Hep C Task Force Meeting Highlights | Brooklyn – 2-6-18

February 6 (2:30 – 5:00 PM) Bedford Stuyvesant Restoration Plaza

www.hepfree.nyc #HepFreeNYC #EndHepatitis
In Attendance: See Below

Presentations

Brooklyn Hep C Task Force Meeting
Suzanne Robinson Davis, MPhil, MSc Brooklyn Hep C Task Force Community Chair (SRobinsonDavis@bsfhc.org)

  • View Presentation here

Project SUCCEED: Eliminating Hep C in People Living with HIV in NYC
Natalie Octave, MPH, CHES, NYC Health Department (NOctave@health.nyc.gov)

  • Overview of Project SUCCEED
  • Statistics and Characteristics of Co-Infected individuals in NYC
  • How to get involved in this initiative through Project SUCCEED
  • View Presentation here

Available Hep C Trainings for Clinical Providers
Joy Cambe, MD, MPH Empire Liver Foundation (JoyCambe@empireliverfoundation.org)

March 22       Pre-Treatment Assessment

March 29       Role of Resistance Testing

April 5             Overview of Fibrosis

April 19           Treatment by Genotype

April 26           Side Effects and Drug Drug Interactions

May 3             Treatment of HIV and Hepatitis C Co-Infection

May 10           Treating People with Mental Health Conditions and Substance Use

May 17           Monitoring Prior, During and After Treatment

May 24           Management of Advanced and Complicated Disease

May 31           Hepatitis C Medication Coverage and Prior Authorization

For more information click here.

Discussion

  • Participants suggested forming a Hep C Task Force Advocacy Committee
  • Participants suggested recruiting mental health organizations to Task Force
  • Discretionary Funding – Deadline Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Upcoming Events and Announcements

  • May Hepatitis Awareness Month Planning: will be an awareness event on Steps of City Hall

In Attendance:

1. Arkeda Hansen, Linkage to Care Coordinator, Interfaith Medical Center, ahansen@Interfaithmedical.org
2. Cassandra Anderson, Clinical Care Manager, Brownsville Multiservice Family Health Center, canderson@bmsfhc.org
3. David Llewellyn, Regional Account Manager, Quality Specialty Pharmacy, davidl@qsprx.com
4. David Cushman Sr., HCV therapeutic Specialist, Gilead Sciences, David.Cushman@gilead.com
5. Fernando Valerio, Check Hep C Patient Navigator, Community Health Care Networks, fvalerio@chnnyc.org
6. Greg Romenski, Patient Advocate, Russian Community Outreach, gregromen@gmail.com
7. Hector Quinones, Director of Programs, After Hours Project, hquinones@afterhoursproject.org
8. James Spellman, Associate Director, Viral Hepatitis Medical Affairs, Gilead Sciences, james.spellman@gilead.com
9. Jerry loschiavo, Rep. CVS Carmeark Careplus. Gerald.loschiavo@cvshealth.com
10.John Show, Hep C Navigator, Housing Works, j.show@housingworks.org
11. Joy Cambe, Program Coordinator, Empire Liver Foundation, joycambe@empireliverfoundation.org
12. Karina Escamilla, Health Affairs Coordinator, Consulate General of Mexico in NY, kescamilla@consulmexny.mx
13. Lemunt Boyd, Health Educator, Brownsville Multiservice Family Health Center, lboyd@bmsfhc.org
14. Lisa Koffler, Asst. Director, HIV Prevention, CAMBA, Inc., Elisek@camba.org
15. Maxine McGredy, Hep C Patient Navigator, After Hours Project, maxinemcgredy@gmail.com
16. Natalie Octave, Project Coordinator, DOHMH, noctave@health.nyc.gov
17. Ned Latham, Volunteer (Medical Student), DOHMH, nlatham@health.nyc.gov
18. Nirah Johnson, Director Capacity Building, DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
19. Paul Bolter, Community Outreach and Education Manager, Liver Foundation, PBolter@liverfoundation.org
20. Peter Chen, Program Coordinator, Kingsbrook Jewish Medical Center, PChen@kingsbrook.org
21. Reginald Moten, Supervisor for Hep C Peer Navigators, Family Services Network of New York Inc., rmoten@fsnny.org
22. Sandra Benjamin, Caribbean Women’s Health Association, sbenjamin@cwha.org
23. Van Aher, Program Manager, Syringe Access Program, vasher@sachr.org
24. Vernon Watson, Sale Director of HIV, Island Care Pharmacy Specialty Pharmacy HIV/ AIDS Hep C, vernonw@islandcarerx.com

©2019 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit Design QuikSite®

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending
or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?