CHIPO-NYC Committee Meeting Highlights | 10-28-20

Announcement

  • CHIPO-NYC AWARD!
    • Congratulations CHIPO-NYC for being awarded the 2020 Hep B United Community Champion Awards!
  • HONE has a new R21 study coming up to assess African immigrant health literacy and Hep B knowledge to create culturally competent education programs – Email Nyashadzashe Makoni Nyashadzashe.Makoni@mountsinai.org for any questions

Presentation 

Update: Difficult-to-Treat Hepatitis C Virus Subtypes in Sub-Saharan Africa
Annette Gaudino, State & Local Policy Director, Treatment Action Group, annette.gaudino@treatmentactiongroup.org

  • An estimated of 5.5 million people in sub-Saharan Africa could be infected with difficult to-treat genotype 4r and non-1a/1b subtypes.
  • Clinicians must consider resistance testing before treatment and test for subtype if cure was not achieved after treatment.
  • Lack of AASLD guidance on diagnostics and treatment
  • Support TAG in their request to make treatment recommendations available in American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases (AASLD) guideline. Email Annette Gaudino.
  • Hepatitis C Subtypes treatment recommendations available on the European Association for the Study of the Liver guideline page: see here

COVID-19 and FLU Vaccine, Cost, Accessibility and Materials
Maria Soto, Director, Community Health Promotion, Vaccine Task Force Community Engagement Coordinator, msoto3@health.nyc.gov

Discussion

  • What community outreach strategies have you been using during this pandemic to:
    • Provide Hep B and C linkage to care services
      • Patients are still concerned about attending in-person visits
    • Offer Hep B screening in the community
      • Clients are given the opportunity to get hep B test when they show up for COVID-19 test
      • There is planning for future community screening and current screening at sites

In Attendance

  1. Adeeba Khan, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, akhan8@health.nyc.gov
  2. Annette Gaudino, Treatment Action Group, annette.gaudino@treatmentactiongroup.org
  3. Arthur Dubai, Viral Hepatitis Community Partner, arthurdubai@hotmail.com
  4. Beatrice Zovich, Hep B Foundation, zovich@hepb.org
  5. Chari Cohen, Hep B Foundation, cohen@hepb.org
  6. Christina Boynes, BronxCare Medical Center, CBoynes@bronxleb.org
  7. Danait Yemene, African Services Committee, danaity@africanservices.org
  8. Farma Pene, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, fpene@health.nyc.gov
  9. Fatima Omarufilo, Montefiore Medical Center, alabaran@montefiore.org
  10. Lilas Kodjo, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, lkodjo@health.nyc.gov
  11. Nadine Kela-Murphy, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
  12. Halimatou Konte, African Services Committee, halimatouk@africanservices.org
  13. Olorunseun O. Ogunwobi, CUNY – Hunter College, ogunwobi@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu
  14. Mohamed Kante, Viral Hepatitis Community Partner, docteurk86@hotmail.fr
  15. Nyashadzashe Makoni, Mount Sinai Health System, makoni@mountsinai.org
  16. Shanda Kearse, Community Health Action of Staten Island (CHASI), shanda.kearse@chasiny.org
  17. Steven Stora, Community Health Network of Staten island, stora@chasiny.org

Join our network!

Subscribe to Meeting Invites or Newsletter

CHIPO-NYC is a coalition of organizations and individuals interested in addressing the high rates of hepatitis B and C infections among African communities in the U.S. Our goal is to bring together NYC organizations, services providers and advocates who are dedicated to ending hepatitis B and C in African communities throughout the city.

Last Updated on January 19, 2021 by HepFree NYC

Tags:

©2021 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?