HIV/HCV Treatment Access Committee Notes

March 15th (10 AM – Noon)
NYC Department of Health, Long Island City,
In Attendance: See Below

Project SUCCEED: Eliminating Hep C in PLWH in NYC – Updates

Project Succeed Progress Graphic:

HCV Clinical Provider Training:

  • Recruit and encourage ELF participants to refer colleagues to training
  • Offer more advanced topics for experienced providers –
    • Currently available NYC clinical training opportunities
    • SUCCEED will investigate AETC has course offerings on more advanced topics
  • Promote the HIV/HCV and treatment in substance use and mental health modules as stand-alone trainings.
  • TX guidelines have changed for HIV/HCV and PWUD

How can we increase the percentage of providers who believe all people- including Special Populations- can be treated for Hep C?

  • Emphasize the benefits of newer medications that have less treatment restrictions
  • Emphasize new, less restrictive guidelines from NYS
  • Promote new treatment guidelines for HIV/HCV and PWUD.
  • Updated 2018 Hep C CHI: Diagnosing and Managing Hepatitis C
    Trainings addressing working with special populations into all ELF Sessions or earlier in cycle
  • Targeted awareness campaign

Community of Practice and Learning

Strategies for Re-engaging out of Care PLWH – HIV Field Services Unit, NYC Health Department
Nancy Kuzmyak, Public Health Advisor – nkuzmyak@health.nyc.gov
Tanzila Pervin, Public Health Advisor –  mpervin@health.nyc.gov

  • View full presentation here.

Training Manual for Treatment Advocates: Hepatitis C Virus & Coinfection with HIV
Annette Guadino, HCV/HIV Project Co-Director, Treatment Action Group – annette.gaudino@treatmentactiongroup.org

  • View full presentation here.

Announcements and Upcoming Events

Upcoming Trainings

Community Trainings

  • HepCure – Weekly Tele-education Series. Tuesdays (4:30 – 5:30 PM).
  • Empire Liver Foundation: HCV Clinical Provider Training Live Webinar Series (10 CME)
    Thursdays (4:30 – 5:30pm) March 22 – May 31
    To register contact: megchappell@empireliverfoundation.org

Curriculum
1. Pre-Treatment Assessment
2. Role of Resistance Testing
3. Overview of Fibrosis
4. Treatment by Genotype
5. Side Effects and Drug-Drug Interactions
6. Treatment of HIV and Hepatitis C Co-Infection
7. Treating People with Mental Health Conditions and Substance Use
8. Monitoring Prior, During and After Treatment
9. Management of Advanced Complicated Disease
10. Hepatitis C Medication and Prior Authorization

Additional resources available at www.hepfree.nyc/projectsucceed

In Attendance:
1. Amanda Sanchez,Tester,Access to Care, asanchez@bac-ny.org
2. Amida Castagne,Program Manager, Care & Tr,NYC DOHMH, acastagne@health.nyc.gov
3. Chelsea Amato,Harm Reduction Specialist,DOHMH BADUPCT Harm Reduction, camato@health.nyc.org
4. Cherry Jones,Program Coordinator,Mount Sinai Health System, cherry.jones@mountsinai.org
5. Febuary D’Auria,Program Coordinator,NYSDOH – AIDS Institute, Febuary.Dauria@health.ny.gov
6. Fernando Valerio,Patient Navigator,Community Health Care Networks, fvalerio@chnnyc.org
7. Gail Brown,Policy Advicate,COPE, gbrown.cope@gmail.com
8. Gil A Cerpa,Hep C Coordinator,Praxis Housing Initiatives Inc., gacerpa@PRAXISHOUSING.org
9. Giusseppe Quispe Ramos,Test Counselor/ Health Educator,Harlem United, gquispe@harlemunited.org
10. Gracine S. Lewis,Project Manager,Northeast/Caribbean AETC, gs2375@cumc.columbia.edu
11. Jennifer Irwin,Sr. Director of Programs,Mount Sinai, Jennifer.Irwin@mountsinai.org
12. Jill Pace,Director, HIV Care & Treatment,Mount Sinai, Jill.Pace@mountsinai.org
13. Jillian Estes,Care Specialist,Bridging Access to Care, jestes@bac-ny.org
14. Kinya Terry,Community Health Worker,Bronx Lebanon, KTerry@bronxleb.org
15. Leonard Pickett,Field Manager,DOHMH, Lpicket@health.nyc.gov
16. Luz Marina Aguirre,,AETC Access Program, aguirre.luzmarina@gmail.com
17. Mstn Tanzila Pervin,Public Health Adviser,DOHMH, mpervin@health.nyc.gov
18. Nancy Kuzmyak, Public Health Adviser, DOHMH, nkuzmyak@health.nyc.gov
19. Rahel Yosief, Patient Navigator, Boom!Health, ryosief@boomhealth.org
20. Reed Vreeland, Director of NYC Community Mobilization,Housing Works, R.Vreeland@housingworks.org
21. Shale Maulana,Director of New Initiatives, CHE, DOHMH, smaulana@health.nyc.gov
22. Shellyann Vassell, Assistant Coordinator, Northwell, svassell@northwell.edu
23. Yasmin Ramos, Supervising PHA, DOHMH, yramos@health.nyc.gov

Tags:

©2021 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?