Hep C Task Force Meeting Highlights | 9-12-18

September 12 (3 PM – 5 PM) American Cancer Society, Manhattan
www.hepfree.nyc #HepFreeNYC #EndHepatitis
In Attendance: See Below

Presentations

Housing for Vulnerable Populations
Giovanna Novoa, Program Manager, Housing Services Unit, NYC Health Department – gnovoa@health.nyc.gov 

  • View full presentations here.
  • View Ryan White Directory here.
  • View Housing Opportunities for Persons With AIDS (HOPWA) Directory here.
  • Hep C mono-infected patients may be able to access housing services due to other co-morbid conditions, such as mental health or substance use. Resources can be found here.
Liver Cancer and Hepatitis B and C in NYC
Update from recent publication: Effect of Hepatocellular Carcinoma on Mortality Among Individuals with Hepatitis B or Hepatitis C Infection In New York City, 2001-2012.
Miranda Moore, Hepatitis Epidemiologist, Viral Hepatitis Program, NYC Health Department – mmoore3@health.nyc.gov

Policy and City Council Viral Hepatitis Initiative Funding Update

October Liver Cancer Awareness Month

  • Ideas to increase liver cancer screenings
    • Educate clinical providers and organizations where people at risk access care about the risks of liver cancer and the screening recommendations for people living with HCV
    • Develop and disseminate a liver cancer awareness screensaver clinical provider screen savers to remind them to screen for liver cancer
    • Set up EMR prompts to conduct liver cancer screenings according to recommended schedule
    • Educate patients: explain the need for ongoing liver health monitoring after Hep C cure, particularly in those with cirrhosis. Compare liver cancer screening to something familiar, like a “mammogram for the liver.” Promote liver cancer screening awarness on social media.
    • Encourage insurance companies to promote liver cancer screening as prevention
    • Associate May testing month with October liver cancer screening month
Committee Updates 
Upcoming Events

