Strategies to Enhance the Hep C Care Cascade Among People Who Inject Drugs

February 24, 2016,  Mount Sinai – Beth Israel: 10 Union Square East

Strategies to Enhance the Hepatitis C Care Cascade Among People Who Inject Drugs

Jason Grebely, BSc, PhD, Kirby Institute, UNSW AustraliaJgrebely@kirby.unsw.edu.au

  1. Hep C Among People Who Inject Drugs
    • Burden of Hep C infection among people who inject drugs
    • Strategies to enhance Hep C testing, assessment, treatment uptake and treatment outcomes
    • Hep C reinfection post-treatment
  2. Project Overview
    • ETHOS (Enhancing Treatment of Hep C in the Opioid Substitution setting): Hep C assessment and treatment in the drug and alcohol setting (in partnership with New South Wales Health)
    • LiveRLife: A healthy liver intervention based on social marketing promotion to enhance liver disease assessment in the drug and alcohol setting
    • SToP-C: Hep C treatment as prevention project in prisons

 

NYC Best Practices in Hep C Care and Treatment for People Who Use Drugs 

Alain Litwin, MD, Professor of Medicine and Psychiatry at Albert Einstein College of Medicine and Montefiore Medical Center – ALITWIN@montefiore.org

Sheila Reynoso, Project Coordinator Montefiore Medical Center sreynoso@montefiore.org 

NYS Medicaid and Managed Care Plans

Current Hep C medication coverage criteria for people with current or past drug use.

  • Hepatitis C clinical criteria for Fee For Service Medicaid were posted in the Oct 2014 Medicaid update.  There was an update including the availability of Viekira Pak without restriction in the April 2015 Medicaid Update.
  • NYS Medicaid Managed Care plans each have their own list of covered drugs (called a formulary).
  • See HepCure Webinar Archives: www.hepcure.org > webinars
    NYS DOH Presentation “Prior Authorization of Hepatitis C Medications in Medicaid Fee for Service (FFS) and Medicaid Managed Care” given by Monica Toohey M (HEALTH) monica.toohey@health.ny.gov

In Attendance:

  1. Alain Litwin Professor of Medicine Montefiore Medical Center alitwin@montefiore.org
  2. Amber Casey Deputy Director DOHMH acasey@health.nyc.gov
  3. Angel Hernandez Peer Navigator Montefiore Medical Center
  4. Ariel Caba Intake Specialist Harlem United acaba@harlemunited.org
  5. Asmara Tesfaye Rogoza Viral Hepatitis Coordinator DOHMH – Viral Hepatitis atesfayerogoza@health.nyc.gov
  6. Benjamin Eckhardt Infectious Diseases Fellow Weill Cornell Medical Center bje8@cornell.edu
  7. Bobby Kim Senior Therapeutic Specialist Gilead kim@gilead.com
  8. Bridget Hardy Account Manager Quality Specialty Pharmacy, bridget@qsprx.com
  9. Brigitte Buquez​ Program Development Hudson Pride Connections Center​ buquez@gmail.com​
  10. Charles Lott Hepatitis C Peer Worker   Housing Works nj5@gmail.com
  11. Cinthia Castro Patient Navigator Harlem United Ccastro@harlemunited.org
  12. Curtis Melton Virology Specialist Bristol Myers Squibb melton@bms.com
  13. Daniel Calder Outreach Coordinator DOHMH dcalder@health.nyc.gov
  14. Debra Farrun Pharmaceutical Rep Gilead farrun@gilead.com
  15. Diana Diaz-Munoz Program Intern DOHMH ddiazmunoz@health.nyc.gov
  16. Ella Culler Hep C Harm Reduction Trainer Housing Works culler@housingworks.org
  17. Elly Fatehi Director of Pharmacy Amida Care efatehi@amidacareny.org
  18. Evelyn Parrinello Info & Referral Specialist Community Health Action of Staten Island PARRINELLO@CHASINY.ORG
  19. Farah Riazi Patient Navigator Mount Sinai riazi@mountsinai.org
  20. Farmin Khiabani Virology Representative Merck khiabani@merck.com
  21. Frank Winter External Affairs Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services winter@cms.hhs.gov
  22. Genesis Ciprian Patient Navigator Mount Sinai Hospital ciprian@mountsinai.org
  23. Gretchen George Ty Harm Reduction Coordinator Housing Works Ty@housingowrks.org
  24. Iraida Ramos Peer Navigator BOOM!Health iris1498@yahoo.com
  25. Ivana Portes Co-Directors Ann’s Corner of Harm Reduction iportes@sachr.org
  26. Jamin Aliseo Hepatitis C Peer Worker   Housing Works jaliseo5170@gmail.com
  27. Jason Grebeley Researcher Kirby Institute jgrebely@kirby.unsw.edu.au
  28. Jennifer Grimsich   Merck grimsich@merck.com
  29. Kathryn Villaverde Harm Reduction Counselor          Housing Works  villaverde@housingworks.org
  30. Kendra Pemberton Regional Director HCV Gilead pemberton@gilead.com
  31. Kenny Ng Pharmacy Intern Amida Care kng@amidacareny.org
  32. Korin Parrella Program Manager Mount Sinai Hep C Primary Care Program parrella@mountsinai.org
  33. Kyle Wanger Hep C Clinical educator Gilead wanger@gilead.com
  34. Leo Yanacio Acct Manager Quality Specialty Pharmacy leo@asprx.com
  35. Matt Scherer MD Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center mls2002@nyp.org
  36. Michael Brown Peer Navigator BOOM!Health haneef2676@gmail.com
  37. Miguel Calderon Harm Reduction Supervisor BOOM!Health mcalderon@boomhealth.org
  38. Miranda Moore MPH DOHMH – Viral Hepatitis mmoore3@health.nyc.gov
  39. Nasra Aidarus Program Planner DOHMH naidarus@health.nyc.gov
  40. Nathalia Gibbs Hep C patient Navigator Mount Sinai           gibbs@mountsinai.org
  41. Nirah Johnson Director of Program Implementation & Capacity Building DOHMH – Viral Hepatitis njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  42. Paul Bolter Health Education American Liver Foundation pbolter@liverfoundation.org
  43. Perminder Khosa Epidemiologist DOHMH – Viral Hepatitis pkhosa@health.nyc.gov
  44. Sheila Reynoso Project Coordinator, HIV/Hepatitis C Montefiore Medical Center  sreynoso@montefiore.org
  45. Shellyann Vassell Nurse North Shore University Hosptial svassell@nshs.edu
  46. Shumenghui Zhai Research Associate III Temple University tue85115@temple.edu
  47. Steven Linick Pharmacy Rep Echo Pharmacy slinick@echospecialty.com
  48. Tatiana Vera Program Supervisor Montefiore Medical Center tvera@montefiore.org
  49. Tiara Martin Peer Navigator Family Services Network of NY TIARAMARTIN9177@GMAIL.COM
  50. Tino Fuentes Co-Director of SEP Programs Ann’s Corner of Harm Reduction ffuentes@sachr.org
  51. Umaima Khatun MPH Intern DOHMH – Viral Hepatitis ukhatun@health.nyc.gov
  52. Yin Tan Associate Director, Community Programs Temple University – Center for Asian Health ytan@temple.edu

 

Last Updated on November 10, 2020 by HepFree NYC

Tags:

©2021 HepFree.NYC. All rights reserved. Site by Lookit®

or

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?