CHIPO Meeting Highlights | 9-22-2017

African Services Committee

September 22, 2017

CHIPO NYC 2017 Goal

To reinvigorate the Coalition against Hepatitis in People of African Origin work in NYC

 

Initiatives

  • Expansion of the Check Hep B Patient Navigation Program in organizations serving the African community, including in Staten Island
  • Seeking funding for Hep B Community Screening and care for the uninsured
  • Collaborating to raise awareness about Hepatitis in the African community to promote increased vaccination and linkage to care.

 

Suggestions from participants

  • Raising awareness could happen with outreach in the communities such as hair salons and mosques.
  • Building a coalition for the Africans in the community as well as having hep B rapid testing (not yet approved by FDA) is a future goal.
  • More finding for African services committee to do work and outreach in Staten Island as Staten Island lacks H+H hospitals for low cost of those that are uninsured.
  • Strengthen organization that are serving the African communities.

 

Upcoming Events

Queens Liver Health Lecture – Coming up soon, for more information, email Farma at fpene@health.nyc.gov

Hep B Coalition Meeting – December 13th (3 -5pm) at American Cancer Society – 132 W 32nd St, New York, NY 10001

Breakfast Briefing To Obtain Funding – organized by Henry Chang, Chair for Hep B Patients For A Cure Committee – will be announced shortly

Next CHIPO NYC Bi-monthly Meeting – December 8th (3 – 5pm) at African Services Committee (429 W. 127th Street)

 

Announcement

Deutsche Bank Unity & Opportunity – are offering up to $50,000 in support of vulnerable, low-income immigrants for nonprofit organizations in the five boroughs of New York City, Westchester, Nassau, and Suffolk counties. Applications are due 3 pm E.T. on Friday, October 13. For more information please contact Kim Nichols at kimn@africanservices.org

In Attendance

  1. Abou Diakhate, Intern, DOHMH, Abou.diakhate@mail.yu.edu
  2. Amanda Lugg, Director of Advocacy, ASC, amandal@africanservices.org
  3. Christina Boynes, Patient Navigator, Bronx Lebanon Hospital, Cboynes@bronxleb.org
  4. Daniel Boneville, Representative, Cedra Specialty Pharmacy, Daniel.boneville@cedrapharmacy.com
  5. Daouda Ndiaye, Patient Navigator, ASC, daoudan@africanservices.org
  6. Diana Diaz Munoz, Program Implementation Coordinator, DOHMH, ddiazmunoz@health.nyc.gov
  7. Esther Nortey, NP, Health Education On Wheels, esther.nortey@nyumc.org
  8. Farma Pene, Health Care Access Specialist, DOHMH, fpene@health.nyc.gov
  9. Halimatou Konte, Testing Center Coordinator, ASC, halimatouk@africanservices.org
  10. Henry E. Chang, Chair, Hep B Patients For A Cure Committee; Liver Foundation, henry.amsterdam@gmail.com
  11. Jessie Schwartz, Clinical Coordinator, DOHMH, jschwartz2@health.nyc.gov
  12. Kim Nichols, Co-Executive Director, ASC, kimn@africanservices.org
  13. Nadine Kela-Murphy, Practice Transformation Specialist, DOHMH, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
  14. Nirah Johnson, Director of Capacity Building, DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  15. Omolola Balogun, Project Associate, Montefiore Medical Center,  ombalogu@montefiore.org
  16. Priscilla Agyeman,  Hep C Program Intern, Harlem United, priscilla.agyeman@icahn.mssm.edu
  17. Stacy Irozuru, Patient Navigator, Harlem United, sirozuru@harlemunited.org
  18. Umaima Khatun, Program Coordinator, DOHMH, ukhatun@health.nyc.gov

Tags:

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending

©2019 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit Design QuikSite®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?