NY Hep C Telemedicine Workgroup – Meeting Notes

Thursday December 17, 2020 (10 – 11 AM) via Webinar

In attendance at this meeting: See below notes

Next Meeting: Thursday, January 21 – 10:00AM

Workgroup Chair: Andrew Talal, MD, University at Buffalo, ahtalal@buffalo.edu

Telemedicine Policy Updates

Frank Winter – frank.winter@cms.hhs.gov

  • New CMS regulations for calendar year (CY) 2021 include:
    • Expanded coverage for take home Naloxone and Overdose Education by Opioid Treatment Programs
    • Finalized payment for Emergency Departments starting Medication Assisted Treatment, and other important changes.

Telemedicine Workgroup Development

Ann Fronczek – fronczek@binghamton.edu

  • Southern Tier Telehealth Network Funded by HRSA
  • Developed Rural Telehealth Educational Consortium
  • Match APRN students with Rural Health Sites
    • Didactic and experiential training (660 hours of direct patient care)

Committee Projects

  • Hep C Telemedicine Implementation During COVID – Study update
  • Proposed Projects for 2021: Develop referral directory of hepatitis telemedicine providers throughout NYS. Consider methods for connecting patients in areas where little or no care exists to NYS Telehealth providers.

Resources

  • Hep Free NYC Telehealth Resources
  • Report from Natl Academy of Science, Engineering and Medicine
    • Opportunities to Improve Opioid Use Disorder and Infectious Disease Services: Integrating Responses to a Dual Epidemic. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press. Found here.
  • Addiction Technology Transfer Center Network Coordinating Office (NCO ATTC), in collaboration with SAMHSA
    • Your Guide to Integrating HCV Services into Opioid Treatment Programs: Promising and Emerging Best Practices. Found here.
  • Journal of Biomedical Informatics: A Framework for Patient-Centered Telemedicine: Application and Lessons Learned from Vulnerable Populations
    • Article by Dr.Talal describing patient-centered telemedicine system among an OTP network throughout NYS. Found here.
  • Hep C Telemedicine Implementation Guide for Substance Use Treatment Programs 2020

Attendance

  1. Alvin Chu, MA, MPH, START Treatment and Recovery Centers, achu@startny.org
  2. Andrew Talal, MD, SUNY Research Foundation, ahtalal@buffalo.edu
  3. Ann Fronczek, Decker College of Nursing and Health Sciences, fronczek@binghamton.edu
  4. Arpan Dharia, SUNY, adharia@buffalo.edu
  5. Colleen Flanigan, RN, NYS DOH, colleen.flanigan@health.ny.gov
  6. Darlene Meyer, SUNY, dkmeyer@buffalo.edu
  7. Deborah Brown, Bureau of Hepatitis Health Care, NYSDOH, AIDS Institute, deborah.brown@health.ny.gov
  8. Debra Farron, Gilead Science, debra.farron@gilead.com
  9. Jeff Weiss, REACH, jeffrey.weiss@mountsinai.org
  10. Joy Cambe, Empire Liver Foundation, joycambe@empireliverfoundation.org
  11. Julia Hunter, julia.hunter@nyuhs.org
  12. Justine Waldman, Reach Medical, jwaldman@reachmed.org
  13. Kathleen Davis, University of Rochester Medical Center, Kathleen_davis@urmc.rochester.edu
  14. Katy Cook, AHI, kcook@ahihealth.org
  15. Kelly Ramsey, NYSOASAS, kelly.ramsey@oasas.ny.gov
  16. Marc Badura, SUNY, mbadura@buffalo.edu
  17. Marie Bresnahan, NYCDOHMH, mbresnahan@health.nyc.gov
  18. Marie Hardy, Mount Sinai, marie.hardy@mountsinai.org
  19. Meg Chappell, MPH, Empire Liver Foundation, megchapell@empireliverfoundation.org
  20. Nirah Johnson, LCSW, NYC DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  21. Perla Romero, The Alliance for Positive Change, perla@alliance.com
  22. Sandeep Krishnan, MedTech, sandeep.krishnan@medtecintl.com

©2021 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?