CHIPO-NYC Committee Notes

March 23rd (3 PM – 5 PM)
African Services Committee: 429 W. 127th Street
www.hepfree.nyc/africa/
www.chipo.org
In Attendance: See Below

CHIPO- NYC Update

  • View Hep B and C presentation here. Interested in presentation in French, contact Farma Pene, fpene@health.nyc.gov
  • Hep B pocket card and Hep B and C testing voucher will be available at next meeting
  • Next meeting: May 25 (3 – 5 pm) at African Services Committee 429 W. 127th Street

Funding Opportunities

  • Organizations can apply for funding through NYC Council. Learn more here.
  • Funding opportunities are listed here.
  • Have any funding opportunities? Contact Farma Pene at fpene@health.nyc.gov

Resources

  • H+H (Bellevue) and FQHCs (Bronx Lebanon and Montefiore) receive funding for Check Hep B patient navigation program and provide low cost services.
  • Resources to ensure health access for all (insured and uninsured) are available at here.
  • #justB (Hepatitis B Foundation) – Seeking patient and family member to tell their Hep B story. Please email Chari Cohen at chari.cohen@hepb.org for more details

Upcoming Events

  • Hep B Coalition Meeting – April 25th (3 -5pm) at American Cancer Society – 132 W 32nd St, New York, NY 10001
  • Annual Hep Free NYC Awareness Event – May 15th (11 – Noon), Steps of City Hall.
  • NYC Viral Hepatitis Research Symposium – May 24th (8am -4pm) at Rockefeller University, 1230 York Ave, New York, NY 10065.
  • Next CHIPO-NYC meeting – May 25th (3-5pm)at African Services Committee 429 W. 127th Street
  • African Immigrant Advisory Group – To join, email Chari Cohen, chari.cohen@hepb.org
  • National CHIPO Call – To joinn, email Chari Cohen,  chari.cohen@hepb.org

CHIPO is a coalition of organizations and individuals interested in addressing the high rates of hepatitis B and C infections among African communities in the U.S. Our goal is to bring together NYC organizations, services providers and advocates who are dedicated to ending hepatitis B and C in African communities throughout the city.

 

All Attendance:

  1. Alassane  Diop, Immigrant Affairs & Constituent Services Liaison, Manhattan Borough President Office, adiop@manhattanbp.nyc.gov
  2. Amanda Lugg, Director of Advocacy, African Services Committee, amandal@africanservices.org
  3. Chelsea Grant, Clinical Research Coordinator, Hone – Mount Sinai Hospital, grant@mssm.edu
  4. Christina Boynes, Patient Navigator, Bronx Lebanon Hospital, Cboynes@bronxleb.org
  5. Daouda Ndiaye, Patient navigator, ASC, daoudan@africanservices.org
  6. Esther Blondeau-Lecomte, Clinical Research Coordinator, Hone – Mount Sinai Hospital, blondeau-lecomte@mssm.edu
  7. Farma Pene, Health Care Access Specialist, Meeting organizer, DOHMH, fpene@health.nyc.gov
  8. Halimatou Konte, Testing Center Coordinator ASC, halimatouk@africanservices.org
  9. Jerry Loschiavo, Specialty Pharmacy Account Executive, CVS Specialty Pharmacy, loschiavo@cvshealth.com
  10. Kim Nichols, Co-Executive Director, African Services Committee, kimn@africanservices.org
  11. Liz Tang, Health Care Access Specialist, DOHMH, ltang@health.nyc.gov
  12. Nirah Johnson, Director of Capacity Building, DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  13. Phillip White, Intern, Manhattan Borough President Office, whitebx718@gmail.com
  14. Rahel Yosief, Patient Navigator, Check Hep C, Boom!Health, ryosief@boomhealth.org
  15. Sarah Ahmed, Community Organizing & Training Coordinator, DOHMH, sahmed10@health.nyc.gov

©2019 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit Design QuikSite®

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending
or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?