Hep C Task Force Meeting Highlights | 4-11-18

April 11 (3 PM – 5 PM) American Cancer Society, Manhattan

www.hepfree.nyc #HepFreeNYC #EndHepatitis
In Attendance: See Below

Presentations

Housing Works Hep C Treatment Incentive Program
Gillian Saunders, Director of Healthcare Compliance and Special Projects, Housingworks – g.saunders@housingworks.org
  • Housing Works has noticed an increase in clients getting treated with the incentive program, the gift cards are spread out so the monetary incentive helps push people to get SVR testing.
  • View full presentation here.

NYS Health Hubs at Syringe Exchange Programs: Hep C Opportunities
Rebecca Goldberg, Opioid Program Manager, NYS Department of Health – rebecca.goldberg@health.ny.gov

New York State Hep C Elimination Strategy
Announcement of Commitment by Governor Cuomo – Potential impact on NYC
Reed Vreeland, Director of NYC Community Mobilization, Housing Works – r.vreeland@housingworks.org

  • NYS FY19 budget had added 5 million dollars of additional funding for Hep C. Learn more about the NYS State Elimination Plan here
  • View full presentation here.
2018 May Hepatitis Awareness Month Planning
Annual Hep Free NYC Awareness Event, Steps of City Hall. May 15, 11 – Noon.
Bethsy Morales, Hispanic Federation – bmorales@hispanicfederation.org
  • Organizations are encouraged to attend and bring their banners! T-shirts will be provided.

NYC Hep C Task Force Updates
Project SUCCEED: Eliminating Hep C in People Living with HIV in NYC
MaNtsetse Kgama, MPH, Project Manager, NYC Health Department mkgama1@health.nyc.gov

  • View full presentation here.

Community Comments

  • The NYS State Medicaid Hepatitis C Experienced Provider Classification was discussed. This topic may be on a future agenda of the Drug Utilization Review Board, upcoming agendas are listed here.
  • Hepatitis C can be cured, see the explanation here.
  • A person can always get infected again with Hep C. If you clear the virus on your own, or get treated and cured, you can get Hep C again. You are never immune! Learn more here.

Upcoming Events and Announcements

City Council Viral Hepatitis Initiative – Funding Update

In Attendance:

