Hep B Coalition Meeting Highlights | 4-25-18

April 25 (3 PM – 5 PM) American Cancer Society, Manhattan

www.hepfree.nyc #HepFreeNYC #EndHepatitis
In Attendance: See Below

Presentations

Hep B Health Code Amendment
Labs will be mandated to report negative hepatitis B DNA test results to the Health Department.
Dr. Ann Winters, Medical Director of Viral Hepatitis Program, NYC Health Department –awinters@health.nyc.gov

  • Increased reporting will provide a more clear picture than what exists now about what is happening with hepatitis B in NYC, and may enable the Health Department to develop a surveillance based care continuum.
  • View full presentation here.

Empire Liver Foundation Hep B Clinical Webinar Training Series
Dr. Harmit Kalia, Transplant Hepatologist and Assistant Professor, Montefiore  – HKALIA@montefiore.org

  • A four week clinical hepatitis B webinar training series is planned for Thursdays from 4:30 -5:30 PM in June. Pre-register

May Hepatitis Awareness Month Planning
Hepatitis B Awareness Event with Congresswoman Grace Meng. May 2 (11 – 2 PM). Flushing Library.
Dr. Amy Shen Tang, and Janice Lyu, Charles B Wang Community Health Center. –  jlyu@cbwchc.org

  • All are encouraged to attend and invite others! RSVP.
  • Organizations can bring their resources/materials for community members.
  • Circulate the Awareness Event Flyer in EnglishKorean, and Chinese.

Annual Hep Free NYC Awareness Event on the Steps of City HallMay 15 (11 –  Noon).
Bethsy Morales, Hispanic Federation – bmorales@hispanicfederation.org

  • Organizations are encouraged to attend and bring their banners! Register Here
  • Hep Free NYC T-shirts will be provided.
  • Circulate the Awareness Event Flyer  in EnglishSpanishChinese and Korean.

NYC Viral Hepatitis Research Symposium. May 24 (8 – 4) at Rockefeller University, 1230 York Ave, NY.

Advocacy Update

Hep Free NYC Committee Updates

LGBTQ Committee
  • Committee is active and excited to take on any relevant projects.
  • Contact: Caroline Davidson MPH, Hep Free NYC LGBTQ Committee Chair –  cjd2165@caa.columbia.edu

Coalition against Hepatitis in People of African Origin (CHIPO) NYC

  • Next meeting: May 25 (3 – 5 pm) at African Services Committee 429 W. 127th Street. RSVP: Farma Pene, NYC Health Dept – fpene@health.nyc.gov
See more about our Committees

Upcoming Events

In Attendance: 

  1. Abou Diakhate, diasaty@yahoo.com
  2. Ala Roh, Project Coordinator, KCS, aroh@kcsny.org
  3. Amy Tang Hep B Medical Director, Charles B Wang Community Health Center,astang@cbwchc.org
  4. Ann Winters, Medical Director, Viral Hepatitis, DOHMH, awinters@health.nyc.gov
  5. Bora Kim, FGP Assistant, NYU Langone – Asian Liver Health, bora.kim2@nyumc.org
  6. Canossa Chan, Hospital Manager/Health Systems Manager, American Cancer Society canossa.chan@cancer.org
  7. Caroline Davidson, Research Associate, Shatterproof, cdavidson@shatterproof.org
  8. Charles Gonzalez, Assoc. Medical Director, NYS DOH AIDS Institute,cjg17@health.state.ny.us
  9. Chelsea Grant, Clinical Research Coordinator, Hepatitis Outreach Network- Mount Sinai, Chelsea.grant@mssm.edu
  10. Donovan Jones, Director of New York Knows, DOHMH – New York Knows,djones2@health.nyc.gov
  11. Farma Pene, Health Care Access Specialist, DOHMH, fpene@health.nyc.gov
  12. Frank Winters,  External Affairs Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services,frank.winter@cms.hhs.gov
  13. Gil A Cerpa, Hep C Coordinator, Praxis Housing Initiatives Inc.,gacerpa@PRAXISHOUSING.org
  14. Halimatou Konte, Hepatitis Coordinator, African Services Committee,halimatouk@africanservices.org
  15. Harmit Kalia, D.O., Montefiore, HKALIA@montefiore.org
  16. James Park MD, Transplant Hepatology NYU Asian Liver Health Program, James.Park@nyumc.org
  17. Jamie Love, Manager, Chinese American Medical Society, jlove@CAMSociety.org
  18. Janice Lyu, Hep B Program Associate, Charles B Wang Community Health Center, jlyu@cbwchc.org
  19. Joanna Li, Administrative Assistant, Chinese American Medical Society,jli@camsociety.org
  20. Joy Cambe, Program Coordinator, Empire Liver Foundation,joycambe@empireliverfoundation.org
  21. Karina Escamilla, Health Affairs Coordinator, Consulate General of Mexico in NY,kescamilla@consulmexny.mx
  22. Liz Tang, Health Care Access Specialist, DOHMH, ltang@health.nyc.gov
  23. Mary Chiang, Hep B Patient Navigator, Charles B Wang Community Health Center,mchiang@cbwchc.org
  24. Nirah Johnson, Director Capacity Building, DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  25. Okhyun  Ko, Project Coordinator, Korean Community Service, oko@kcsny.org
  26. Paul Bolter, Community Outreach and Education Manager, Liver Foundation,PBolter@liverfoundation.org
  27. Paula Wong, Educational Outreach Director, H+EAL, paula.w.wong@gmail.com
  28. Qian Yi (Rachel) Yang, Medical Secretary, NYU Langone – Asian Liver Health,qianyi.yang@nyumc.org
  29. Qingqing He, Hep B Care Management Specialist, Charles B Wang Community Health Center, qhe@cbwchc.org
  30. Sarah Ahmed, Communications and Community Engagement Coordinator, DOHMH,sahmed10@health.nyc.gov
  31. Shifra Baum, Physician Assistant, Elmhurst Hospital, shifrabaum@gmail.com
  32. Umaima Khatun, Program Coordinator, DOHMH, ukhatun@health.nyc.gov

 

©2019 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit Design QuikSite®

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending
or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?