Hep B Coalition Meeting Highlights | 06-19-19

June 19 (3 PM – 5 PM) American Cancer Society, Manhattan
In Attendance: See Below

Presentations

Hepatitis Delta, The Hidden Epidemic
Sierra Pellechio, BS, CHES, Health Outreach Coordinator, Hep B Foundation – sierra.pellechio@hepb.org

NYS Hepatitis C Elimination Plan – Background and History
Annette Gaudino, HIV/HCV Project Co-Director, Treatment Action Group – annette.gaudino@treatmentactiongroup.org

NYC Hepatitis B Elimination Planning
  • Background: In 2018, Hep B Coalition partners sent a Letter to the Governorrequesting Hep B be included in a NYS Hepatitis Elimination Strategy. During the April 17th Hep B Coalition meeting, there was an NYC focused Hep B Elimination planning activity based on this worksheet to gain input from Hep B Coalition participants.
  • At this meeting: the group learned about the Hep C Elimination Planning process in NYS, reviewed the summary of elimination activities recommended by Hep B Coalition meeting participants here.
  • Next steps: integrate content above and draft a brief report for Coalition review.
Policy and Advocacy Updates

Local

National

  • Res. 331/ S. Res. 177 – Adult HBV Vaccination Awareness Day ResolutionExpressing support for the designation of April 30 as “National Adult Hepatitis B Vaccination Awareness Day”.- 10 co-sponsors in the House – see list; 1 co-sponsor in the Senate – see list
  • H.R. 3016 – the LIVER ActTo amend the Public Health Service Act to provide for and support liver illness visibility, education, and research, and for other purposes; 9 cosponsors – see list
Committee Updates 

Hep B Patient Needed to Speak at NYS Immunization Meetings

New York State (NYS) Association of County Health Officials, along New York State and Local with health departments, are coordinating six regional adult immunization coalition meetings across NYS. They are looking for a Hepatitis B advocate who can speak how Hepatitis B impacted their life and advocate for adult vaccination. For more information and how to sign up, click here.
Upcoming Events
Funding
In Attendance:
  1. Amy Tang Hep B Medical Director Charles B Wang Community Health Center astang@cbwchc.org
  2. Ann Winters Medical Director, Viral Hepatitis DOHMH awinters@health.nyc.gov
  3. Annette Gaudino HCV Project Co-Director Treatment Action Group annette.gaudino@treatmentactiongroup.org
  4. Christina Boynes Community Health Worker Bronx Lebanon cboynes@bronxleb.org
  5. Daniel Castellanos Director of Programs Hispanic AIDS Forum dcastellanos@hafnyc.org
  6. Deborah Min Project Coordinator NYU Center for Study Asian American Health deborah.min@nyulangone.org
  7. Dennis Robinson Specialty Pharmacy Account Executuve Acaria health William.robinson@acariahealth.com
  8. Dilnora Azimova Intern DOHMH dazimova@health.nyc.gov
  9. Edward Wake Adult Immunization DOHMH-Immunization ewake@health.nyc.gov
  10. Emmanuel Emeasoba Montifiore-Starfish Program emmanuelemeasoba@gmail.com
  11. Farma Pene Health Care Access Specialist DOHMH fpene@health.nyc.gov
  12. Frank Winter External Affairs Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services frank.winter@cms.hhs.gov
  13. Frida Abramov Associate Director, Medical Affairs Gilead Frida.abramov@gilead.com
  14. Halimatou Konte Hepatitis Coordinator African Services Committee halimatouk@africanservices.org
  15. Henry Chang Global Health Consultant Liver Health Investment Fund henry.amsterdam@gmail.com
  16. Janice Lyu Hep B Program Associate Charles B Wang Community Health Center jlyu@cbwchc.org
  17. Joy Cambe Program Coordinator Empire Liver Foundation joycambe@empireliverfoundation.org
  18. Kathryn Styer HBV Therapeutic Specialist Gilead kathryn.styer@gilead.com
  19. Liz Tang Health Care Access Specialist DOHMH ltang@health.nyc.gov
  20. Lucy Kingangi CDC PHAP Intern DOHMH lkingangi@health.nyc.gov
  21. Mary Chiang Hep B Patient Navigator Charles B Wang Community Health Center mchiang@cbwchc.org
  22. Nirah Johnson Director of Capacity Building DOHMH njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  23. Nyasha Malconi Hone Coordinator nyashadzashe.makoni@mountsinai.org
  24. Okhyun Ko Project Coordinator Korean Community Service oko@kcsny.org
  25. Paul Bolter Community Outreach/Education Manager American Liver Foundation pbolter@liverfoundation.org
  26. Paul Lee project coordinator kcs KCS Health <health@kcsny.org>
  27. Paula Wong Educational Outreach Director H+EAL paula.w.wong@gmail.com
  28. Sarah Ahmed Communications and Community Engagement Coordinator DOHMH sahmed10@health.nyc.gov
  29. Shannon Diaz Region Business Director Dynavax Technologies Shannon.diaz@sales.dynavax.com
  30. Umaima Khatun Program Coordinator DOHMH ukhatun@health.nyc.gov
  31. Victoria Foster Program Manager NYU Center for Study Asian American Health Victoria.Foster@nyulangone.org
  32. Yanting (Kelly) Huang Data Manager DOHMH-Viral Hepatitis yhuang5@health.nyc.gov

©2019 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit Design QuikSite®

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending
or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?