CHIPO-NYC Meeting Highlights | 6-14-2019

African Services Committee

Updates on Community Activities:

  • HONE/ASC, Bronx Health Action Center, National Black Leadership Commission on AIDS to share calendar of screening events.
  • National Black Leadership Commission on AIDS provide grants to faith-based organizations (mosques, churches) to do screening for HIV/Hep C/ STI
    • Evelyn Botwe, ebotwe@nblca.org, Program Coordinator will share eligibility requirements for their grant applications and refer FBOs who are interested in collaborating with CHIPO for screening and education.
    • Bronx cluster of FBO’s HIV testing event, June 22nd: ASC joined and provided free hep B and C screening
  • Gloria Mesa, gmesa@health.nyc.gov, Neighborhood Health Promoter at Bronx Health Action Center will plan a collaboration event with ASC and CHIPO-NYC.

Needs found at the community events:

  • Lucy Kingangi, lkingangi@health.nyc.gov, DOH will share free vaccines and testing sites in Staten Island and Manhattan
  • Doing outreach/education prior to screening event to ensure people know the importance of getting tested
  • Incentives i.e. pens, t shirts, bags
  • Language accessible materials (non-English materials) and culturally and linguistically competent staff working at the event
  • Child care for women when they’re doing the education sessions and/or getting tested
  • Warm hand offs, a direct contact and phone number at referral sites
    • Creating a special referral list with languages spoken by contacts
  • Private screening areas at events
  • Creating a list of new needs and barriers recognized at screening/education events

Resources

Upcoming Events

  • Training | Hep C Patient Navigation @ NYC Health Dept – July 22nd (9-5pm) to register, sign in here or create an account here.
  • Hepatitis C Patient Summit by the National Viral Hepatitis Roundtable – July 29-30th in Atlanta, GA, more information: http://nvhr.org/program/PatientSummit/
  • Next CHIPO-NYC meeting – September 4th (3-5pm) at African Services Committee 429 W. 127th Street 4th floor.  RSVP

In Attendance

  1. Arthur manuel, Community Partner, arthurdubai@hotmail.com
  2. Daouda Ndiaye, Hep B Navigator, ASC, daoudan@africanservices.org
  3. Dilnora Azimova, PN Intern, DOHMH, dazimova@health.nyc.gov
  4. Evelyn Botwe, Program Coordinator, National Black Leadership Commission on AIDS, ebotwe@nblca.org
  5. Farma Pene, HCAS, Meeting Organizer, DOHMH, fpene@health.nyc.gov
  6. Gloria Mesa, Neighborhood Health Promoter, DOH/Bronx Health Action Center, gmesa@health.nyc.gov
  7. Halimatou Konte, Testing Coordinator, ASC, halimatouk@africanservices.org
  8. Kim Nichols, Co-Executive Director, ASC, kimn@africanservices.org
  9. Lucy, Kingangi, Public Health Associate, DOHMH, lkingangi@health.nyc.gov
  10. Mulusew Bekele, Director of Program Operations, ASC, mulusewb@africanservices.org
  11. Nadine Kela-Murphy, Practice Transformation Specialist, DOHMH, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
  12. Nirah Johnson, Director of Capacity Building, DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  13. Nyasha Makoni, Hone Coordinator, Mount Sinai, nyashadzashe.makoni@mountsinai.org
  14. Sarah Ahmed, Community Organizing & Training Coordinator, DOHMH, sahmed10@health.nyc.gov
  15. Saadjo Sow, Health Promoter, DOHMH, Saadjosow@gmail.com
  16. Theodora Biney-Amissah, Community Doula, Saar Yare Boah Doula Care, Theodora.ekua.amissah@gmail.com
  17. Umaima Khatun, Check Hep B Program Manager, DOHMH, ukhatun@health.nyc.gov
Tags:

©2020 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?