CHIPO-NYC Committee Notes

November 7th (3 PM – 5 PM)
African Services Committee: 429 W. 127th Street
www.hepfree.nyc/africa/
www.chipo.org
In Attendance: See Below

Evaluation of 2018 and Discussion for 2019

Accomplishment 2018

  • CHASI is funded for Hep B outreach and navigation in the African Community in Staten Island
  • Montefiore and African Service Community City Council Funding increased
  • Hep B Pocket card
  • Collaborated to plan and publicize free screening events

Successful and Increase in vaccination

  • Apply for funding to provide
    • Onsite vaccination
    • Incentives for vaccines follow up
  • Reach out to contacts through positive patients
  • Refer from DOH Hep B care and vaccines site locator, click here
  • Refer to Aids Healthcare Foundation Healthcare Centers for vaccines and care https://locations.aidshealth.org/

Collaboration for testing and education 2019

  • Invite community leaders and organizations to CHIPO-NYC meetings
  • Make connections and partnership to help spread awareness in native languages
  • Mount Sinai, Hone program may soon be able to provide hep B education
  • Commemorate hepatitis awareness days:
    • May Hepatitis Awareness Month
    • World Hepatitis Day
    • African Immigrant Hepatitis Day
  • Supporting other organizations/partners’ events
    • Share the event with Farma to post to calendar
    • Share with CHIPO to share on social media and other media
  • Sharing each other’s resources
  • Sharing each other’s announcements
Presentations

Public Charge Comments Amanda Lugg, Director of Advocacy, ASC, amandal@africanservices.org

  • Deadline to submit comments on the proposed public charge rule is December 10, 2018.
    • The goal is to submit 100,000 comments in opposition to the proposed rule.
    • There are about 68,000 comments so far according to the Protect Immigrant Families Campaign
  • How to comment: You can submit comments at
    • org
    • gov DHS Docket No. USCIS-2010-0012-0001.
      • To upload files, click “submit a comment” and scroll past the text box and click “upload files.”

Case Presentation – Christina Boynes, Hep B patient navigator, Bronx Lebanon Hospital.

Recourses

Upcoming Events

  • NYC Hep B Coalition Meeting – December 12th (3 -5pm) at American Cancer Society – 132 W 32nd St, New York, NY 10001.
  • Training | Intro to Viral Hep @ NYC Health Dept – December 17th (9 – 1pm)
  • National CHIPO Call – Email Chari Cohen at chari.cohen@hepb.org to Join
  • Next CHIPO-NYC meeting – February 6th (3-5pm) at African Services Committee 429 W. 127th Street 4th floor.

CHIPO is a coalition of organizations and individuals interested in addressing the high rates of hepatitis B and C infections among African communities in the U.S. Our goal is to bring together NYC organizations, services providers and advocates who are dedicated to ending hepatitis B and C in African communities throughout the city.

All Attendance:

  1. Amanda Lugg, Director of Advocacy, ASC, amandal@africanservices.org
  2. Christina Boynes, Patient Navigator, Bronx Lebanon Hospital, Cboynes@bronxleb.org
  3. Daouda Ndiaye, Hep B Navigator, ASC, daoudan@africanservices.org
  4. Djeneba kone, HONE Outreach Coordinator, Mount Sinai, kone@mssm.edu
  5. Farma Pene, HCAS, Meeting Organizer, DOHMH,fpene@health.nyc.gov
  6. Halimatou Konte, Testing Center Coordinator, ASC, halimatouk@africanservices.org
  7. Jerry Loschiavo, Specialty Pharmacy Account Executive, CVS Specialty Pharmacy, loschiavo@cvshealth.com
  8. Kim Nichols, Co-Executive Director, ASC, kimn@africanservices.org
  9. Luis R. Perez, Pharmacy rep, AHF, r.perez@aidshealth.org
  10. MaNtsetse Kgama, Project Manager, Project SUCCEED, DOHMH, mkgama1@health.nyc.gov
  11. Mulusew Bekele, Director of Program Operations, ASC, mulusewb@africanservices.org
  12. Nadine Kela-Murphy, Practice Transformation Specialist, DOHMH, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
  13. Sarah Ahmed, Community Organizing & Training Coordinator, DOHMH, sahmed10@health.nyc.gov

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending

©2018 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit Design QuikSite®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?