Last Updated on November 13, 2020 by wp-admin

CHIPO-NYC Meeting Highlights | 2-6-2019

African Services Committee

2018 Accomplishments

  • Increased Funding: Community Health Action of Staten Island (CHASI) was funded by the NYC Council Viral Hepatitis Initiative for Hep B outreach and navigation in the African Community in Staten Island, and Montefiore Einstein Liver Center and African Service Community funding increased.
  • Developed Education Material: Hep B Pocket card – email Farma at fpene@health.nyc.gov for copies (see attachment)
  • Increased Collaboration between CHIPO Partners: Collaborated to publicize and support community screening events to commemorate African Hepatitis Awareness Day

2019 Plan

  1. Seek funding for outreach, awareness, education and screening
  2. Develop Education Materials and Outreach Resources
    • Develop and share radio announcement in languages spoken by the targeted community
    • Develop and provide swag at outreach events.
      • Swag can be: items (small bags, lip balm, hand sanitizer, shiny things), educational materials, free services (vaccine, legal services, children’s services), and personal relationships (“I am the swag”)
  3. Increase participation in CHIPO by recruiting individuals and organizations with reach into the community at risk
    • CUNY Students, organizations serving communities at risk
      1. CUNY Students, organizations serving communities at risk
  4. Increase Collaboration between CHIPO Partners to conduct outreach, awareness and screening.
    • Develop and Maintain Target Organization with Event List: Develop an outreach list of organizations (Faith based organizations, Associations) that would benefit from awareness, education or screening, and events to coordinate CHIPO participation at these organizations.
    • Develop and Maintain Outreach Provider List: a list of CHIPO members with their organization, role, services provided, willingness to speak at events, language and special population reach

News

  • #JustB Campaign – Hepatitis B Foundation and AAPCHO are currently recruiting participants with Hep B to share their stories, please visit hepb.org/justb and submit an application no later than Feb 28, 2019.  Please contact Rhea rhea.racho@hepb.org.
  • Two new vaccination clinics for uninsured and low income patients will be opening soon.

 Upcoming Event Coordination Planning

  • African Festival in July at Harlem – participants are:
    1. Sauti Yetu – Consolatie Uwera, cuwera@sautiyetu.us
    2. Aids Health Center- Luis Perez, Perez@aidshealth.org
    3. Bronxcare – Christina Boynes, CBoynes@bronxleb.org
    4. African Services Committee- Halimatou konte, halimatouk@africanservices.org
    5. Hone- Montefiroe – Alex Ly Van manh, lyvanmanh@mssm.edu
    6. Manhattan Borough President Gale A. Brewer – Alassane Diop, adiop@manhattanbp.nyc.gov

Resources

Upcoming Events

  • Training | Hep C Patient Navigation @ NYC Health Dept – February 26 (9-1pm) to register, sign in here or create an account here.
  • Training | Hep C Point of Care Testing @ NYC Health Dept– March 12 (9-1pm). Sign in here or create an account here.
  • Training | Hep C Patient Navigation @ NYC Health Dept – March 27th (9-5pm) sign in here or create an account here.
  • Hepatitis awareness Month – May 2019
  • National CHIPO Call –  Email Chari Cohen at chari.cohen@hepb.org to Join

In Attendance

  1. Alassane Diop, Constituent Services & Immigrant Affairs Liaison, Office of Manhattan Borough President Gale A. Brewer, adiop@manhattanbp.nyc.gov
  2. Bernie Eyssalenne, Specialty Pharmacy Account Executive, CVS Specialty Pharmacy, Gerald.loschiavo@cvshealth.com
  3. Christina Boynes, Patient Navigator, Bronx Lebanon Hospital, Cboynes@bronxleb.org
  4. Christelle Onwu, African Communities Lead Advisor  NYC Commission on Human Rights, conwu@cchr.nyc.gov
  5. Consolatie Uawere, Outreach Coordinator, Sauti Yetu Center for African Women and Families, cuwera@sautiyetu.us
  6. Daouda Ndiaye, Hep B Navigator, ASC, daoudan@africanservices.org
  7. Farma Pene, HCAS, Meeting Organizer, DOHMH, fpene@health.nyc.gov
  8. Eirik Omile, Communications Director ASC, eiriko@africanservices.org
  9. Emmanuel Emeasoba , MD Montefiore hospital, emmanuelemeasoba@gmail.com
  10. Jailing Li, Patient Navigation Assistant, DOHMH, jli9@health.nyc.gov
  11. Kim Nichols, Co-Executive Director, ASC, kimn@africanservices.org
  12. Luis R. Perez, Pharmacy rep, AHF, lius.r.perez@aidshealth.org
  13. Liz Tang, Health Care Access Specialist, DOHMH, ltang@health.nyc.gov
  14. Lucy, Kingangi, Public Health Associate, DOHMH, lkingangi@health.nyc.gov
  15. Luis Perez, Pharmacy Specialist, AHF, luis.r.perez@aidshealth.org
  16. MaNtsetse Kgama, Project SUCCEED Manager, DOHMH, mkgama1@health.nyc.gov
  17. Milen Beyene, HIV Housing, DOHMH, mbeyene@health.nyc.gov
  18. Mulusew Bekele, Director of Program Operations, ASC, mulusewb@africanservices.org
  19. Nadine Kela-Murphy, Practice Transformation Specialist, DOHMH, nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
  20. Nirah Johnson, Director of Capacity Building, DOHMH, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  21. Sarah Ahmed, Community Organizing & Training Coordinator, DOHMH, sahmed10@health.nyc.gov
Tags:

©2020 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?