Hep C Task Force Meeting Highlights | 09-25-2019

September 25th (3- 5PM) American Cancer Society: 132 W 32nd St, Manhattan
In Attendance: See Below

Viral Hepatitis Initiative Champions Recognition  List of awardees here

Presentations

Pilot Study: Feasibility of Hepatitis C RNA Diagnostic Testing via Dried Blood Spot in Non-Clinical Settings in NYS
Tracey Knickerbocker, MA, and Melissa Frisbie, MPH, NYS HCV Rapid Testing Program Coordinators, NYS Health Department – tracey.knickerbocker@health.ny.gov and melissa.frisbie@health.ny.gov

  • View full presentations here.

NYC Dry Blood Spot Testing Pilot Site Experience: Mount Sinai Respectful & Equitable Access to Comprehensive Healthcare (REACH) Program
Farah Riazi, Outreach Coordinator – farah.riazi@mountsinai.org

  • The REACH Program implemented the Dried Blood Spot testing for Hep C RNA in late 2018 and found that they were able to considerably expand their testing capacity. Dry Blood Spot testing allowed testing of participants with veins that are difficult to access and allowed the team to provide discreet testing services while conducting outreach in the community because a phlebotomist is not needed.
  • Challenges included: transportation of samples due to the bulkiness of the transportation boxes and collecting blood samples during the winter months (hand warmers and hand sanitizers improved blood flow).

NYC Hep C Test Training Resources
Irma Kocer, CDC Public Health Advisor, NYC Health Department –  ikocer@health.nyc.gov
Marie Bresnahan, Director, Training, Policy and Administration, NYC Health Department –  mbresnahan@health.nyc.gov

Recruiting Participants for Paid Research Study

Reducing Drinking in HIV and Hep C Patients –  Jennifer C. Elliott, PhD, NYS Psychiatric Institute – Jennifer.Elliott@nyspi.columbia.edu

  • View presentation here.

Policy and Advocacy

Annette Gaudino, State & Local Policy Director, Treatment Action Group –  annette.gaudino@treatmentactiongroup.org

  • NYC Council has introduced a new bill: Eliminating Viral Hepatitis in NYC (Int 1703-2019). The proposed legislation would require that the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene develop a plan to eliminate viral hepatitis in New York City by the year 2030.
  • Bronx Hep C Town Hall: What is New York doing to end Hep C? @ Argus Community Center, October 18  (3 – 5 PM).
  • City Council Viral Hepatitis Initiative Update, the advocacy leads for each program for FY 21 will be: 
    • Overall Lead: Reed Vreeland, Director of NYC Community Mobilization, Housing Works – r.vreeland@housingworks.org
    • Check Hep C: Courtney Dower, Program Manager, Dept. of Family Medicine, BronxCare – cdower@bronxleb.org
    • Hep C Peer Program: Mike Selick, Hep C Training & Policy Manager, Harm Reduction Coalition – selick@harmreduction.org
    • Empire Liver Foundation (ELF): Joy Cambe, Program Coordinator, ELF – joycambe@empireliverfoundation.org
    • Hepatitis C Mentoring and Support Group (HCMSG): Ronni Marks, Founder, HCMSG – ronnimarks24@gmail.com

 

Committee Updates

 

Coalition against Hepatitis in People of African Origin (CHIPO) – Farma Pene, NYC Health Department – fpene@health.nyc.gov

  • Contact us if you know of any events or organizations where we can hold a Hep B or C screening or education event that would target the African community.

Communications – Shanaz Hosein, American Liver Foundation – SHosein@liverfoundation.org

