CHIPO-NYC Committee Notes

February 6th (3 PM – 5 PM)
African Services Committee: 429 W. 127th Street
www.hepfree.nyc/africa/
www.chipo.org
In Attendance: See Below

Accomplishment 2018

  • Increased Funding: Community Health Action of Staten Island (CHASI) was funded by the NYC Council Viral Hepatitis Initiative for Hep B outreach and navigation in the African Community in Staten Island, and Montefiore Einstein Liver Center and African Service Community funding increased.
  • Developed Education Material: Hep B Pocket card – email Farma at fpene@health.nyc.gov for copies (see attachment)
  • Increased Collaboration between CHIPO Partners: Collaborated to publicize and support community screening events to commemorate African Hepatitis Awareness Day

2019 Plan

  1. Seek funding for outreach, awareness, education and screening
  2. Develop Education Materials and Outreach Resources
    • Develop and share radio announcement in languages spoken by the targeted community
      • African Services Committee hepatitis B radio ads – https://bit.ly/2tFLZNm
    • Develop and provide swag at outreach events.
      • Swag can be: items (small bags, lip balm, hand sanitizer, shiny things), educational materials, free services (vaccine, legal services, children’s services), and personal relationships (“I am the swag”)
  3. Increase participation in CHIPO by recruiting individuals and organizations with reach into the community at risk
    • CUNY Students, organizations serving communities at risk
  4. Increase Collaboration between CHIPO Partners to conduct outreach, awareness and screening.
    • Develop and Maintain Target Organization with Event List: Develop an outreach list of organizations (Faith based organizations, Associations) that would benefit from awareness, education or screening, and events to coordinate CHIPO participation at these organizations.
    • Develop and Maintain Outreach Provider List: a list of CHIPO members with their organization, role, services provided, willingness to speak at events, language and special population reach

News

  • #JustB Campaign – Hepatitis B Foundation and AAPCHO are currently recruiting participants with Hep B to share their stories, please visit hepb.org/justb and submit an application no later than Feb 28, 2019. Please contact Rhea rhea.racho@hepb.org.
  • Two new vaccination clinics for uninsured and low income patients will be opening soon.

Upcoming Event Coordination Planning

  • African Festival in July at Harlem – participants are:
    • Sauti Yetu – Consolatie Uwera, cuwera@sautiyetu.us
      Aids Health Center- Luis Perez, LuisR.Perez@aidshealth.org
      Bronxcare – Christina Boynes, CBoynes@bronxleb.org
      African Services Committee- Halimatou konte, halimatouk@africanservices.org
      Hone- Montefiroe – Alex Ly Van manh, alexandre.lyvanmanh@mssm.edu
      Manhattan Borough President Gale A. Brewer – Alassane Diop, adiop@manhattanbp.nyc.gov
  • Please email Farma at fpene@health.nyc.gov if you would like to join

CHIPO is a coalition of organizations and individuals interested in addressing the high rates of hepatitis B and C infections among African communities in the U.S. Our goal is to bring together NYC organizations, services providers and advocates who are dedicated to ending hepatitis B and C in African communities throughout the city.

In Attendance:

    1. Alassane Diop, Constituent Services & Immigrant Affairs Liaison, Office of Manhattan Borough President Gale A. Brewer, adiop@manhattanbp.nyc.gov
    2. Bernie Eyssalenne, Specialty Pharmacy Account Executive, CVS Specialty Pharmacy, loschiavo@cvshealth.com
    3. Christina Boynes, Patient Navigator, Bronx Lebanon Hospital, Cboynes@bronxleb.org
    4. Christelle Onwu, African Communities Lead Advisor  NYC Commission on Human Rights, conwu@cchr.nyc.gov
    5. Consolatie Uawere, Outreach Coordinator, Sauti Yetu Center for African Women and Families, cuwera@sautiyetu.us
    6. Daouda Ndiaye, Hep B Navigator, ASC, daoudan@africanservices.org
    7. Farma Pene, HCAS, Meeting Organizer, DOHMH,fpene@health.nyc.gov
    8. Eirik Omile, Communications Director ASC, eiriko@africanservices.org
    9. Emmanuel Emeasoba , MD Montefiore hospital, emmanuelemeasoba@gmail.com
    10. Jailing Li, Patient Navigation Assistant, DOHMH, jli9@health.nyc.gov
    11. Kim Nichols, Co-Executive Director, ASC, kimn@africanservices.org
    12. Luis R. Perez, Pharmacy rep, AHF, r.perez@aidshealth.org
    13. Liz Tang, Health Care Access Specialist, DOHMH, ltang@health.nyc.gov
    14. Lucy, Kingangi, Public Health Associate, DOHMH, lkingangi@health.nyc.gov
    15. Luis Perez, Pharmacy Specialist, AHF, r.perez@aidshealth.org
    16. MaNtsetse Kgama, Project SUCCEED Manager, DOHMH, mkgama1@health.nyc.gov
    17. Milen Beyene, HIV Housing, DOHMH, mbeyene@health.nyc.gov
    18. Mulusew Bekele, Director of Program Operations, ASC, mulusewb@africanservices.org
    19. Nadine Kela-Murphy, Practice Transformation Specialist, DOHMH, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
    20. Nirah Johnson, Director of Capacity Building, DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
    21. Sarah Ahmed, Community Organizing & Training Coordinator, DOHMH, sahmed10@health.nyc.gov

©2019 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit Design QuikSite®

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending
or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?