Alexis Rivera, NHBS Project Director, DOHMH, arivera6@health.nyc.gov
Alexis Thompson, Public Health Educator, DOHMH, athomps1@health.nyc.gov
Ann Winters, Medical Director, Viral Hepatitis, DOHMH, awinters@health.nyc.gov
Arkeda Hansen, Linkage to Care Coordinator, Interfaith Medical Center, ahansen@InterfaithMedical.org
Bethsy Morales-Reid, Director of Community Health Engagement, Hispanic Federation, bmorales@hispanicfederation.org
Bobby Kim, Senior Therapeutic Specialist, Gilead, bobby.kim@gilead.com
Chelsea Grant, Clinical Research Coordinator, Hepatitis Outreach Network- Mount Sinai, Chelsea.grant@mssm.edu
Chris Cruz, Pharmaetuical rep, AbbVie, chris.cruz@abbvie.com
Courtney Dower, Program Manager, Bronx-Lebanon Family Medicine, cdower@bronxleb.org
Czarina Behrends, Instructor, Weill Cornell Medicine, czb2002@med.cornell.edu
Daniel Cotto, Peer Advocate, The Fortune Society
David Llewellyn, Regional Account Manager, Quality Specialty Pharmacy, davidl@qsprx.com
Debra Stewart, HIV/Hep C Navigator, Kingsbrook Jewish Medical Center, dstewart@kingsbrook.org
Diana Diaz-Munoz, Program Coordinator (Hep C Peer/Check Hep C), DOHMH, ddiazmunoz@health.nyc.gov
Douglas Reich, DREICH@bronxleb.org
Elisa McBratney, Program Manager, REACH – Mount Sinai, ellisa.mcbratney@mountsinai.org
Farma Pene, Health Care Access Specialist, DOHMH, fpene@health.nyc.gov
Fernando Valerio, Check Hep C Patient Navigator, Community Health Care Networks, fvalerio@chnnyc.org
Gail Brown, Policy Advocate, COPE, gbrown.cope@gmail.com
Gail Gonzalez, Montefiore Medical Center – HCV Program, gailgr2014@gmail.com
Gil A Cerpa, Hep C Coordinator, Praxis Housing Initiatives Inc., gacerpa@PRAXISHOUSING.org
Gillian Saunders, Hep C program Manager, Housing Works, G.Saunders@housingworks.org
Ginger Wey, Medical Director, HepC treatment network @ Montefiore, gwey@montefiore.org
Hasani Escobar, Bedford Stuyvesant Family Health Center, hescobar@bsfhc.org
Hildegarde Reimers, Co-Managing Director of Quality and Value Based Initiatives Brownsville Community Development Corporation, hreimers@bmsfhc.org
Jackie Hill, Montefiore Medical Center – HCV Program, jackiehill823@icloud.com
James Spellman, Associate Director, Viral Hepatitis Medical Affairs, Gilead Sciences, james.spellman@gilead.com
Jasmine Muniz-Cadorette, 340B Program Coordinator, Brightpoint Health, jcadorette@brightpointhealth.org
Jessie Schwartz, Clinical Coordinator, DOHMH – Viral Hepatitis, jschwartz2@health.nyc.gov
Jordan Denas, Pharmacy Student, Saint John’s University – College of Pharmacy, Jordan.denas12@my.students.edu
Joy Cambe, Program Coordinator, Empire Liver Foundation, joycambe@empireliverfoundation.org
Julia Phillips, Public Health Educator/CBO Liaison, DOHMH STD Control, jphillip@health.nyc.gov
Kathleen Bernock, NP, Bedford Stuyvesant Family Health Center, KBernock@bsfhc.org
Kristine Marks , Weill Cornell, markskr@med.cornell.edu
Liz Tang , Health Care Access Specialist, DOHMH, ltang@health.nyc.gov
Lucia Chan, Senior Director – Asian Services Center, Mount Sinai Beth Israel, lucia.chan@mountsinai.org
Lucy Vega, Check Hep C Patient Navigator, Bedford Stuyvesant Family Health Center, Lvega@bsfhc.org
Mantsetse Kgama, Project Manager, DOHMH-Viral Hepatitis, mkgama1@health.nyc.gov
Marie    Bresnahan, Project Director DOHMH-Viral Hepatitis  mbresnahan@health.nyc.gov
Medesa Garrett, HCV Coordinator, Brightpoint Health, mgarrett@brightpointhealth.org
Mercedes Guzman, Program Director, HCV Program, Albert Einstein DoSA, marguzm@montefiore.org
Nadine Kela-Murphy, Practice Transformation Specialist, DOHMH, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
Nana Asamani-Asante, Project Manager, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, nana.asamani-asante@mssm.edu
Natalie Octave, Project Coordinator, DOHMH, noctave@health.nyc.gov
Nirah Johnson, Director of Program Implementation & Capacity Building, DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
Paul Bolter, Community Outreach/Education Manager, American Liver Foundation, pbolter@liverfoundation.org
Pauline Edwards, Outreach worker/Advocate, COPE, pauline11@outlook.com
Peter Chen, Program Coordinator, Kingsbrook Jewish Medical Center, PChen@kingsbrook.org
Rachel   Redding, Program Assistant, DOHMH, rredding@health.nyc.gov
Rahel Yosief, Patient Navigator, BOOM!Health, ryosief@boomhealth.org
Rebecca Goldberg, Program Manager, NYSDOH, rebecca.goldberg@health.ny.gov
Reed Vreeland, Director of NYC Community Mobilization, Housing Works, r.vreeland@housingworks.org
Rene Guevara, Patient Navigator, Paramount Specialty Pharmacy, reneg@paramountsprx.com
Romy Alvarez, Patient Navigator, Montefiore Medical Center, Roalvare@montefiore.org
Sarah Ahmed, Communications and Community Engagement Coordinator, DOHMH, sahmed10@health.nyc.gov
Shashi Kapadia, MD, Instructor in Medicine/ Infectious Diseases, Weill Cornell Medicine, shk9078@med.cornell.edu
Sheila Reynoso, Project Coordinator, HIV/Hepatitis C, Montefiore Medical Center, sreynoso@montefiore.org
Shellyann Vassell, Assistant Nurse Manager, Zucker Hillside Hospital, SVassell@northwell.edu
Sidney Carillo, NHBS Project Coordinator, NYC DOHMH, scarrillo@health.nyc.gov
Susan Lee, Specialist Pharmacist, Northwell Health, skang@northwell.edu
Suzanne Robinson Davis, Program Manager, Bedford Stuyvesant Family Health Center, srobinsondavis@bsfhc.org
Tatiana Vera, Health Educator/Linkage to Care Specialist, Montefiore Medical Center, tvera@montefiore.org
Tricia Teoh, Preventive Medicine Resident, DOHMH, tteoh@health.nyc.gov
Vassilia Sideras, Pharmacy Student, Saint John’s University – College of Pharmacy, vassilia.sideras12@my.students.edu

Tags:

©2021 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?