In Attendance:
    1. Alexis Brenes Health Care Access Specialist DOHMH abrenes@health.nyc.gov
    2. Annette Gaudino HCV Project Co-Director Treatment Action Group annette.gaudino@treatmentactiongroup.org
    3. Brian Hennessey PREP Coordinator Housingworks b.hennessey@housingworks.org
    4. Bruce Glazer Account Executive AbbVie bruce.glazer@abbvie.com
    5. Charu Malhotra Verma VHP Intern DOHMH cverma@health.nyc.gov
    6. Courtney Dower Program Manager Bronx-Lebanon Family Medicine cdower@bronxleb.org
    7. Daniela Sanclemente Patient Navigator Elmhurst Hospital sanclemd@nychhc.org
    8. Farah Riazi Outreach Coordinator Mount Sinai farah.riazi@mountsinai.org
    9. Farma Pene Health Care Access Specialist DOHMH fpene@health.nyc.gov
    10. Fernando Valerio Check Hep C Patient Navigator Community Health Care Networks fvalerio@chnnyc.org
    11. Gillian Saunders Director of Healthcare Compliance and Special Projects Housing Works G.Saunders@housingworks.org
    12. Gregory Barber HCV Peer Educator Montefiore Medical Center – DOSA – Help C Program
    13. Jaylean Jones Hep C navigator Family Services Network jjones@fsnny.org
    14. Jennifer Elliott Research New York State Psychiatric Institute & Columbia University Department of Psychiatry
    15. Jielei Li Viral Hepatitis Program Intern DOHMH jli10@health.nyc.gov
    16. Joy Cambe Program Coordinator Empire Liver Foundation joycambe@empireliverfoundation.org
    17. Justin Chan Infectious Disease physician, Clinician Educator Correctional Health Services, NYC Health + Hospitals chanj15@nychhc.org
    18. Kyle Hwand Care Coordinator APICHA khwang@apicha.org
    19. Liz Tang Health Care Access Specialist DOHMH ltang@health.nyc.gov
    20. Louie Jones Peer Navigator New York Harm Reduction Educators ljones@nyhre.org
    21. Lucy Vega Check Hep C Patient Navigator Bedford Stuyvesant Family Health Center Lvega@bsfhc.org
    22. Luis Perez Pharmacy Specialist/Advocate AIDS Healthcare Foundation luis.r.perez@aidshealth.org
    23. Luisa Mareo Patient Navigator luisa.martelo@nychhc.org
    24. Mahnoor Ali Research New York State Psychiatric Institute & Columbia University Department of Psychiatry
    25. Mahnoor.Ali@nyspi.columbia.edu
    26. Makeda Bryan Patient Navigator Brownsville Multiservice Family Health Center mbryan@bmsfhc.org
    27. Marie Bresnahan Project Director DOHMH-Viral Hepatitis mbresnahan@health.nyc.gov
    28. Martha Gohlke Lead HCV Screening and Linkage to Care NYS DOH martha.gohlke@health.nyc.gov
    29. Mary Correa Senior Director Grant Programs mcorrea@brightpointhealth.org
    30. Maura Lash NYC DOHMH mlash@health.nyc.gov
    31. Medesa Garrett HCV Coordinator Brightpoint Health mgarrett@brightpointhealth.org
    32. Melinda Smith Assistant Research Coordinator Weill Cornell Medical Center mjs4001@med.cornell.edu
    33. Melissa Frisbie NYS DOH melissa.frisbie@health.ny.gov
    34. Nadine Kela-Murphy Practice Transformation Specialist DOHMH nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
    35. Nicolette Fitzgibbon Hep C Care Coordinator Montefiore Medical Center nfitzgibbo@montefiore.org
    36. Nirah Johnson Director of Program Implementation & Capacity Building DOHMH njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
    37. Oluwatoyin Erinle, MD|MPH Program Coordinator, Hepatitis Bronx Care Health System Oerinle@bronxleb.org
    38. Perla Romero Harm Reduction Coordinator The Alliance for Positive Change – Lower East Side Harm Reduction Center Perla@alliance.nyc
    39. Rahel Yosief Patient Navigator BOOM!Health ryosief@boomhealth.org
    40. Reed Vreeland Director of NYC Community Mobilization Housing Works r.vreeland@housingworks.org
    41. Rosy Mota Director of Community Health Education Latino Commission on AIDS rmota@latinoaids.org
    42. Samantha Brandspiegel Health Educator Mount Sinai Samantha.brandspiegel@mountsinai.org
    43. Sarah Ahmed Communications and Community Engagement Coordinator DOHMH sahmed10@health.nyc.gov
    44. Sarah Usher Linkage to care specialist Brightpoint Health susher@brightpointhealth.org
    45. Sheila Reynoso Montefiore Medical Center sreynoso@montefiore.org
    46. Tracey Knickerbocker NYS DOH tracey.knickerbocker@health.ny.gov
    47. Umaima Khatun Program Coordinator DOHMH ukhatun@health.nyc.gov
    48. Vianney Aguilar CHASI vianney.arguilar@chasiny.org
    49. Yacaris De Jesus Patient Navigator Bellvue yacaris.dejesus@nychhc.org
    50. Yanting (Kelly) Huang Data Manager DOHMH-Viral Hepatitis yhuang5@health.nyc.gov

©2019 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending
or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?