NY Hep C Telemedicine Workgroup – Meeting Notes

Thursday October 15, 2020 (10 – 11 AM) via Webinar

In attendance at this meeting: See below notes

Next Meeting: Thursday, November 19 – 10:00AM

Workgroup Chair: Andrew Talal, MD, University at Buffalo, ahtalal@buffalo.edu

Workgroup goals: Short term: Identify, assess, document and disseminate current strategies and opportunities to provide hepatitis C treatment in substance use treatment facilities, via telemedicine. Long-term: Develop a NYS Telehealth network to provide a forum for ongoing learning and sharing of best practices to promote hepatitis B and C care and treatment through telehealth.

Meeting Notes

Hepatitis C Telemedicine Implementation Guide

Andrew Talal, MD – ahtalal@buffalo.edu

Update on recommendation letter to OASAS, Medicaid & NYS Governor

  • Letter will be emailed and mailed to Governor, OASAS Medical Director and NYS Medicaid Medical Director

Study: Physicians’ Experiences with telehealth in treating Hep C patients during COVID-19 pandemic

Pruthvi Patel, MD – pruthvi.patel@mountsinai.org

  • Dr. Patel is finalizing the survey

Policy Updates

  • CMS Press release on telehealth services
  • Reduced requirements for NYS Medicaid Hep C medication: removal of prior authorization requirement effective October 8 for FFS. It will take longer to take effect across managed care plans.

Upcoming webinar:

  • HepCure webinar Oct 27 @ 4:30 on HCV Screening & Treatment in NYS OASAS Certified Treatment Programs – if you do not receive HepCure emails & would like to please email hepcure@mountsinai.org

Resources:

Attendance

  1. Alvin Chu, MA, MPH, START Treatment and Recovery Centers, achu@startny.org
  2. Andrew Talal, MD, SUNY Research Foundation, ahtalal@buffalo.edu
  3. Anthony McLeod, START Treatment and Recovery Centers, amcleod@startny.org
  4. Arpan Dharia, SUNY, adharia@buffalo.edu
  5. Arslan Mohamed, amohamed1@health.nyc.gov
  6. Colleen Flanigan, RN, NYS DOH, colleen.flanigan@health.ny.gov
  7. Daanish Shaikh, START Treatment and Recovery Centers, dshaikh@startny.org
  8. Dan Shappee, AbbVie, Daniel.shappee@abbvie.com
  9. Darlene Meyer, SUNY, dkmeyer@buffalo.edu
  10. David Cushman, Gilead, david.cushman@gilead.com
  11. Debra Farron, Gilead Science, debra.farron@gilead.com
  12. Doienne Saab, NYCDOHMH, dsaab@health.nyc.gov
  13. Ese Oghenejobo, NYCDOHMH, ese.oghenejobo@health.ny.gov
  14. Jeff Weiss, REACH, jeffrey.weiss@mountsinai.org
  15. Jessie Schwartz, NYCDOHMH, jschwartz2@health.nyc.gov
  16. Kathleen Davis, University of Rochester Medical Center, Kathleen_davis@urmc.rochester.edu
  17. Katy Cook, AHI, kcook@ahihealth.org
  18. Kelly Ramsey, NYSOASAS, kelly.ramsey@oasas.ny.gov
  19. Marc Badura, SUNY, mbadura@buffalo.edu
  20. Mavis Bailey, START Treatment and Recovery Centers, mbailey@startny.org
  21. Meg Chappell, MPH, Empire Liver Foundation, megchapell@empireliverfoundation.org
  22. Nadine Kela-Murphy, MPH, NYC DOHMH, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
  23. Nirah Johnson, LCSW, NYC DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  24. Rebecca LaMarca, START Treatment and Recovery Centers, rlamarca@startny.org
  25. Sandeep Krishnan, MedTech, sandeep.krishnan@medtecintl.com
Tags:

©2020 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?