Team HOPE Accomplishments

  • [fac_button icon=”facebook” name=”HOPE Facebook Page” link=”https://www.facebook.com/HepFreeHOPE” target=”_blank” color_hover=”#00b9f7″ background=”#a14693″ background_hover=”#ffffff”] Social Media Campaign – “Have Hope to End Hep C.” View photos on the HOPE Facebook Page
  • Tabling at health fairs and sharing Hep C resources
  • Presenting on Hep C in college classes
  • Screening Hep C Prevention in Youth Video at CUNY Hunter College
  • Engaging in “Show Your Face Social Media Campaign” for World Hepatitis Day

Ideas for HOPE Projects for next school year

  • Create a strategic plan for the year, with different goals.
  • Start the year with team building activities.
  • Create a high school curriculum about Hep C – 11th In the curriculum, stress how prescription medication misuse can lead to intranasal or injection drug use, which can lead to Hep C infection.
  • Outreach to high schools and present on Hep C.
  • Connect with school health at DOH.
  • Create a Hep C resource targeting young people.
  • Identify strengths of each person in group, and delegate tasks based on those strengths.
  • Organize the interns based on the college they attend.

Opportunities to screen the Hep C Prevention in Youth Video

  • Screening at Brooklyn College, other high schools, and other colleges
  • Screening events at partner organizations – Neighborhood Health Action Centers (distribute naloxone at events)
  • Health Centers – Brightpoint Health
  • Health Centers at Colleges – show the videoShow the video at naloxone trainings
  • Drop in syringe exchange programs
  • Heart to Heart – Weil Cornell (show video in waiting areas)

Hep C Prevention in Youth Video

In attendance:

Amela Paljevic, CUNY Hunter College, amela.paljevic@gmail.com
Daniel Calder, NYC Health Dept, dcalder@health.nyc.gov
Caroline Davidson, NYC Health Dept, cdavidson2@health.nyc.gov
Mitsuka Attys, CUNY Brooklyn College, mitsuka.attys@gmail.com
Pedro Mateu-Gelabert, National Development Research Institutes, mateu-gelabert@ndri.org
Prima Manandhar, CUNY Hunter College, prima.manandhar@gmail.com
Saumik Islam, CUNY Brooklyn College, saumikislam4@gmail.com

Tags:

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending

©2018 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit Design QuikSite®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?