CHIPO-NYC Committee Meeting Highlights | 1-27-21

Presentation 

Community resources and social services for low-income, uninsured, and underinsured individuals in New York City
Shanaz Hosein, HITE Program Manager, shosein@gnyha.org

  • Hite provides 6,000 free or low-cost services resources in New York City, Long Island, and Westchester: Employment and Education, Financial Assistance, Food Assistance, HealthCare and Medicine, Housing and Homeless Services, Immigrant Support, Mental Health and Substance Use, Social Supports and Services, Youth and Family Services, Hotlines
  • Learn more about HITE
  • View Presentation here

Discussion

  • Ideas for CHIPO-NYC 2021 strategy/elimination plan and how can we address it as partners?
    • Provide the African community with credible information on frequently used platforms like WhatsApp and radio stations
  • What resources or support can CHIPO-NYC provide for your community to increase Hep B awareness and screening?
    • Barriers: difficulty using technology among the elderly immigrant community (difficulty maintaining internet connection, difficulty navigating smartphones, unable to use video conference platforms for virtual meetings)
    • Solutions: offer language line services; involve navigators or IT to assist clients on how to navigate or troubleshoot any issues before their appointments; call clients over the phone instead of using telehealth visits
  • How can we address the mistrust and barriers to COVID-19 vaccine in the African community in NYC and how can we make them feel safer to get vaccinated and attend their Hep B and C appointments?
    • Providing resources or materials for clients to give them confidence about getting vaccinated
    • Having community leaders from trusted sources from the community. Leaders from churches and mosques present and offer credible information and materials for those who aren’t confident in the information given to them by their PCP or news outlets
    • Keep the African community informed about vaccine misinformation circulating on messaging and social media platforms
    • Connecting clients to healthcare providers who are culturally competent and sensitive to the African community
    • Representation matters — putting emphasis on the fact that there are people within the African community who are getting vaccinated and providing the facts to encourage others

In Attendance

  1. Adeeba Khan, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, akhan8@health.nyc.gov
  2. Beatrice Zovich, Hep B Foundation, zovich@hepb.org
  3. Clotilde Monguya, African Hope Committee, monguyamd@gmail.com
  4. Danait Yemane, African Services Committee, danaity@africanservices.org
  5. Daouda Ndiaye, African Services Committee, daoudan@africanservices.org
  6. Evelyn Botwe, National Black Leadership Commission on Health, ebotwe@nblca.org
  7. Farma Pene, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, fpene@health.nyc.gov
  8. Kim Nichols, African Services Committee, kimn@africanservices.org
  9. Nadine Kela-Murphy, NYC Department of Health, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
  10. Lia Alleyne, NYC Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene, lalleyne@health.nyc.gov
  11. Lina Cherfas, Viral Hepatitis Community Partner, lina@agoodquestion.net
  12. Halimatou Konte, African Services Committee, halimatouk@africanservices.org
  13. Joyce Bwenyi, MOUNT SINAI HOSPITAL, joyce.bwenyi@mssm.edu
  14. Nirah Johnson, NYC Department of Health, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  15. Nyashadzashe Makoni, Mount Sinai, nyashadzashe.makoni@mountsinai.org
  16. Olorunseun O. Ogunwobi, CUNY – Hunter College, ogunwobi@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu
  17. Sarah Ahmed, NYC Department of Health, sahmed10@health.nyc.gov
  18. Shanaz Hosein, Greater New York Hospital Association, SHosein@GNYHA.org
  19. Umaima Khatun, NYC Department of Health, ukhatun@health.nyc.gov
Tags:

©2021 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?