CHIPO-NYC Committee Meeting Highlights | 7-29-20

Presentation 

National African Immigrant and Refugee HIV and Hepatitis Awareness (NAIRHHA) Day:
Accomplishments and Future Directions
Commemoration
Chioma Nnaji, MPH, MEd, Program Director, Multicultural AIDS Coalition, chioma.nnaji@gmail.com  

Project DELIVER: Decreasing and Eliminating Liver Cancer by Increasing Viral Hepatitis Testing & Educational Resources
Danait Yemane, MPH, HBV Project Coordinator, African Services Committee, danaity@africanservices.org  

  • Cancer Prevention Fund Grant – African Services Committee, in partnership with CHIPO-NYC, was awarded a Cancer Prevention Fund Grant for one year to conduct outreach and education in the African-born community to promote hepatitis and liver cancer screening, vaccination, and linkage to care and treatment.

Discussion

  • Newly identified needs and barriers in the African community during COVID-19 should include:
      • Patients are still concerned about attending in-person visits
      • Non-English-speaking patients have difficulty with telehealth visits
      • Hard to conduct outreach events via zoom/webinar for non-tech savvy individuals

In Attendance

  1. Adeeba Khan, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, akhan8@health.nyc.gov
  2. Arslan Mohamed, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, amohamed1@health.nyc.gov
  3. Beatrice, Hep B Foundation, bodor@hepb.org
  4. Chioma Nnaji, Multicultural AIDS Coalition, nnaji@gmail.com
  5. Christina Boynes, BronxCare Medical Center, CBoynes@bronxleb.org
  6. Crispin Goytia, Mount Sinai, goytia@mountsinai.org
  7. Danait Yemene, African Services Committee, danaity@africanservices.org
  8. Farma Pene, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, fpene@health.nyc.gov
  9. Fatima Omarufilo, Montefiore Medical Center, alabaran@montefiore.org
  10. Ibrahima Sankare, African Services Committee, ibrahimas@africanservices.org
  11. Jason Candanedo, Bronx Care
  12. Lilas Kodjo, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, lkodjo@health.nyc.gov
  13. Liz Tang, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, ltang@health.nyc.gov
  14. Nadine Kela-Murphy, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
  15. Halimatou Konte, African Services Committee, halimatouk@africanservices.org
  16. Nirah Johnson, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  17. Nyashadzashe Makoni, Hepatitis Outreach Network at Mt. Sinai, makoni@mountsinai.org
  18. Nyashadzashe Makoni, Mount Sinai Health System, makoni@mountsinai.org
  19. Onycha Banton, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, obanton@health.nyc.gov
  20. Steven Stora, Community Health Network of Staten island, stora@chasiny.org
  21. Umaima Khatun, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, ukhatun@health.nyc.gov

Join our network! Subscribe to Meeting Invites or Newsletter

CHIPO-NYC is a coalition of organizations and individuals interested in addressing the high rates of hepatitis B and C infections among African communities in the U.S. Our goal is to bring together NYC organizations, services providers and advocates who are dedicated to ending hepatitis B and C in African communities throughout the city.

Last Updated on January 21, 2021 by HepFree NYC

Tags:

©2021 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?