Last Updated on

CHIPO-NYC Meeting Highlights | 9-4-2019

African Services Committee

Updates on Community Activities:

  • Cancer Prevention Fund Grant – African Services Committee, in partnership with CHIPO-NYC, was awarded a Cancer Prevention Fund Grant to conduct outreach and education in the African-born community to promote hepatitis and liver cancer screening, vaccination, and linkage to care and treatment
    • CHIPO in collaboration with ASC will plan:
      • One screening and awareness event in each borough (5 total)
      • Provide hep B and C education to participants at events
      • Screen participants for hep B and C
      • Provide incentives to those that are screened
      • Vaccinate those that are susceptible or not immune for hep B
      • Please email Farma Pene at fpene@health.nyc.gov to collaborate for the screening events

Presentation: Addressing Hepatitis B in African Immigrant Communities

Addressing Hepatitis B in African Immigrant Communities: New Educational Resources for Education

Sierra Pellechio, BS, CHES, Health Outreach Coordinator, Hep B Foundation, sierra.pellechio@hepb.org

  • CDC in partnership with Hepatitis B Foundation conducted a needs assessment to create a campaign for African Immigrants
  • Hep B Foundation created resourses to be available by November 2019
    • Hep B 101 for African Immigrants
    • Flip chart for education
    • Digital Toolkit
  • Email Sierra Pellechio at pellechio@hepb.org if your community needs materials translated in other African languages or for any questions.

Collaboration Plan

  • Commemorate National African Immigrant and Refugee HIV and Hepatitis Awareness Day (NAIRHHA DAY)!
    • Looking for organizations to collaborate with for a screening/awareness event by December 31st
      • Hepatitis B Foundation will have one or two storytellers at the event
      • Please email Farma Pene at fpene@health.nyc.gov regarding any cost for our participation

Resources

Upcoming Events

  • Training | Hep C Patient Navigation @ NYC Health Dept – September 24th (9-5pm), register here
  • NYC Hep C Task Force Meeting – September 25th at (3 -5pm) at American Cancer Society – 132 W 32nd St, New York, NY 10001
  • Liver Cancer Awareness Month – October
  • Next CHIPO-NYC meeting – TBD at African Services Committee 429 W. 127th Street 4th floor. Please RSVP

In Attendance

  1. Arthur manuel, Community Partner, arthurdubai@hotmail.com
  2. Consolatie Uawere, Outreach Coordinator, Sauti Yetu Center for African Women and Families, cuwera@sautiyetu.us
  3. Farma Pene, HCAS, Meeting Organizer, DOHMH, fpene@health.nyc.gov
  4. Halimatou Konte, Testing Coordinator, ASC, halimatouk@africanservices.org
  5. Jean Pierre Kamwa, Community Worker, Sauti Yetu Center for African Women and Families, jkamwa@sautiyetu.us
  6. Kim Nichols, Co-Executive Director, ASC, kimn@africanservices.org
  7. Mulusew Bekele, Director of Program Operations, ASC, mulusewb@africanservices.org
  8. Nadine Kela-Murphy, Practice Transformation Specialist, DOHMH, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
  9. Nyasha Makoni, Hone Coordinator, Mount Sinai, nyashadzashe.makoni@mountsinai.org
  10. Onycah Banton, HCV Enhanced Surveillance Investigator, DOHMH, obanton@health.nyc.gov
  11. Prashant Putiagunta, ASC, prashantp@Africanservices.org
  12. Sarah Ahmed, Community Organizing & Training Coordinator, DOHMH, sahmed10@health.nyc.gov
  13. Sekou Hope, Sauti Yetu Center for African Women and Families, Sekouhope@gmail.com
  14. Sierra Pellechio, BS, CHES, Health Outreach Coordinator, Hep B Foundation, sierra.pellechio@hepb.org
  15. Umaima Khatun, Check Hep B Program Manager, DOHMH, ukhatun@health.nyc.gov
Tags:

©2020 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?