NY Hep C Telemedicine Workgroup – Meeting Notes

Thursday January 21, 2021 (10 – 11 AM) via Webinar

In attendance at this meeting: See below notes

Next Meeting: Thursday, March 18 – 10:00AM

Workgroup Chair: Andrew Talal, MD, University at Buffalo, ahtalal@buffalo.edu

Overview of Council on Addiction Recovery Services (CAReS) and the Challenges and Opportunities in Rural Substance Use Disorder Service Delivery

 Michael Prutsman, Executive Director of CAReS – mprutsman@councilonaddiction.org

  • See presentation here
  • Upstate substance use treatment provider, providing inpatient and outpatient services, some services via telehealth. Provides HCV testing, is interested in providing linkage to HCV treatment services via telehealth or in-person.
  • Mount Sinai Reach, REACH and START shared HCV telemedicine treatment implementation program development. Group would like to expand these models.

Policy Updates

Katy Cook, Telehealth Project Manager at Adirondack Health Institute – kcook@ahihealth.org

  • Governor Cuomo’s proposed comprehensive telehealth reform looks to permit:
    • telephonic delivery of care
    • interstate licensure
    • allowing certain unlicensed staff to deliver substance use disorder services via telehealth
    • eliminating obsolete location requirements
    • expanding reimbursement for patient monitoring
    • requiring telehealth in commercial insurance
    • expanding covered telehealth providers
    • integrating telehealth into Statewide Health Information Network for New York
    • expanding access to mental health and addiction services
  • NYS Telemedicine Training Portal

Project Updates

Pruthvi Patel, MD, Mount Sinai – patel@mountsinai.org

Telemedicine Resources

Attendance

  1. Alvin Chu, MA, MPH, START Treatment and Recovery Centers, achu@startny.org
  2. Andrew Reynolds, areynoldshcv@gmail.com
  3. Andrew Talal, MD, SUNY Research Foundation, ahtalal@buffalo.edu
  4. Angelica Ramirez, Mount Sinai, angelica.ramirez@mountsinai.org
  5. Arpan Dharia, SUNY, adharia@buffalo.edu
  6. Arslan Mohamed, NYCDOHMH, amohamed1@health.nyc.gov
  7. Carmelita Cruz, OASAS, carmelita.cruz@oasas.ny.gov
  8. Clotide Monguya, African Hope Committee, monguyamd@gmail.com
  9. Colleen Flanigan, RN, NYS DOH, colleen.flanigan@health.ny.gov
  10. Dan Shappee, AbbVie, Daniel.shappee@abbvie.com
  11. Deborah Brown, Bureau of Hepatitis Health Care, NYSDOH, AIDS Institute, deborah.brown@health.ny.gov
  12. Frank Winter, CMS, frank.winter@cms.hhs.gov
  13. Heather Anderson, Gilead Science, heather.anderson2@gilead.com
  14. Jeff Weiss, REACH, jeffrey.weiss@mountsinai.org
  15. Jessie Schwartz, NYCDOHMH, jschwartz2@health.nyc.gov
  16. Joy Cambe, Empire Liver Foundation, joycambe@empireliverfoundation.org
  17. Julia Hunter, julia.hunter@nyuhs.org
  18. Justine Waldman, Reach Medical, jwaldman@reachmed.org
  19. Kathleen Davis, University of Rochester Medical Center, Kathleen_davis@urmc.rochester.edu
  20. Katy Cook, AHI, kcook@ahihealth.org
  21. Lia Alleyne, NYCDOHMH, lalleyne@health.nyc.gov
  22. Marc Badura, SUNY, mbadura@buffalo.edu
  23. Marie Hardy, Mount Sinai, marie.hardy@mountsinai.org
  24. Mavis Bailey, START Treatment and Recovery Centers, mbailey@startny.org
  25. Meg Chappell, MPH, Empire Liver Foundation, megchapell@empireliverfoundation.org
  26. Michael Prutsman, Council on Addiction Recovery Services, mprustman@councilonaddiction.org
  27. Nadine Kela-Murphy, MPH, NYC DOHMH, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
  28. Nirah Johnson, LCSW, NYC DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  29. Pat Lincourt, NYS OASAS, pat.lincourt@oasas.ny.gov
  30. Pruthvi Patel, Empire Liver Foundation, pruthvi.patel@mountsinai.org
  31. Sandeep Krishnan, MedTech, sandeep.krishnan@medtecintl.com

©2021 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?