Last Updated on

CHIPO-NYC Committee Notes

August 8th (3 PM – 5 PM)
African Services Committee: 429 W. 127th Street
www.hepfree.nyc/africa/
www.chipo.org
In Attendance: See Below

Update

  • Hep B pocket card and Hep B and C testing voucher will be updated and printed out. If interested please email Farma Pene at fpene@health.nyc.gov for number of copies (French version will be available).

Raising Awareness

  • Montefiore provides hep b education at mosques and will soon start screening at those mosques.
  • Montefiore also has ECHO clinic for their uninsured patients.
  • African Services Committee (ASC) provides free hep B and C testing at mosques as well as walk-in onsite and linkage to care services for positive Hep B and C patients.
  • Organizations should collaborate to raise awareness about hepatitis in the African community to promote increased vaccination, testing and linkage to care. Email Farma Pene at fpene@health.nyc.gov if you would like to collaborate with ASC for testing.
  • NYC Health Department is here to support; to learn more about our work in Hep B and C please visit hepfree.nyc

Public Charge Presentation – New York Immigration Coalition (See attached presentation)

  • People with Chronic Illnesses (such as Hep B or HIV) entering the country – Visit “Protecting Immigrant Families” resource page here
  • PCAP and Emergency Medicaid holders – not exempt
  • Sliding Fee Scale (H+H and FQHC) – not yet determined
  • Timeframe to discontinue benefits before the rule goes into effect – There will be an effective date for people disenroll when the rule is proposed and approved.

Resources

  • Resources to ensure health access for all (insured and uninsured) are available at hepfree.nyc/patients-public/patient-resources/special-programs/
    • Hep Cap – Hep C
    • Patient Assistance Programs (PAPs) – Hep B and C
  • Referral to care for the uninsured – H+H hospitals, Montefiore, FQHC
  • #just B (Hepatitis B Foundation) – Seeking patient and family member to tell their Hep B story. Please email Chari Cohen at chari.cohen@hepb.org for more details

Upcoming Events

  • Intro to Viral Hep Training @ NYC Health Dept. August 27th (9 – 5pm). To register, sign in or create an account (see email).
  • National African Immigrant and Refugee HIV and Hepatitis Awareness Day (NAIRHHA Day) – September 7th (10-4pm) Health Fair and Testing at ASA 121st Saint Nicholas Ave, New York, NY 10026. You are invited to promote your organization. Please RSVP
  • NYC Hep C Task Force Meeting. September 12th (3 -5pm) – 132 W 32nd St (see email).
  • NYC Hep B Coalition Meeting. September 26th (3 -5pm) 132 W 32nd St (see email).
  • African Immigrant Advisory Group – Email Chari Cohen at chari.cohen@hepb.org to join
  • National CHIPO Call – Email Chari Cohen at chari.cohen@hepb.org to join
  • Next CHIPO-NYC Meeting – October 24th (3-5pm) at African Services Committee 429 W. 127th Street. Please RSVP

CHIPO is a coalition of organizations and individuals interested in addressing the high rates of hepatitis B and C infections among African communities in the U.S. Our goal is to bring together NYC organizations, services providers and advocates who are dedicated to ending hepatitis B and C in African communities throughout the city.

In Attendance:

1. Claudia Calhoon, Director of Health Policy, The New York Immigration Coalition, ccalhoon@nyic.org
2. Christina Boynes, Patient Navigator, Bronx Lebanon Hospital, Cboynes@bronxleb.org
3. Diana Diaz Munoz , Check Hep C Program Manager, DOHMH, ddiazmunoz@health.nyc.gov
4. Emmanuel Emeasoba, MD, Montefiore Medical Center, Emmanuelemeasoba@gmail.com
5. Farma Pene, HCAS, Meeting Organizer, DOHMH, fpene@health.nyc.gov
6. Halimatou Konte, Testing Center Coordinator, ASC, halimatouk@africanservices.org
7. Hager Shawkat, Program Manager, Sauti Yetu Center for African Women and Families, hshawkat@sautiyetu.us
8. Jerry Loschiavo, Specialty Pharmacy Account Executive, CVS Specialty Pharmacy, Gerald.loschiavo@cvshealth.com
9. Liz Tang, HCAS, DOHMH, ltang@health.nyc.gov
10. Luis R. Perez, Pharmacy rep, AHF, lius.r.perez@aidshealth.org
11. MaNtsetse Kgama, Project Manager, Project SUCCEED, DOHMH, mkgama1@health.nyc.gov
12. Papa Ibrahima Sow, President of the Senegalese Association, ASA, isow86@gmail.com
13. Umaima Khatun, Check Hep B Program Manager, DOHMH, ukhatun@health.nyc.gov
14. Sarah Ahmed, Community Organizing & Training Coordinator, DOHMH, sahmed10@health.nyc.gov

Tags:

©2020 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?