Staten Island Hep B & C Task Force Meeting HighlightsTuesday September 25th (9:30-11:30 AM) 25 Victory Blvd, Staten Island
In Attendance: See below

Meeting Highlights

Staten Island Hep C Patient Support Group – Task Force discussion about how to support and advertise this group

  • Group Leaders: Steve Loggins, SIUH MMTP (718)226-3826 or Mario Lamboy, Positive Health Project (212) 465-8304 mlamboy@phpnyc.org
  • Meets the 3rd Thursday of every month at 6:15 at the Regina M. McGinn, MD Medical Education Center conference room at the Staten Island University Hospital, North Site – 475 Seaview Ave
    • Challenge: participants worry about maintaining their confidentiality, in need of incentives such as metro-cards
  • Next group meeting on Oct 18th at 6:15pm will be focused on hepatitis education & discussion
    • Once a flyer is created we need everyone to distribute & post
  • Next meeting will be November 15th (see above – meeting agenda)

Hepatitis B & C Medical Care on Staten Island – Continuing Discussion & Identification of Resources

  • Where Mono-infected Hep B & C Patients can get care – See existing resources on ‘NYC Hep B & C Services Site Locator’
  • SIUH
    • Mary O’Conner will look into what doctors see mono-infected HBV/HCV patients at SIUH
  • Hepatitis A & B Vaccination Gratis Sites (sources of free Hep A & B Vaccine) on Staten Island
  • Federally Qualified Health Center on Staten Island
    • Community Health Center of Richmond at 235 Port Richmond Ave
      • How can we help guide, build capacity or provide technical assistance to be able to treat mono-infected HBV/HCV patients?
  • Public Health Insurance on Staten Island: Issues & Concerns

African Hep B & C Outreach on Staten Island

Advocacy Update

Closing & Next Meeting Planning

  • Next meeting: October 30th
    • If you have agenda items you would like to add for the next meeting, please contact Nirah (njohnso2@health.nyc.gov)
  • Planning a Hep B & C  Staten Island Training for Community Based Organizations. Please think about When & Where would be best for your organization and make suggestions to: njohnso2@health.nyc.gov

Other Notes

  • HCV Advocate awareness materials. Print copies from webpage or order pamphlets/brochures at: http://www.hcvadvocate.org/hepatitis/materials.asp

In Attendance:

Steve Loggins (Kimthankful@aol.com); Miryah Morris (miryah_morris@vrtx.com); Mary O’Connor (Mary_O’Connor@siuh.edu); Saba Bekele, Testing (sabab@africanservices.org); Sharon Jensen (Sharon.Jensen@chasiny.org); Denise Egan (DEgan@orasure.com); Pam I. Pitts (ppitts@orasure.com); Nicole Bannister (nbannister@health.nyc.gov); Greg Romen (greg@livercare.org); Barbara Sullivan,  Associate Director of Data Management (Barbara.Sullivan@chasiny.org); Ronald Francois (rfrancois@orasure.com); Israel Rivera, CHASI (718) 808-1444;  Nirah Johnson <njohnso2@health.nyc.gov>; Joshua Sippen, Health Education & Prevention Director  (joshua.sippen@chasiny.org)

Tags:

©2021 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?