Hep C Prevention in Youth Initiative

Overview

Hep C Prevention in Youth InitiativeThe mission of Hep C Prevention in Youth is to assist and empower youth and community organizations to prevent Hepatitis C infection among young people.

The initiative is composed of two working groups: 1) a network of community partners from harm reduction and youth organizations 2) an internship program with ten interns from NYC colleges.

PSA | I Am the Face of Addiction

A powerful student PSA about the prescription drug and heroin epidemic. The face of today’s heroin addict is quite different from years ago. The national age of overdosing is between 18-25. The impact of Hep C is emerging.

Get Involved!

To take part in this initiative, please fill out this form.

Join Committee
Meeting Notes and Highlights

Resources

Tools & Interventions

Site Locators

Programs & Coalitions

Research & Presentations

Reports & Fact Sheets

Select Publications

Technical Consultation Report

Hepatitis C Virus Infection in Young Persons Who Inject Drugs

February 26-27, 2013

CVAR YPWID Fact Sheet

CDUHR Fact Sheet – National Institute on Drug Abuse

August 1, 2013

Reduce Your Risk of Overdose Hep C & HIV

Advocacy & Outreach Projects

Blood to Blood PSA: NYS DOH Campaign Targeting Youth. Video PSA & printed material available to order for free.

PSA | Hep C Prevention for Young People Who Inject. Harm Reduction Coalition. (Watch more videos on user health here).

PSA | “Didn’t Think It Could Happen To You.” NY State Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services.

Social Media Postings

If you snort or inject drugs, you can get Hep C. Learn how to protect yourself.

Inject or Snort Drugs?

Get tested for Hep C before it destroys your liver.

Get High Off Pills?

Protect yourself from Hep C

Poster

New Works Are Free of Hepatitis C (PDF)

New Works are Free of Hepatitis C Poster

Participants

Community Partners

Betty Kolod, SUNY Downstate, Medical Student Leader, bettykolod@gmail.com
Brian Crozier,  Safe Horizon – Streetwork Project  Brian.Crozier@safehorizon.org
Brian Tang, Charles B. Wang Teen Resource Center,  Program Coordinator btang@cbwchc.org
Henrich Boahene, Bronxworks , Program Coordinator,  hboahene@bronxworks.org
Leanne Demery, BronxworksProgram Specialist, Targeted Prevention and Supportive Services, ldemery@bronxworks.org
Melissa Osborne, Center for Community Alternatives,  Project Coordinator, New Roads To Health, mosborne@communityalternatives.org
Mike Selick, Harm Reduction Coalition,  Hepatitis C Coordinator,  selick@harmreduction.org
Jazmin Rivera, Tackling Youth Substance Abuse – CHASIProgram Manager, natalie@sipcw.org
Paula Wong, Project H+AL, Program Coordinator, paula.w.wong@gmail.com
Vivienne Felix,  Health Education & Research Occupations High School (H.E.R.O.),  Employer Partnerships Developer, Vivienne.Felix@cuny.edu
Wendy Ledesma,BOOM Health,  Prevention Program Coordinator,  wledesma@boomhealth.org

Interns

Angela Dellarocca, CUNY Brooklyn College, angeladellarocca@gmail.com
Elyas Amin, CUNY Hunter College Macaulay Honors College, elyas.amin@macaulay.cuny.edu
John Wetmore, CUNY Hunter College Macaulay Honors College, johnwetmore826@gmail.com
Mariam Steinblatt, CUNY Hunter College Macaulay Honors College, mjsteinblatt@gmail.com
Markella Tranquillus, CUNY Brooklyn College, mtranquillus@yahoo.com
Mitsuka Attys, CUNY Brooklyn College, mitsuka.attys@gmail.com
Mora Rizk, CUNY Hunter College Macaulay Honors College, rizk.mora@gmail.com
Prima Manandhar, CUNY Hunter College Macaulay Honors College, prima.manandhar@gmail.com
Saumik Islam, CUNY Brooklyn College Macaulay Honors College, saumikislam4@gmail.com
Shanaz Hosein, CUNY Brooklyn College, hoseinshanaz@gmail.com

Tags:

©2019 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit Design QuikSite®

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending
or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?