NYS Hep C Telemedicine Workgroup – Meeting Notes

Friday June 19 (10 – 11 AM) via Webinar

In attendance at this meeting: See below notes

Next Meeting Dates and Times: Thursday July 16 (10-11 AM)

 

Workgroup Chair: Andrew Talal, MD, University at Buffalo, ahtalal@buffalo.edu

Workgroup goals: Short term: Identify, assess, document and disseminate current strategies and opportunities to provide hepatitis C treatment in substance use treatment facilities, via telemedicine. Long-term: Develop a NYS Telehealth network to provide a forum for ongoing learning and sharing of best practices to promote hepatitis B and C care and treatment through telehealth.

 

Meeting Notes

Managed Care: Changes in Telemedicine pre and post COVID-19

Jerry Ernst, MD | Chief Medical Officer, AmidaCare, JErnst@AmidaCareNY.org

Michael Merrill, MD | Medical Director, Independent Health, Michael.Merrill@independenthealth.com

  • See presentations here
  • A weekly phone call with a healthcare professional has been shown to improve patient satisfaction and hospital admittance rate lowers.
  • From a manage care point of view, telemedicine can reduce resource consumption and improve patient care if done with quality monitoring.
  • Access to telemedicine cuts healthcare costs.

Telemedicine implementation Discussion

  • COVID-19 has accelerated the use of telemedicine and a new policy has been implemented supporting higher reimbursement rates for telephone visits
  • There needs to be a concerted effort in reducing access issues throughout NYS
  • Efforts need to be made in closing the gaps between the care given to patients with access to audio only versus patients who have access to both audio and video

Letter to OASAS highlighting challenges with supporting HCV treatment in stand-alone substance use treatment facilities

Sara Lorenz Taki, MD, Greenwich House MMTP, staki@greenwichhouse.org 

Announcement

Governor Cuomo signed a bill on June 17 making audio and video telemedicine reimbursable under CHIP and Medicaid in NY. See announcement in Bloomberg News

 

Study Proposal – To assess HCV treatment via telemedicine implementation and outcomes during COVID

Pruthvi Patel, Mount Sinai, pruthvi.patel@mountsinai.org

 

Resources

 

In Attendance:

  1. Aisha Khan, DO, Hudson River Health Care, aikhan@hrhcare.org
  2. Alvin Chu, MA, MPH, START Treatment and Recovery Centers, achu@startny.org
  3. Andrew Reynolds, areynoldshcv@gmail.com
  4. Andrew Talal, MD, SUNY Research Foundation, ahtalal@buffalo.edu
  5. Arslan Mohamed, NYC DOHMH, amohamed1@health.nyc.gov
  6. Colleen Flanigan, RN, NYS DOH, colleen.flanigan@health.ny.gov
  7. Daanish Shaikh, START Treatment and Recovery Centers, dshaikh@startny.org
  8. Darlene Meyer, The Research Foundation for SUNY, dkmeyer@buffalo.edu
  9. Eli Camhi, Healthcare Consultant, ecamhi@generes.com
  10. Ese Oghenejobo, NYS DOH, ese.oghenejobo@health.ny.gov
  11. Jessie Schwartz, RN, MPH, NYC DOHMH, jschwartz2@health.nyc.gov
  12. Julia Hunter, Binghamton General Hospital, julia.hunter@nyuhs.org
  13. Katy Cook, AHI Health, kcook@ahihealth.org
  14. Kelly Ramsey, MD, OASAS, kelly.ramsey@oasas.ny.gov
  15. Kiara Lora, Montefiore Medical Center, kialora@montefiore.org
  16. Marc Badura, The Research Foundation for SUNY, mbadura@buffalo.edu
  17. Marie Bresnahan, MPH, NYC DOHMH, mbresnahan@health.nyc.gov
  18. Nadine Kela-Murphy, MPH, NYC DOHMH, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
  19. Nirah Johnson, LCSW, NYC DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  20. Osherbhode Ramcharan, START Treatment and Recovery Centers, oramcharan@startny.org
  21. Pruthvi Patel, Mount Sinai, pruthvi.patel@mountsinai.org
  22. Sandeep Krishnan, MBA, MS, Med Tech International, sandeep.krishnan@medtecintl.com
  23. Sara Lorenz-Taki, MD, Greenwich House, staki@greenwichhouse.org
  24. Sheila Reynoso, MPH, Montefiore Medical Center, sreynoso@montefiore.org
  25. Sonal Kumar, MD, Cornell, sok9028@med.cornell.edu
Tags:

©2020 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?