See more upcoming events on our Community Calendar

Funding
In Attendance:
  1. Alecia Charles, Hepatitis C Program Coordinator, SUNY Downstate Medical Center, alecia.charles@downstate.edu
  2. Alexis Brenes, Health Care Access Specialist DOHMH abrenes@health.nyc.gov
  3. Alison Whitney, Project Coordinator, DOHMH
  4. Andres Perez – Correa, Clinical Research Coordinatr Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai Andres.perez-correa@mssm.edu
  5. Ann Winters, Medical Director, Viral Hepatitis DOHMH awinters@health.nyc.gov
  6. Annette Gaudino, HCV Project Co-Director Treatment Action Group annette.gaudino@treatmentactiongroup.org
  7. Brian Hennessey, PREP Coordinator Housingworks b.hennessey@housingworks.org
  8. Bruce Glazer, Account Executive AbbVie bruce.glazer@abbvie.com
  9. Byron Eads, Peer Navigator Vocal NY Byrone1958@gmail.com
  10. Charu Malhotra Verma, VHP Intern DOHMH cverma@health.nyc.gov
  11. Chris Cruz, Pharmaetuical rep AbbVie chris.cruz@abbvie.com
  12. Courtney Dower, Program Manager Bronx-Lebanon Family Medicine cdower@bronxleb.org
  13. Daniel Castellanos, Director of Programs Hispanic AIDS Forum dcastellanos@hafnyc.org
  14. Danielle Cornwall, Pharmacy Specialist/Hep C Coordinator Amida Care NY dcornwall@amidacareny.org
  15. Daryin Hummel, Biological Anthropologist The Ohio State University daryin.hummel@gmail.com
  16. David Matthew, Program Manager Bed Stuy Family Health Center dmatthews@bsthc.org
  17. Debra Stewart, HIV/Hep C Navigator Kingsbrook Jewish Medical Center dstewart@kingsbrook.org
  18. Diana Diaz-Munoz, Program Coordinator (Hep C Peer/Check Hep C) DOHMH ddiazmunoz@health.nyc.gov
  19. Donna Gilmore, Physician Specialist Kings County Hospital Center donna.gilmore@nychhc.org
  20. Elisa McBratney, Program Manager REACH – Mount Sinai ellisa.mcbratney@mountsinai.org
  21. Farma Pene, Health Care Access Specialist, DOHMH, fpene@health.nyc.gov
  22. Fernando Valerio, Check Hep C Patient Navigator, Community Health Care Networks, fvalerio@chnnyc.org
  23. Frank Gomez, Hep C Peer Navigator, Montefiore Medical Center, dutch915@gmail.com
  24. Frida Abramov, Associate Director, Medical Affairs, Gilead, Frida.abramov@gilead.com
  25. Gail Brown, Policy Advocate, COPE, gbrown.cope@gmail.com
  26. Gillian Saunders, Director of Healthcare Compliance and Special Projects, Housing Works, G.Saunders@housingworks.org
  27. Ginger Wey, Medical Director, HepC treatment network, Montefiore gwey@montefiore.org
  28. Giovanna Novoa, Program Manager, DOHMH, gnovoa@health.nyc.gov
  29. Henry Chang, Global Health Consultant, Liver Health Investment Fund, henry.amsterdam@gmail.com
  30. Jackie Chen, Professor Rutgers-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School jacki0362@gmail.com
  31. Jackie Hill, Montefiore Medical Center – HCV Program, jackiehill823@icloud.com
  32. James Spellman, Associate Director, Viral Hepatitis Medical Affairs Gilead Sciences, james.spellman@gilead.com
  33. Jerry loschiavo, Rep. CVS Carmeark, Gerald.loschiavo@cvshealth.com
  34. Jessie Schwartz, Clinical Coordinator, DOHMH – Viral Hepatitis, jschwartz2@health.nyc.gov
  35. Jihaan Mutasim, Ryan White Community Coordinator, DOHMH, jmutasim@health.nyc.gov
  36. Jill Pace, Director HIV Care and Treatment, Mount Sinai jill.pace@mountsinai.org
  37. John Youhanna, Regional Medical Director, Dynavax Technologies, Jyouhanna@dynavax.com
  38. Joshua Lunior, Kings, joshua.lunior@gmail.com
  39. Joy Cambe, Program Coordinator, Empire Liver Foundation, joycambe@empireliverfoundation.org
  40. Julia Phillips, Public Health Educator/CBO Liaison, DOHMH, STD Control, jphillip@health.nyc.gov
  41. Justin Chan, Infectious Disease physician, Clinician Educator Correctional Health Services, NYC Health + Hospitals chanj15@nychhc.org
  42. Kathleen Bernock NP, Bedford Stuyvesant Family Health Center, KBernock@bsfhc.org
  43. Liz Tang, Health Care Access Specialist, DOHMH, ltang@health.nyc.gov
  44. Lucy Vega, Check Hep C Patient Navigator, Bedford Stuyvesant Family Health Center, Lvega@bsfhc.org
  45. Luis Perez, Pharmacy Specialist/Advocate, AIDS Healthcare Foundation, luis.r.perez@aidshealth.org
  46. Mantsetse Kgama, Project Manager, DOHMH-Viral Hepatitis, mkgama1@health.nyc.gov
  47. Marie Bresnahan, Project Director, DOHMH-Viral Hepatitis, mbresnahan@health.nyc.gov
  48. Mark Benn, BioPlus Specialty Pharmacy, mbenn@bioplusrx.com
  49. Melissa Pernier, Assistant Program Director, Bronxworks, mpernier@bronxworks.org
  50. Mila Gonzalez, Quality Manager, NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital, mcg9010@nyp.org
  51. Miranda Moore MPH, DOHMH – Viral Hepatitis, mmoore3@health.nyc.gov
  52. Nadine Kela-Murphy, Practice Transformation Specialist, DOHMH, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
  53. Natalia Kwon, Specialty Representative, AbbVie, natalia.kwon@gmail.com
  54. Nikki Valenti, Community Specialist, HCV, Gilead, nikki.valenti@gilead.com
  55. Nirah Johnson, Director of Program Implementation & Capacity Building, DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  56. Paul Bolter, Community Outreach/Education Manager, American Liver Foundation, pbolter@liverfoundation.org
  57. Pauline Edwards, Outreach worker/Advocate, COPE, pauline11@outlook.com
  58. Peter Chen, Program Coordinator, Kingsbrook Jewish Medical Center, PChen@kingsbrook.org
  59. Rachel Redding, Program Assistant, DOHMH, rredding@health.nyc.gov
  60. Richard Medina, Linkage to Care Specialist, The Osborne Association, rmedina@osborneny.org
  61. Romy Alvarez, Patient Navigator, Montefiore Medical Center, Roalvare@montefiore.org
  62. Ronni Marks, Founder/ED, Hepatitis C Mentor and Support group, ronnimarks24@gmail.com
  63. Sarah Ahmed, Communications and Community Engagement Coordinator, DOHMH, sahmed10@health.nyc.gov
  64. Shanaz Hosein, Hep C Prevention in Youth Intern, CUNY Brooklyn College, hoseinshanaz@gmail.com
  65. Shannon Diaz, Region Business Director, Dynavax Technologies, Shannon.diaz@sales.dynavax.com
  66. Sheila Reynoso, Montefiore Medical Center, sreynoso@montefiore.org
  67. Tatiana Vera, Health Educator/Linkage to Care Specialist, Montefiore Medical Center, tvera@montefiore.org
  68. Toya Robinson, HCV Theraputic Specialist, Gilead, Toya.Robinson@Gilead.com
  69. Emerald Cazeau, intern, Bureau of Tuberculosis Control, DOHMH, emeraldcazeau@gmail.com
  70. lecelai desquitado, intern, Bureau of Tuberculosis Control, DOHMH, ldesquitado@health.nyc.gov

©2019 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit Design QuikSite®

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending
or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?