LGBTQ Committee

LGBTQ Committee
Meeting Highlights
August 29, 2016 (3-5pm)
24 West 25th Street 9th Floor, New York, NY 10010

Updates

  • Liver Health Panel Discussion at SAGE – World Hepatitis Day

SAGE held a liver health panel discussion for World Hepatitis Day.  Panelists included Paul Bolter from American Liver Foundation, Diana Diaz-Munoz from the NYC Health Department, and Darrin Maxwell from Callen-Lorde.  Around 30 people attended to learn about hepatitis and how to promote liver health.

Tasks

 The following tasks were agreed upon at this meeting.

1. Create second version of LGBTQ Resource card.

  • We have received a lot of positive feedback about the resource card.
  • Members of the committee suggested working on a second version.

If you would like to help out with creating a second version, email Daniel with the following ideas and recommendations.

  • Different imagery other than a rainbow Hep Free NYC logo.
  • Another tag line. Right now it is “Be Proud. Be Hep Free.”
  1. Plan one or two activities by the end of the year. The following ideas were provided.
  • Table at the 6th Annual Conference on Transgender Health (Friday October 7, 9-5 pm @ PACE University. More information and to register, click here
  • Provide hepatitis information at Bronx Lebanon workshop “Trans* men and Men of Trans* masculine experience” (Thursday October 15)* Will send further info when available.
  • Help Bronx Lebanon spread the HIV/Hep C awareness campaign aimed at the African American transgender community.

If you would like participate in any of these events/campaigns, email Daniel at dcalder@health.nyc.gov

In Attendance:

  1. Andrew Bonfrancesco Supervisor Positive Health Project bonfrancesco@housingworks.org
  2. Ari Harris LGBTQ Health Project Coordinator DOHMH aharris12@health.nyc.gov
  3. Bryan Medina Research and Evaluation Assistant Latino Commission on AIDS bmedina@latinoaids.org
  4. Daniel Calder Outreach and Education Coordinator DOHMH dcalder@health.nyc.gov
  5. Derek McCracken Grad Student Columbia University dsm2178@columbia.edu
  6. John Buie Outreach & Engagement Specialist Bailey House jbuie@baileyhouse.org
  7. Levi Solimine Transgender Health Specialist DOHMH lsolimine@health.nyc.gov
  8. Lizzie Lovinger Collaboration and Outreach Associate DOHMH elovinger@health.nyc.gov
  9. Luiz Scaccabarrozzi Director of Health Policy & Advocacy Latino Commission on AIDS LScaccabarrozzi@latinoaids.org
  10. Marisa Lelia Behavioral Science Instructor/Social Worker Bronx-Lebanon Hospital Center Department of Family Medicine mlelia@bronxleb.org 
  11. Paul Bolter Health Education American Liver Foundation pbolter@liverfoundation.org
  12. Ronni Marks Founder/ED HCMSG-The Hepatitis C Mentor and Support Group, Inc. ronnimarks24@gmail.com
  13. Simon Andrade LGBTQ Health Project Coordinator DOHMH sandrade2@health.nyc.gov
  14. Timeka Toussaint Program Specialist BronxWorks ttoussaint@bronxworks.org

 

Tags:

©2021 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?