HIV/HCV Treatment Access Committee Notes

October 11th (10 AM – Noon)
NYC Department of Health, Long Island City,
In Attendance: See Below

Project SUCCEED: Eliminating Hep C in PLWH in NYC – Updates

Committee Notes: (See slides here)

Project SUCCEED update

  • Practice Transformation – Kizzi Belfon, HIV/HCV Surveillance and Evaluation Analyst
  • Intervention Site Updates presented by:
  • TA Partnering organization: Hispanic AIDS Forum also presented updates on work to integrate HCV care and treatment – Daniel Castellanos, Director of Programs
  • Direct Outreach – Summary of Presentation
    Farma Pene, Health Care Access Specialist:

    • Tele-navigation to HIV/Hep C co-infected people out of care for Hep C, began June 2018
    • 261 outreached – 77 interviewed, provided navigation services to 82%(63) of those interviewed
    • Common patient reactions to initial outreach include:
      • Initial confusion/discomfort about discussing health information over the phone
      • Want more information about Hep C, treatment, and follow-up monitoring
      • In satisfactory care, completed or currently being treated
    • Successful Linkage to Care Strategies include:
      • Provide Hep C education
      • Coordinate with provider and/or pharmacy
      • Help uninsured access Hep C treatment payment programs
  • Rikers Initiative – Discussion/brainstorm of ideas to increase referrals for linkage to care
    Alexis Brenes, HEALTH Care Access Specialist:

    • Share list of Hep C positive detainees prior to release with DOHMH Patient Navigators
    • Organize a pre-release health fair to alert detainees of available services upon release
    • Develop a public awareness campaign geared towards re-entry population
    • Set up alerts in emergency department reporting systems to help monitor transient population
    • Shared Resources
  • Hep C Patient Navigation Training – Summary of Presentation
    MaNtsetse Kgama, Project Manager:

    • Trainings offered beginning February 2017
    • 177 participants trained, at least 85% HIV Providers
    • Targeted trainings for Rikers staff and BHIV Housing Contractors
    • Positive change in Hep c patient navigation knowledge, efficacy, and attitudes towards special populations
  • Treating PWUD for Hep C Update
    MaNtsetse Kgama, Project Manager

    • Barriers to Hepatitis C Treatment for PWUD SurveyMonkey closing 10/19/2018
    • Click here to complete/forward survey
    • Next Meeting November 15, 11:00am – 12:30pm. RSVP, mkgama1@health.nyc.gov

Community of Practice and Learning

  • HIV Care Status Reports (HCSR)System – Out of HIV Care Patient Look up Service
    Dipal Shah – CSR Analyst/Coordinator NYC Health Department
    HCSR Homepage

Announcements and Upcoming Events

  • NYC Hep C Task Force Meeting. TBD (3-5 PM), American Cancer Society, 132 West 32nd Street. RSVP to: Sarah Ahmed, Communications and Community Engagement Coordinator, NYC Health Dept.

Upcoming Trainings

Community Trainings

  • HepCure – weekly tele-education series. Tuesdays (4:30 – 5:30 PM). hepcure.org
  • Hep C Basics – To request a an on-site training for community members and front-line staff contact:abrenes@health.nyc.gov

Additional resources available at www.hepfree.nyc/projectsucceed

In Attendance:

  1. Alexis Brenes, NYC Health Department, abrenes@health.nyc.gov
  2. Alison Whitney, NYC Health Department, awhitney1@health.nyc.gov
  3. Brian Hennessey, Housing Works, Inc, b.hennessey@housingworks.org
  4. Courtney Dower, BronxCare/Bronx Lebanon, CDower@bronxleb.org
  5. Daniel Castellanos, Hispanic AIDS Forum, dcastellanos@hafnyc.org
  6. Dipal Shah, NYC Health Department, csr@health.nyc.gov
  7. Gail Brown, Coalition on Positive Health Empowerment (COPE), gbrown.cope@gmail.com
  8. Gil A Cerpa, Praxis Housing Initiatives,Inc., gacerpa@PRAXISHOUSING.org
  9. Gillian Saunders, Housing Works, Inc, G.Saunders@housingworks.org
  10. Giusseppe Quispe Ramos, Harlem United, gquispe@harlemunited.org
  11. Jasmine Muniz-Cadorette, Brightpoint Health, jcadorette@brightpointhealth.org
  12. Jill Pace, Mount Sinai, Jill.Pace@mountsinai.org
  13. Kizzi Belfon, NYC Health Department, kbelfon@health.nyc.gov
  14. MaNtsetse Kgama, NYC Health Department, mkgama1@health.nyc.gov
  15. Marie Bresnahan, NYC Health Department, mbresnahan@health.nyc.gov
  16. Sarah Ahmed, NYC Health Department, sahmed10@health.nyc.gov
  17. Sheryl Young, NYC Health Department, csr@health.nyc.gov
  18. Stacey Saunders, GMHC, staceys@gmhc.org

©2019 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit Design QuikSite®

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending
or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?