,

LGBTQ Committee Meeting Highlights | 5-12-2017

Latino Commission on AIDS

May 12, 2017

LGBTQ Card – Ready to distribute

  • Read about the card here!
  • Version that was printed is not as up-to-date, so we will be distributing clearer version in the coming weeks
  • Card is currently being translated into Spanish for printing & distribution in the next two weeks
  • If your organization performs the services listed on the card, but is not currently part of the NYC Site Locator for hepatitis services and you would like to be, contact Caroline.

 

Hep A and B Vaccination Campaign

  • We need to decide on the target audience. This will inform how to design the campaign.
  • Do research on who in the LGBTQ community have higher rates of Hep A and B, new infections, lower rates of vaccination – break down by age, race/ethnicity.
  • The campaign should have two components (1) get tested for Hep B (2) get vaccinated for Hep A and B.
  • Should be packaged with a call to action – why is this important now?
  • Campaign ideas:
    • Make it age-specific & community specific. Potential flyer/poster ideas:
      • What’s in your pocket?
      • To-do list with images in the background
      • Cellphone notification/reminder to get texted and get vaccinated
      • Incorporate into current HBV requirements for starting PrEP: Thinking about going on PrEP? Get checked, get vaccinated.
      • → main focus is to normalize vaccination & make simple
    • Campaign should recognize/accept that individuals may already be sexually active – vaccination is a way for them to keep doing what they’re already doing, but more safely.
  • Campaign logistics ideas:
    • Use Craigslist, Grindr, A4A – contact app developers about posting ads.
    • Potentially use fidget spinners to reach young adults.
    • Create palm card with checklist that can be written on by clients
    • Create inclusive ads.

 

LGBTQ Pride in June Ideas

  • Host a screening/vaccination event.
  • Have a booth at Pride to distribute cards & resources.
    • Could create a small version of the card that can be packaged with other resources, such as LCOA’s condom packs.
  • Darrin will determine if we could potentially partner with Callen-Lorde to use the Mobile Medical Unit van for HAV & HBV vaccination & HCV testing.
  • Check in with organizations about putting literature on their tables.

 

In Attendance

  1. Andrew Bonfrancesco, Supervisor, Positive Health Project, bonfrancesco@housingworks.org
  2. Caroline Davidson, Communications Coordinator, NYC Health Department, cdavidson1@health.nyc.gov
  3. Darrin Maxwell, Hepatitis C Coordinator, Callen-Lorde Community Health Center, darrinbenjaminmaxwell@gmail.com
  4. Derek McCracken, Practicum Supervisor, Narrative Medicine Columbia University dsm2178@columbia.edu
  5. Devan Diaz, CBA Specialist, Latino Commission on AIDS, ddiaz@latinoaids.org
  6. Fernando Valerio, Check Hep C Patient Navigator, Community Healthcare Network, fvalerio@chnnyc.org
  7. Frank Julca, Research Assistant, Latino Commission on AIDS, frankjulca03@outlook.com
  8. Luis Mares, Hep/HIV Coordinator, Latino Commission on AIDS, lmares@latinoaids.org
  9. Luiz Scaccabarrozzi, Director of Health Policy & Advocacy, Latino Commission on AIDS, lscaccabarrozzi@latinoaids.org
  10. Nelso Silverfo, Coordinator, Latino Commission on AIDS, nsilverfo@latinoaids.org
  11. Selena Leyha, Peer Facilitator, Latino Commission on AIDS, selenaleyha28@aol.com

Tags:

©2019 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit Design QuikSite®

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending
or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?