Last Updated on

NYS Hep C Telemedicine Workgroup – Meeting Notes

July 16 (10 – 11 AM) via Webinar

In attendance at this meeting: See below notes

Next Meeting: Thursday, August 20 – 10:00 AM

 

Workgroup Chair: Andrew Talal, MD, University at Buffalo, ahtalal@buffalo.edu

Workgroup goals: Short term: Identify, assess, document and disseminate current strategies and opportunities to provide hepatitis C treatment in substance use treatment facilities, via telemedicine. Long-term: Develop a NYS Telehealth network to provide a forum for ongoing learning and sharing of best practices to promote hepatitis B and C care and treatment through telehealth.

 

Meeting Notes

HCV TX in Substance use TX programs

  • Sending a letter to OASAS, the Governor’s Office and Medicaid Director is an acceptable approach
  • OASAS is concerned with HCV treatment implementation in OTPS including OTP Provider capacity to treat HCV, the need for provider training, and the lack of care coordination services
  • Questions posed by group members:
    • Can health insurance pay for telemedicine for health care services (ex. HIV care) other than those delivered by IOP-intensive outpatient program (ex. mental health evaluation). Will be discussed with OASAS Legal
    • Need to assess racial disparities in HCV treatment access depending upon involvement in methadone vs buprenorphine treatment
  • Recommendation to propose HCV treatment in OTP model to CMS as an innovation center or another form of demonstration project.

Telemedicine implementation Discussion

  • HCV medication prior approval process is currently very fast. There is no longer the requirement for full set of labs.
  • Data on HCV treatment via telemedicine efficacy and acceptability would be useful for CMS

Workgroup Planning

  1. Invite billing person to workgroup
  2. Medicare physician care fee schedule – comment period comingUpd

Resources

 

In Attendance:

  1. Aisha Khan, DO, Hudson River Health Care, aikhan@hrhcare.org
  2. Alvin Chu, MA, MPH, START Treatment and Recovery Centers, achu@startny.org
  3. Andrew Talal, MD, SUNY Research Foundation, ahtalal@buffalo.edu
  4. Angelica Ramirez, Mount Sinai Health System, angelica.ramirez@mountsinai.org
  5. Anthony McLeod, START Treatment and Recovery Centers, amcleod@startny.org
  6. Arslan Mohamed, NYC DOHMH, amohamed1@health.nyc.gov
  7. Cassandre Walker, START Treatment and Recovery Centers, cwalker@startny.org
  8. Colleen Flanigan, RN, NYS DOH, colleen.flanigan@health.ny.gov
  9. Frank Winter, Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services, Winter@cms.hhs.gov
  10. Irving Dela Cruz, START Treatment and Recovery Centers, idealcruz@startny.org
  11. Jeff Weiss, REACH, jeffrey.weiss@mountsinai.org
  12. Jessie Schwartz, RN, MPH, NYC DOHMH, jschwartz2@health.nyc.gov
  13. Julia Hunter, Binghamton General Hospital, julia.hunter@nyuhs.org
  14. Kelly Ramsey, MD, OASAS, kelly.ramsey@oasas.ny.gov
  15. Laura Shannon, Hudson River Healthcare, lshannon@hrhcare.org
  16. Marie Bresnahan, MPH, NYC DOHMH, mbresnahan@health.nyc.gov
  17. Meg Chappell, MPH, Empire Liver Foundation, megchapell@empireliverfoundation.org
  18. Nadine Kela-Murphy, MPH, NYC DOHMH, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
  19. Nirah Johnson, LCSW, NYC DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  20. Sandeep Krishnan, MBA, MS, Med Tech International, sandeep.krishnan@medtecintl.com
  21. Stephanie McHugh, NYCDOHMH, stephanie.mchugh@health.ny.gov
  22. Tessy Koshy, START Treatment and Recovery Centers, tkoshy@startny.org

©2020 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?