HIV/HCV Treatment Access Committee Notes

June 7th (10 AM – Noon)
NYC Department of Health, Long Island City,
In Attendance: See Below

Project SUCCEED: Eliminating Hep C in PLWH in NYC – Updates

Project SUCCEED update

  • View presentation here.

Feedback for HCV Screening and Treatment Recommendations for PLWH Handout

  • Create a hand out for provider offices, maybe pocket card

Proposal: Treating PWUD for Hep C

  • Video Testimonials
  • On-site multidisciplinary case conference for developing a care plan for hard to treat patients
  • Facilitated discussions at CBO’s
  • To join the PWUD Treatment Workgroup, email Tsetsi mkgama1@health.nyc.gov
  • Workgroup Participants: Cherry Jones, John Nelson, Divine Prince Allah, Shellyann Vassell, Guisseppe Quispe Ramos, Veronica Jones, Jill Pace

Community of Practice and Learning

Hep C University – July 25th, 10am – 4pm, Salvation Army 540 Malcolm X Blvd
Divine Prince Allah, Coalition for Positive Health Empowerment – sambo7the7@gmail.com 

A Behavioral Intervention Improves the Rate of Hepatitis C Treatment Initiation Among HIV/HCV Co-infected Patients: Results of a Randomized Controlled Trial
Jeff Weiss, PhD Professor Icahn School of Medicine, Mount Sinai – jeffrey.weiss@mountsinai.org

Announcements and Upcoming Events

  • NYC Hep C Task Force Meeting. June 27 (3-5 PM), American Cancer Society, 132 West 32nd Street.
  • National African American Hep C Action Day & Hep C University. July 25th. 540 Malcolm X Blvd, 10am – 4pm.
    • Includes Hep C Treatment & Policy Updates and Health Fair. All are welcome.
    • To RSVP or reserve a table at the outdoor Health Fair, email Gail Brown gbrown.cope@gmail.com. All are welcome!

Upcoming Trainings

Community Trainings

  • HepCure – Weekly Tele-education Series. Tuesdays (4:30 – 5:30 PM).
  • Empire Liver Foundation: HCV Clinical Provider Training Live Webinar Series (10 CME)
    Thursdays (4:30 – 5:30pm) March 22 – May 31
    To register contact: megchappell@empireliverfoundation.org
  • Hep C Basics – To request a an on-site training for community members and front-line staff contact: abrenes@health.nyc.gov

Additional resources available at www.hepfree.nyc/projectsucceed

In Attendance:

1. Alexis Brenes, Health Care Access Specialist, DOHMH, abrenes@health.nyc.gov
2. Ann Winters,Medical Director – VHP, DOHMH, awinters@health.nyc.gov
3. Chelsea Amato, Harm Reduction Specialist, DOHMH BADUPCT Harm Reduction, camato@health.nyc.gov
4. Cherry Jones,Program Coordinator, Mount Sinai Health System, cherry.jones@mountsinai.org
5. Farma Pene, Health Care Access Specialist, DOHMH, fpene@health.nyc.gov
6. Giusseppe Quispe Ramos,Test Counselor/ Health Educator,Harlem United, gquispe@harlemunited.org
7. Gracine S. Lewis,Project Manager,Northeast/Caribbean AETC, gs2375@cumc.columbia.edu
8. Jeff Weiss, Associate Professor, Mount Sinai, Weiss, jeffrey.weiss@mountsinai.org
9. Jennifer Irwin,Sr. Director of Programs,Mount Sinai, Jennifer.Irwin@mountsinai.org
10. Jill Pace,Director, HIV Care & Treatment,Mount Sinai, Jill.Pace@mountsinai.org
11. John Nelson, AETC, nelsonj3@sn.rutgers.edu
12. Kate Penrose, Senior Research Analyst, DOHMH, kpenrose@health.nyc.gov
13. Kizzi Belfon, HIV/HCV Surveillance Analyst, DOHMH, kbelfon@health.nyc.gov
14. Luz Marina Aguirre,,AETC Access Program, aguirre.luzmarina@gmail.com
15. MaNtsetse Kgama, Project Manager, mkgama1@health.nyc.gov
16. Mstn Tanzila Pervin,Public Health Adviser,DOHMH, mpervin@health.nyc.gov
17. Natalie Octave, Project Coordinator, DOHMH,noctave@health.nyc.gov
18. Nirah Johnson, Director of Capacity Building,DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
19. Shale Maulana ,Director of New Initiatives, CHE,DOHMH, smaulana@health.nyc.gov
20. Shellyann Vassell,Assistant Coordinator,Northwell, msvassell@northwell.edu
21. Veronica Jones, AETC, jonesve@sn.rutgers.edu

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending

©2018 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit Design QuikSite®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?