Murphy, Practice Transformation Specialist, DOHMH, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
  37. Natalia Kwon, Specialty Representative, AbbVie, natalia.kwon@gmail.com
  38. Nirah Johnson, Director of Program Implementation & Capacity Building, DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  39. Patrick Cen, Pharmacy Student, SJU, patrick.cen13@stjohns.edu
  40. Paul Bolter, Community Outreach and Education Manager, American Liver Foundation, PBolter@liverfoundation.org
  41. Paul Goldberg, Senior Director of Sales/340B, BioPlus Specialty Pharmacy, pgoldberg@bioplusrx.co
  42. Pedro Mateu-Gelabert, Principal Investigator, NDRI, mateu-gelabert@ndri.org
  43. Peter Chen, Program Coordinator, Kingsbrook Jewish Medical Center, PChen@kingsbrook.org
  44. Rachel Redding, Program Assistant, DOHMH, rredding@health.nyc.gov
  45. Rahel Yosief, Patient Navigator, BOOM!Health, ryosief@boomhealth.org
  46. Ramona Almenana, Project Director, NDRI, almenana@ndri.org
  47. Reed Vreeland, Director of NYC Community Mobilization, Housing Works, r.vreeland@housingworks.org
  48. Rod Rollock, Pharmacy Representative, Jewel Pharmacy, rod@jewelpharmacy.com
  49. Romy Alvarez, Patient Navigator, Montefiore Medical Center, Roalvare@montefiore.org
  50. Ronald Forehand, Peer Educator, Montefiore, ronaldforehand6@gmail.com
  51. Sarah Ahmed, Communications and Community Engagement Coordinator, DOHMH, sahmed10@health.nyc.gov
  52. Sheila Reynoso, Project Coordinator, HIV/Hepatitis C, Montefiore Medical Center, sreynoso@montefiore.org
  53. Shelby Stahl, Clinical Care Coordinator, HSS Urban Family Health Center, SStahl@henrystreet.org
  54. Stephanie Moy, 340B Intern, Brightpoint Health, smoy@brightpointhealth.org
  55. Steven Linick, Account Manager, Briova Rx, stevenlinick@briovarx.com
  56. Susan Lee, Specialist Pharmacist, Northwell Health, skang@northwell.edu
  57. Suzanne Robinson Davis, Program Manager, Bedford Stuyvesant Family Health Center, srobinsondavis@bsfhc.org
  58. Tanya Louis, RN Northwell Health, tlouis4@northwell.edu
  59. Tatiana Vera, Health Educator/Linkage to Care Specialist, Montefiore Medical Center, tvera@montefiore.org
  60. Toya Robinson, HCV Theraputic Specialist, Gilead, Toya.Robinson@Gilead.com
  61. Umaima Khatun, Program Coordinator, DOHMH, ukhatun@health.nyc.gov

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending

©2018 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit Design QuikSite®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?