Final HIV/HCV Treatment Access Committee Meeting

July 25, 2019 10am – 12pm
NYC Health Department, Rm 14-31,
42-09 28th Street; Queens, NY 11101

Presentations

NYC Health Department Project SUCCEED Evaluation Report
Amber J Casey, MPH
Deputy Director Care & Treatment Program/Project SUCCEED Director, Bureau of HIV/AIDS Prevention & Control, acasey@health.nyc.gov
View presentation here.

Sustainability Plan:

  • Create annual HIV and HCV surveillance data match and dashboards
  • Continue clinical practice facilitation, training and direct outreach interventions
  • Develop and disseminate a HCV Elimination in PLWH Toolkit
  • Provide training in data-to-care approach through CDC HIV CBA infrastructure, NASTAD, and in collaboration with AETC

Sustainability Plan Presentation –

Institute for Advanced Medicine Mount Sinai West and St Luke’s Hospitals
Cherry Jones, MA – Hepatitis C Project Coordinator, Cherry.Jones@mountsinai.org
Jill E. Pace, MPH, DrPH – Director of Care and Treatment Programs, Jill.Pace@mountsinai.org
View presentation here.

Activities to be Continued:

  • HCV screening through providers and prevention team efforts
  • Targeted outreach activities utilizing lists of untreated patients
  • HCV Care Coordination programs

Newly identified activities through Project SUCCEED:

  • Identify and retain clinical champions
  • Develop new community relationships
  • Implement process flow exercise

Project Updates – Remaining Intervention Sites

Bright Point Health
Lettice Maldonado, MPA, CASAC-T, Assistant Director, Business Operations, lmaldonado@brightpointhealth.org
Mary Correa, MSSenior Director, Grant Programs, mcorrea@brightpointhealth.org
View presentation here.

  • Regular review of electronic health record HCV query report
  • Increase staff capacity to outreach and link HCV patients to care
  • Continue HCV Treatment Education and best practices

BronxCare Health System
Courtney Dower, MBA – Program Manager, CDower@bronxleb.org

  • Identification of targeted group
  • Increase completion of treatment/cure
  • Increase screening rate

Housing Works Community Healthcare
Gillian Saunders – Director of Healthcare Compliance and Special Projects, g.saunders@housingworks.org
Brian Hennessey –  PrEP Coordinator, b.hennessey@housingworks.org
View presentation here.

  • Increase HCV screening for individuals at risk
  • Increase the number of individuals referred for treatment from the internal agency
  • Decrease the number of untreated patients

New York Presbyterian Hospital / Columbia University Medical Center
Rachel Mathu, MPH – Data Coordinator, Comprehensive Health Program, ram9156@nyp.org
View presentation here.

  • Conduct staff trainings to enhance participation and interdisciplinary care coordination discussions at Clinical Care Team (CCT) meetings
  • Develop care coordination monitoring tool for tracking patient outreach outcomes for co-infected patients including those LTFU
  • Improve data analytics for HIV/HCV co-infected population in the patient panels

Resources Discussed During Meeting

Thank you Project SUCCEED Intervention Sites!

Health Centers:
Brightpoint Health
Callen-Lorde
Housing Works
Ryan-Chelsea Clinton

Hospitals: 
BronxCare Health System
Mount Sinai, Clinics: St. Luke’s, West, and Peter Krueger
New York Presbyterian/Columbia University
St. Barnabas

 

Upcoming Trainings

NYC Health Department Trainings: www.nychealthtraining.org/training

Intro to Viral Hepatitis, August 6, 2019 (9am – 1pm)

Hepatitis C Patient Navigation, August 26, 2019 (9am  – 5pm)

Hep C Rapid Testing, September 10, 2019 (9am – 1pm)

 

Community Training

HepCure: Bi-monthly tele-education series. www.HepCure.org. Tuesdays (4:30 – 5:30 pm)

Empire Liver Foundation: CME Clinical Provider Trainings offered regularly via live webinar;

to learn more, contact: megchappell@empireliverfoundation.org

 

Additional resources available at www.hepfree.nyc/projectsucceed

In Attendance:

1. Alexis Brenes, NYCDOHMH – Viral Hepatitis Program, Health Care Access Specialist,abrenes@health.nyc.gov
2. Amber Casey, NYCDOHMH – Care & Treatment Program, Deputy Director/Project SUCCEED Director,acasey@health.nyc.gov
3. Ann Winters, NYCDOHMH – Viral Hepatitis Program, Medical Director,awinters@health.nyc.gov
4. Brian Hennessey, Housing Works, PrEP Coordinator ,b.hennessey@housingworks.org
5. Chelsea Amato, NYCDOHMH – Alcohol, Drug Prev & Treatment, Harm Reduction Specialist,camato@health.nyc.gov
6. Cherry Jones, Mount Sinai St. Luke’s and West ,Program Coordinator,Cherry.jones@mountsinai.org
7. Courtney Dower, Bronx Care, Program Manager,cdower@bronxcare.org
8. Daniel Castellanos, Hispanic AIDS Forum, Director of Programs,dcastellanos@hafnyc.org
9. Fernandi Valerio, Community Healthcare Network, Check Hep C Navigator,fvalerio@chnnyc.org
10. Gail Brown, COPE, Director of Advocacy,gbrown.cope@gmail.com
11. Gil A. Cerpa, Praxis Housing Initiatives, Hep C Coordinator/ Patient Navigator,gacerpa@praxishousing.org
12. Gillian Saunders, Housing Works, Director of Healthcare Compliance and Special Projects,g.Saunders@housingworks.org
13. Jessie Schwartz, NYCDOHMH – Viral Hepatitis Program, Clinical Coordinator,jschwartz2@health.nyc.gov
14. Jill Pace , IAM, Director, Care and Treatment Programs ,jill.pace@mountsinai.org
15. Kelly Huang, NYCDOHMH – Viral Hepatitis Program, Data Manager,yhuang5@health.nyc.gov
16. Lettice Maldonado, Brightpoint Health, Assistant Director,lmaldonado@brightpointhealth.org
17. Luis Mares, Latino Commission on AIDS, Director of Community Mobilization Programs,Lmares@latinoaids.org
18. Luis R. Perez, AIDS Healthcare Foundation, Pharmacy Specialist,luis.r.perez@aidshealth.org
19. MaNtsetse Kgama, NYCDOHMH – Viral Hepatitis Program, Project Manager,mkgama1@health.nyc.gov
20. Mary Correa, Brightpoint Health Sr. Director, Grant Programs,mcorrea@brightpointhealth.org
21. Natalie Octave, NYCDOHMH – Viral Hepatitis Program, Project Coordinator,nocatave@health.nyc.gov
22. Rachel Mathu, New York – Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia University Medical Center, Data Coordinator, ram9156@nyp.org
23. Sarah Usher, Brightpoint Health, HCV Program Coordinator,susher@brightpointhealth.org

©2019 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit Design QuikSite®

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending
or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?