Last Updated on November 13, 2020 by wp-admin

CHIPO-NYC Meeting Highlights | 1-29-20

Presentation 

Biobehavioral factors related to hepatitis B virus infection and progression to liver cancer in African immigrants to the US  Olorunseun O. Ogunwobi, MD, PhD, Director, Hunter College Center for Cancer Health Disparities Research (CCHDR), Associate Professor of Biological Sciences, Hunter College of The City University of New Yorkogunwobi@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu

  • Dr. Seun will provide more details regarding the Ad Campaign and share the survey
  • Interested in collaborating with Check Hep B and CHIPO-NYC to conduct surveys

CHIPO-NYC 2020 Planning Discussion

  • NYC Viral Hepatitis Eliminating Plan: Hep Free NYC will work with the Health Department to develop a New York City Viral Hepatitis Elimination Plan in 2020. CHIPO-NYC participants will have the opportunity to contribute to and comment on the elimination plan as it develops.
  • CHIPO-NYC SUMMIT: ½ day event to commemorate African Immigrant Hepatitis Day – Sept 9th.
    • Event recommendations:
      • A mix audience with providers and patients
      • A Hep B storyteller – for any patient of interest, email Farma at fpene@health.nyc.gov
      • Poster session: recruit study posters covering Hep B outreach best practices, reducing stigma, appropriate language, effective health education methods
      • Provider presentation on screening and vaccination recommendations
    • Planning Group:
      • Nyasha Makoni (Montefiore)
      • Danait Yemane (African Services committee)
      • Nadine Kela-Murphy (NYC DOH)
      • Sarah Ahmed (NYC DOH)
      • Email Farma at fpene@health.nyc.gov to join the planning team.
  • Community Screening Planning: African Services Committee & CHIPO-NYC collaboration
    • Flatbush Brooklyn – in collaboration with NYU – May. Date and location TBD
    • Staten Island – in collaboration with CHASI – June. Date and location TBD
    • To request a Hep B and C Screening at your organization, contact Danait Yemane from African Services committee at danaity@africanservices.org
  • Publicize Your Events: To add your event to the Hep Free NYC calendar and share with CHIPO-NYC and Hep Free NYC partners email Farma Pene at fpene@health.nyc.gov and Sarah Ahmed at sahmed10@health.nyc.gov
  • Resources requested
    • Partners request list of free Hep B and C screening and vaccination and low cost clinical care location that offer services in language
    • CHIPO-NYC can provide culturally competent hep B and C materials, help promote, refer patients and attend when your events are shared with us.

Resources

Jobs

In Attendance

  1. Aboudramane Berte, Public Health Advisor, DOHMH, aberte@health.nyc.gov
  2. Adeeba Khan, Viral Hepatitis Intern, DOHMH, akhan8@health.nyc.gov
  3. Aiesha  Hibbert, Public Health Associate, DOHMH, ahibbert1@health.nyc.gov
  4. Danaity Yemane, Coordinator, ASC, danaity@africanservices.org
  5. Fatima Omarufilo, Patient Navigator, Montefiore Medical Center, alabaran@Montefiore.org
  6. Farma Pene, HCAS, Meeting Organizer, DOHMH, fpene@health.nyc.gov
  7. Halimatou Konte, Testing Coordinator, ASC, halimatouk@africanservices.org
  8. John Nnaemeka Bosah, Patient Navigator, Montefiore Medical Center, nnaemekabosah@yahoo.com
  9. Lilas Kodjo, Communications and Community Engagement intern, DOHMH, lkodjo@health.nyc.gov
  10. Milen Beyene, HIV Housing, DOHMH, mbeyene@health.nyc.gov
  11. Mohamed Kante, Doctor, docteurk86@hotmail.fr
  12. Mulusew Bekele, Director of Program Operations, ASC, mulusewb@africanservices.org
  13. Nadine Kela-Murphy, Practice Transformation Specialist, DOHMH, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
  14. Nirah Johnson, Director of Capacity Building, DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  15. Nyasha Makoni, Hone Coordinator, Mount Sinai, nyashadzashe.makoni@mountsinai.org
  16. Olorunseun Ogunwobi MD, PhD, Director, ogunwobi@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu
  17. Onycha Banton, HCV Enhanced Surveillance Investigator, DOHMH, obanton@health.nyc.gov
  18. Prashant Putiagunta, ASC, prashantp@Africanservices.org
  19. Sarah Ahmed, Community Organizing & Training Coordinator, DOHMH, sahmed10@health.nyc.gov

Join our network!
Subscribe to Meeting Invites or Newsletter

CHIPO-NYC is a coalition of organizations and individuals interested in addressing the high rates of hepatitis B and C infections among African communities in the U.S. Our goal is to bring together NYC organizations, services providers and advocates who are dedicated to ending hepatitis B and C in African communities throughout the city.

Tags:

©2020 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?