Hep Free NYC Research Committee Meeting Highlights

12-16-2020 (3 – 4:30 PM EST) via Zoom

In attendance: See below

Hep Free NYC Research Committee Goal: Create a network and foster collaboration among NYC hepatitis focused researchers.

Committee Chairs: Ben Eckhardt, MD, NYU and Bellevue – Benjamin.Eckhardt@nyulangone.org & Shashi Kapadia, MD, Cornell – shk9078@med.cornell.edu

Hep Free NYC Research Committee Webpage and community research board for recruiting for studies or jobs.
Please share any suggestions and share with those interested in posting/utilizing.

NYC Viral Hep Elimination Project Update

  • Hepatitis Report 2019 (pg. 7) using latest surveillance data on how we compare to WHO standards. Made for reference purposes not to serve as elimination plan.
  • Community review to provide feedback and guidance that can help the Elimination Project.

Links & Resources Mentioned

In attendance:

  1. Benjamin Eckhardt, MD, NYU and Bellevue -Benjamin.Eckhardt@nyulangone.org
  2. Brianna Norton, MD, Montefiore – bnorton@montefiore.org
  3. Grace Kim, MPH, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene- gkim@health.nyc.gov
  4. Jeff Weiss, PhD, Mount Sinai – Weiss@mountsinai.org
  5. Jessie Schwartz, RN, MPH, Health Department – jschwartz2@health.nyc.gov
  6. Justin Chan, MD, H+H Correctional Health – chanj15@nychhc.org
  7. Lina Cherfas, MS, Evaluation Consultant – lina@agoodquestion.net
  8. Nirah Johnson, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene – njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  9. Olorunseun Ogunwobi, MD, PhD, CUNY Center for Health Disparity Research – Ogunwobi@GENECTR.HUNTER.CUNY.EDU
  10. Pruthvi Patel, Empire Liver Foundation – patel@mountsinai.org
  11. Pedro Mateu-Gelabert, PhD, CUNY – mateu-gelabert@sph.cuny.edu
  12. Shashi N Kapadia, MD, Cornell – shk9078@med.cornell.edu
  13. Sheila Vakharia, PhD, LMSW, Drug Policy Alliance – svakharia@drugpolicy.org

If interested in sharing or joining hepatitis research projects, please email info@hepfree.nyc and we will connect you.

Last Updated on January 13, 2021 by HepFree NYC

Tags:

©2021 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?