Coalition Against Hepatitis in People of African Origin (CHIPO) Forum | Meeting Highlights – 4-23-14

The 3rd Annual NYC African Hep B & C Community Forum Coalition Against Hepatitis in People of African Origin (CHIPO) NYC

April 23rd (3-5 PM)
African Services Committee: 429 W 127th St, NY

 

View Full Forum Highlight Notes Here

 

Slides

Hep B & C & Liver Cancer Overview: Clinical characteristics and implications with a focus on the African Community in NYC. Umut Sarpel, MD, Division of Surgical Oncology, Mount Sinai – umut.sarpel@mountsinai.org

Presentation Slides

 

African Services Committee Hep B & C Testing & Linkage to Care in the Immigrant Community & Hepatitis Outreach Network (HONE) Mount Sinai: Hepatitis Screening & Linkage to Care Initiative
Aaron Vanderhoff, Hep Program Coordinator, African Services Committee – aaronv@africanservices.org

Presentation Slides

 

Hep B Patient Navigation in the African Community
Daouda Ndiaye, Hep B Patient Navigator, African Services Committee – daoudan@africanservices.org

 

Coalition Against Hepatitis for People of African Origin (CHIPO): National Initiative
Chari Cohen, MPH, DrPH(c), Director of Public Health, Hep B Foundation- chari.cohen@hepb.org
Susannah Amiteye, Chair, CHIPO – Susannah.Amiteye@global-prairie.com

Presentation Slides

 

Team HBV NYC: Student Initiative
Jeffrey Sung, Team HBV NYC Coordinator – js987@cornell.edu

Presentation Slides

 

Reaching out to NYC African Student Associations (ASA) & African Faith Based Organizations
Ijeoma Elobuike, MPH Candidate, CUNY & NYC DOHMH – Ijeoma.elobuike@lc.cuny.edu

African Radio: Health Outreach Opportunities
Abdou Diaw, Radio Host, Radio Mame Diaramalayediaw@gmail.com

African Health Service Organizations from NYC
African Refuge, Staten Island – Judy Brown, ED – jlbrown@africanrefuge.org

 

Moving Forward > Engaging the African Community in Hepatitis Awareness

  • National Hepatitis Testing Day Press Conference on the Steps of City Hall: May 15th (11 AM – Noon). Come out an represent your community! To get involved, contact: Nicole Bannister nbannister@cbwchc.org
  • Liver Life Walk – June 8th, 2014. American Liver Foundation. Join Team HBV, contact: nyc@teamhbv.org
  • African American Hep C Action Day. July 25th. To get involved, contact: Rick-Anthony Richards rarichards@nblca.org
  • World Hepatitis Day: July 28th. A Global Initiative organized by World Hepatitis Alliance. To get involved, Nicole Bannister nbannister@cbwchc.org

Everyday! Promote Free Screening & Vaccination!

African Services Committee offers FREE services Monday – Friday.

To refer, contact: aaronv@africanservices.org  (212) 222-3882 x122

  • Hepatitis B & C Screening
  • Hepatitis B Vaccine
  • Linage to Care for people who test positive
Tags:

©2020 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?