Hep B Coalition Meeting Highlights | 09-18-19

September 18 (3 PM – 5 PM) American Cancer Society, Manhattan
In Attendance: See Below

Presentations

Korean Community Services (KCS) Hep B Toolkit: Targeted Outreach for Faith Leaders in the Korean Community and Beyond
Paul Lee, Project Coordinator/Grant Specialist, KCS – plee@kcsny.org

  • View presentation here.
  • View the toolkit here in English and Korean.

Hep B Moms Project Outcomes
Liz Tang, LMSW, and Farma Pene, Healthcare Access Specialists, NYC Health Department – ltang@health.nyc.gov and fpene@health.nyc.gov

  • View presentation here.

New NYC Hep B Prevalence Estimate
Ann Winters, MD, Viral Hepatitis Program Medical Director, NYC Health Department – awinters@health.nyc.gov 

  • The NYC Health Department estimates that 230,000 people are living with hepatitis B in NYC. View presentation here.
  • Surveillance data on HBV in people born in the Caribbean can be found here (Annual Report page 41 and 42).

Policy and Advocacy

Annette Gaudino, State & Local Policy Director, Treatment Action Group –  annette.gaudino@treatmentactiongroup.org
  • View presentation here.
  • Policy Update:
    • NYC Council has introduced a new bill: Eliminating Viral Hepatitis in NYC (Int 1703-2019). The proposed legislation would require that the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene develop a plan to eliminate viral hepatitis in New York City by the year 2030.
  • Viral Hepatitis Initiative Update, the advocacy leads for each program for FY 21 will be: 
    • Overall Lead: Reed Vreeland, Director of NYC Community Mobilization, Housing Works – r.vreeland@housingworks.org.
    • Check Hep B: Paul Lee, Project Coordinator/Grant Specialist, Korean Community Services – plee@kcsny.org
    • Empire Liver Foundation (ELF): Joy Cambe, Program Coordinator, ELF – joycambe@empireliverfoundation.org
Committee Updates

Coalition Against Hepatitis in People of African Origin (CHIPO – NYC Chapter): Farma Pene, NYC Health Department –  fpene@health.nyc.gov

  • Contact us if you know of any events or organizations where we can hold a Hep B or C screening or education event that would target the African Community

Communications: Shanaz Hosein, American Liver Foundation – shosein@liverfoundation.org

In Attendance:
  1. Adeeba Khan Intern DOHMH Viral Hepatitis Program AKhan8@health.nyc.gov
  2. Ala Roh Project Coordinator KCS aroh@kcsny.org
  3. Angie Milan-Cruz HCV Navigator/Coordinator St Anns Corner of Harm Reduction amilan-cruz@sachr.org
  4. Ann Winters Medical Director, Viral Hepatitis DOHMH awinters@health.nyc.gov
  5. Annette Gaudino HCV Project Co-Director Treatment Action Group annette.gaudino@treatmentactiongroup.org
  6. Christina Boynes Community Health Worker Bronx Lebanon cboynes@bronxleb.org
  7. Christina Hwang Surveillance Analyst NYC DOHMH (VHP) chwang@health.nyc.gov
  8. Daniela Sanclemente Patient Navigator Elmhurst Hospital sanclemd@nychhc.org
  9. Dennis Robinson Specialty Pharmacy Account Executuve Acaria health William.robinson@acariahealth.com
  10. Farma Pene Health Care Access Specialist DOHMH fpene@health.nyc.gov
    Fatima Omarufilo Navigator Montifiore omarufilofatima@gmail.com
  11. Halimatou Konte Hepatitis Coordinator African Services Committee halimatouk@africanservices.org
  12. James Park MD, Transplant Hepatology NYU Asian Liver Health Program James.Park@nyumc.org
  13. Janice Lyu Hep B Program Associate Charles B Wang Community Health Center jlyu@cbwchc.org
  14. Jiehui (Joy) Zhu Flushing Hep B Care Manager CBW jizhu@cbwchc.org
  15. Jielei Li Viral Hepatitis Program Intern DOHMH jli10@health.nyc.gov
  16. Joy Cambe Program Coordinator Empire Liver Foundation joycambe@empireliverfoundation.org
  17. Joyce Gino Journalist Columbia Journalism School jg4194@columbia.edu
  18. Justin Chan Infectious Disease physician, Clinician Educator Correctional Health Services, NYC Health + Hospitals chanj15@nychhc.org
  19. Kathy (Xiaofang) Zhou center for Asian health xzhou@templm.edu
  20. Liz Tang Health Care Access Specialist DOHMH ltang@health.nyc.gov
  21. Lucy Kingangi CDC PHAP Intern DOHMH lkingangi@health.nyc.gov
  22. Mary Chiang Hep B Patient Navigator Charles B Wang Community Health Center mchiang@cbwchc.org
  23. Nadine Kela-Murphy Practice Transformation Specialist DOHMH nkelamurphy@health.nyc.gov
  24. Nirah Johnson Director of Program Implementation & Capacity Building DOHMH njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  25. Nyasha Makoni Clinical Research Coordinator HONE/Mount Sinai Nyashadzashe.makoni@mountsinai.org
  26. Okhyun Ko Project Coordinator Korean Community Service oko@kcsny.org
  27. Paul Lee project coordinator kcs plee@kcsny.org
  28. Rod Rollock Pharmacy Representative Jewel Pharmacy rod@jewelpharmacy.com
  29. Sarah Ahmed Communications and Community Engagement Coordinator DOHMH sahmed10@health.nyc.gov
  30. Shanaz Hosein Hep C Prevention in Youth Intern American Liver Foundation shosein@liverfoundation.org
  31. Shifra Baum Physician Assistant Elmhurst Hospital shifrabaum@gmail.com
  32. Soonsik “Sara” Kim Hep B Patient Navigator Coordinator Korean Community Service Skim@kcsny.org
  33. Stephanie Michel Health Educator DOHMH BTBC smichel2@health.nyc.gov
  34. Teresa Mark, MPH Health Educator DOHMH BTBC tmark@health.nyc.gov
  35. Umaima Khatun Program Coordinator DOHMH ukhatun@health.nyc.gov
  36. Victoria Foster Program Manager NYU Center for Study Asian American Health Victoria.Foster@nyulangone.org
  37. Y-Uyen Nguyen Acting Hepatitis B Program Director Charles B Wang Community Health Center ynguyen@cbwchc.org

©2019 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you. Thank you.

Sending
or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?