From Hawaii to the Midwest:Strategies for Effective Hep B & C Response
Event Highlights

October 3, 2016 (3 – 5 PM)
Mount Sinai – Beth Israel: 10 Union Square East
In attendance: See Below

Reaching Out, Lifting Up: Hepatitis in Hawaii

Thaddeus Pham, MPH, Viral Hepatitis Prevention Coordinator, Hawaii Department of Health (Thaddeus.Pham@doh.hawaii.gov) 

Thaddeus discussed the burden of hepatitis in Hawaii and local coalition efforts to increase awareness and access to hepatitis education, testing, immunizations, and treatment by leveraging partnerships and opportunities.

 

Responding to the Hep C Outbreak in the Midwest

Emma Roberts, Director of Capacity Building Services, Harm Reduction Coalition (roberts@harmreduction.org)

Emma discussed the recent increase in injection drug use and hepatitis C infection rates in the Midwest and South.  She presented on lessons learned and best practices in addressing this new wave of the hepatitis C epidemic.

 Emma shared a video on the public health response to an epidemic of heroin and opioid abuse in West Virginia. View the video.


In attendance

  1. Alan Timothy Lunceford Stevens Chief Executive Officer and Advocate End AIDS Now timothynyc4@gmail.com
  2. Andrea Perez Treatment Adherence Coordinator Amida Care  aperez@amidacareny.org
  3. Ann Winters Medical Epidemiologist DOHMH awinters@health.nyc.gov
  4. Anne Brenner Health System Executive AbbVie brenner@abbvie.com
  5. Cinthia Castro Patient Navigator Harlem United Ccastro@harlemunited.org
  6. Clifton Garmon Policy Analyst VOCAL-NY clifton@vocal-ny.org
  7. Courtney McKnight Assistant Director of Research Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai cmcknigh@chpnet.org
  8. Daniel Calder Outreach Coordinator DOHMH dcalder@health.nyc.gov
  9. Emma Roberts Director of Capacity Building Harm Reduction Coalition roberts@harmreduction.org
  10. Frank Winter External Affairs Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services winter@cms.hhs.gov
  11. Henrich Boahene Program Specialist BronxWorks hboahene@bronxworks.org
  12. Julia Phillips Public Health Educator/CBO Liaison DOHMH STD Control jphillip@health.nyc.gov
  13. Leanne Demery Program Specialist BronxWorks ldemery@bronxworks.org
  14. Luis Perez Pharmacy Specialist/Advocate AIDS Healthcare Foundation r.perez@aidshealth.org
  15. Naili Kheladze Health Educator Services for the Underserved nkheladze@sus.org
  16. Nirah Johnson Director of Program Implementation & Capacity Building DOHMH njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  17. Patricia McDarby Nursing Director Center for Comprehensive Health Practice pmcdarby@cchphealthcare.org
  18. Paul Bolter Health Education American Liver Foundation pbolter@liverfoundation.org
  19. Perminder Khosa Epidemiologist DOHMH – Viral Hepatitis pkhosa@health.nyc.gov
  20. Rebecca Curtis Social Work Intern Harm Reduction Coalition rebecca@harmreduction.org
  21. Ronni Marks Founder/ED HCMSG-The Hepatitis C Mentor and Support Group, Inc. ronnimarks24@gmail.com
  22. Ryan Duerme Program Planner DOHMH-Viral Hep rduerme@health.nyc.gov
  23. Shale Maulana Evaluation Coordinator DOHMH-Viral Hep smaulana@health.nyc.gov
  24. Stacy Irozuru Patient Navigator Harlem United sirozuru@harlemunited.org
  25. Stephanie Weiner NYC Health Department Intern DOHMH – Viral Hepatitis sweiner3@health.nyc.gov
  26. Thaddeus Pham, Viral Hepatitis Prevention Coordinator, Hawaii Department of Health, Thaddeus.Pham@doh.hawaii.gov

 

 

©2020 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?