May 31st (9:30-11:30 AM) 25 Victory Blvd. 3rd FloorNext Meeting Date: TBD – please stay tuned!

In attendance: see below

Meeting Highlights

Providing Viral Hepatitis Medical Care on Staten Island – Adedayo Adedeji, MD – Staten Island University Hospital ID Clinic & Private Practice

  • Treats HIV/HCV Co-infected patients in ID Clinic. Currently program not able to take mono-infected cases. Discussed critical need for improving HCV testing, early care, management & treatment.
  • Discussed need to improve reimbursement rates for providers to incentivize care in Medicaid settings.

Collaborative Development of Hepatitis C Support Group on Staten Island – Progress Report

  • Working to establish group: Ronni Marks, Support Group Leader  The Hepatitis C Mentor & Support Group, Inc.ronnimarks@nyc.rr.com
  • Group will be co-facilitated by Steve Loggins, SIUH MMTP & Mario Lamboy, Positive Health Project
  • Potential first day: July 19th – approximately 6 pm
  • When group time is confirmed, will conduct outreach through a Task Force Flyer and the Staten Island Advance: Health Happenings

Upcoming Awareness & Screening Day Planning

  • World Hepatitis Day (July 28th) – NYC Planning Facebook Page –  isha.weerasinghe@nyumc.org
  • African Refuge Annual Health Fair (Date TBD): Judy Brown, ED, Rev JLBrown@AfricanRefuge.org

Discussion of Hepatitis B & C related Needs on Staten Island brought up at first meeting

Russian Hepatitis B & C Education & Support Group in Coney Island
Last Wednesday of the Month (6:30-7:30 PM).
Kings Highway Library: 2115 Ocean Ave
Last
Facilitator: Greg Romenski – gregromen@gmail.com (718) 395-9120

Policy & Advocacy: See latest Advocacy Alerts

  • Discussed lack of access to specialized care in Staten Island – will bring to next Health Care Access & Insurance Workgroup Meeting
  • Hispanic Federation: Current Health Care Initiatives – Samantha Paz (spaz@hispanicfederation.org) Seeking patients, patient navigators/case managers and medical providers who  are willing to share health care ‘issues’ (disruptions in care and treatment, barriers to care) posed by existing prior authorization requirements and/ or coverage of prescriptions the provider recommends.
    • A.10249 (P. Rivera) / S.7632 (Hannon) will restore prescriber prevails in Medicaid for all drug classes so that health care providers will have final say when it comes to their patient’s medication regimens.
    • A.10248 (P. Rivera) / S.7384 (Hannon) requires a uniform prior authorization form in Medicaid that will enhance patient access, relieve overburdened health care providers, and allow providers more time to treat patients.

Staten Island Hepatitis Resources Identification & Dissemination Project

In Attendance:

  • Adedayo Adedeji, MD – Staten Island University Hospital (Adedayo_Adedeji@siuh.edu)
  • Barbara Sullivan, Associate Director of Data Management, Community Health Action of Staten Island (barbara.sullivan@chasiny.org)
  • Carl Furen, Program Director – Camelot of Staten Island, Inc (cferen@camelotcounseling.com)
  • Frank Winter, Health Insurance Specialist, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) – frank.winter@cms.hhs.gov
  • Greg Romenski, HCV Support Group Leader for the Russian Community (gregromen@gmail.com)
  • Greta Bushnell, Epidemiologist – DOHMH Epi Scholar
  • Ilija Zlatar (Ilija.Zlatar@gilead.com)
  • Ines Vucetic, LMSW, Manager, Health Services, Dept. of Psychiatry and Behavioral Science
    Staten Island University Hospital (Ines_Vucetic@siuh.edu)
  • Joshua Sippen, Health Education & Prevention Director (joshua.sippen@chasiny.org) CHASI
  • Mary O’Connor –  Staten Island University Hospital: HIV/HCV Treatment Clinic (Mary_O’Connor@siuh.edu)
  • Nicole Bannister, MS, MPH Candidate info@hepfree.nyc
  • Nirah Johnson, Community Projects Specialist –  Office of Viral Hepatitis Coordination – info@hepfree.nyc
  • Ronni Marks, Support Group Leader  The Hepatitis C Mentor & Support Group, Inc. ronnimarks@nyc.rr.com
  • Steve Linick – Echo Pharmacy – SLinick@Echodrx.com
  • Steve Loggins – Staten Island University Hospital MMTP – Kimthankful@aol.com
  • Tanya Brown, Health Coordinator – CD Outpatient <Tanya_Brown@siuh.edu>
  • Yuni Cha-Cardinale, Pharm.D., Medical Science Liaison, Virology – Vertex –  yuni_cardinale@vrtx.com
Tags:

©2021 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?